We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AWA Chamonix Chalet Whymper

2 star Hotel | Impasse de l’Androsace, Mont-Blanc, Chamonix, France 74400

86.9% Overall Rating

67 out of 70 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/06/2015)

Stephen Matthew thinks…

"The very helpful owner changed a night stay for us no problem after our guide had changed the plans to stay in the mountain hut."

Read all AWA Chamonix Chalet Whymper reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room
  • Cot / crib
  • Infant bed
  • High chair
  • Sofa

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

If arriving before 5pm please go strait to the check in of at 5B Résidence Le Mummery, 27 Avenue du Savoy, 74400 Chamonix Mont Blanc, FRANCE (about 1 minute walk from the Chalet). If arriving later then you can go to the chalet first and arrange payment - AAE CHAMONIX CHALET WHYMPER, Impasse de l’Androsace, 74400, Chamonix Mont Blanc.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chamonix?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chamonix

AWA Hotel Louvre
99.57 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
AWA Chamonix Chalet Hideaway
43.38 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
AWA Chamonix Chalet Pele
58.58 USD

Guesthouse 88.3% 11 reviews
Le Vagabond
31.18 USD

Hostel 73.4% 79 reviews
Hostel-Chalet-Gite The Chamoniard Volant
18.64 USD

Hostel 77.4% 391 reviews
Chamonix Lodge
27.66 USD

Hostel 92.0% 27 reviews
Chalet Tissieres
27.66 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Chalet les Frenes
32.82 USD

Guesthouse 85.5% 105 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.9%

Overall Rating

67 out of 70 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AWA Chamonix Chalet Whymper'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
93.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 58 of 67 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bradley Nicholson

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 August 2011 Bradley would recommend this property

Liked: I cannot say enough about this place. Fantastic location - walking distance from all the trams, and you're right in the middle of the shopping center. Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. They were fun to talk with and went out of their way to make my stay more enjoyable. Free breakfast in the morning, free wifi, comfy common area. Next time I'm in Chamonix, I know exactly where I'm staying!

Disliked: Nothing. Loved it all.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mathilda Egerszegi Stenman

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 July 2011 Mathilda would recommend this property

Liked: Really comfortable beds, staff was very friendly and helpful in all thinkable ways.

Disliked: You can't pay your room with credit card.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

yue zhang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2011 yue would recommend this property

Liked: verygood

Disliked: a little hard to find

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price

Disliked: Room was a bit small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place with super views of the mountains. Near the train station and main street. Surprised that the place was this good :)

Disliked: Flushes in the toilets were not working properly

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2010

Liked: It was close to services and facilities

Disliked: A toilet that did not flush despite our reporting on the first morning. We stayed for 4 nights! We were told that someone had LOOKED at it. It needed a plumber to come & fix! Vaccuming had not been done in our room prior to arrival. One staff member very anti-social. Staff did not seem to care. Very slack attitude. On arrival to the business address, we could not get any reponse in the office. Locked outside! On arrival at the property a note was found for us with door code, however, the door code was incorrect

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Darvel Lloyd

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 October 2010 Darvel would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent base for my brother and me for explorations in the spectuacular valley and surrounding trails!

Disliked: Darvel left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juliette Hanson

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

28 September 2010 Juliette would recommend this property

Liked: The couple who ran the place were very friendly and helpful. It was very cozy in our room, the bathroom was clean with a really good shower. It is right in the middle of the town, very convenient for shopping/ restaurants.

Disliked: Only minor thing was that we got 2 single beds instead of a double.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anthony McCoy

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

27 September 2010 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms and large common area

Disliked: Anthony left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Luc Gagnon

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 September 2010 Luc would recommend this property

Liked: In the heart of Chamonix, no need for your car. Everything accessible from walking distance. Excellent for backpakers.

Disliked: The outside appearence of the chalet is somewhat neglected and it is not as advertised like on the "hostelbookers" website. (Not in the countryside at all).

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2010

Liked: the breakfast was very generous and included in the price. the location is central though a little hard to find.

Disliked: when arriving after 5 pm it's hard to contact the staff and getting practical information. we needed to leave early in the morning and needed an early breakfast, and there was no one at the chalet to talk to. dispite the great location the view from the chalet rooms is mainly that of a side road and the back parking of a supermarket, which was dissapointing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeri Metzger

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 September 2010 Jeri would recommend this property

Liked: Included a lot for the price! Clean private rooms, including linens and towels. Comfortable couches in the common area, good for getting online.

Disliked: The kitchen wasn't actually open, but there were kettles and cups available for hot cocoa at least. Wi-fi was available, but you generally had to be right next to the router.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, unpretentious, good breakfast, cosy friendly lounge.

Disliked: Could hear noise from other rooms quite easily.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Robert Westaway

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 August 2010 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, right in the centre of Chamonix

Disliked: Nothing negative springs to mind

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, clean romm

Disliked: We had noisy neigbours

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's warm and the people are nice

Disliked: it has only one key for every room

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Mark Anderson

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 August 2010 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: No problem with us arriving very late on first night.

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday
Shopping

06 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location - 5 mins walk from train station, gare de montenvers, and cable car station for aiguille du midi !!!

Disliked: No cooking facilities.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

31 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good buffet breakfast, great location, comfortable room with ensuite and balcony, guest parking, nice communal lounge.

Disliked: No reception made our late check-in difficult, but staff were reachable by phone. Guest kitchen no longer available for guest use due to insurance purposes......a bit disappointing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

teresa starkey

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 July 2010 teresa would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely hosts who made us welcome. Friendly atmosphere. Location could not be better.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bigfoot Chalet Whymper is absolutely worth its price and it was much better than what we had expected. Nice staff, breakfast included, rooms cleaned each day and good location - if you go to Chamonix I would recommend you to stay there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

18 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big~ room! Quiet place! Nice balcony! Friendly staffs

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, speak english, nice folks all around.

Disliked: The shower wasn't working too great, but it is a hostel and you learn to expect a reduction in luxuries.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Robert Westaway

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 June 2010 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Location, general atmosphere

Disliked: Room looking a bit tired; cupboard door missing in the bathroom, curtains didn't cover the window...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christoffer Dalum

25 June 2010 Christoffer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location!

Disliked: Christoffer left no negative feedback.