HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Stars Bordeaux Gare

2 star Hotel | 34 Rue de Tauzia, Bordeaux, France 33800

83.7% Overall Rating

111 out of 144 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/10/2013)

Elise Bowen thinks…

"The hotel was very close to the main train station, and a short walk to the city centre. My cousin and I ended up with a room to ourselves, which was great."

Read all Hotel Stars Bordeaux Gare reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Newspapers
  • High chair

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

The remaining balance (90%) is due on arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bordeaux?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bordeaux

IBIS STYLES BORDEAUX GARE SAINT JEAN.
62.12 USD

Hotel 3 star 95.4% 5 reviews
Teneo Suites Bordeaux
44.17 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.3% 63 reviews
Hotel Continental
55.22 USD

Hotel 3 star 98.6% 4 reviews
Cœur de City Hôtel Bordeaux clemenceau
48.32 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.1% 14 reviews
Hotel Stars Bordeaux Sud
24.16 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.5% 38 reviews
Citotel Les Alizes Hotel
46.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.4% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.7%

Overall Rating

111 out of 144 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Stars Bordeaux Gare'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
86.4%
Value
84.8%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 99 of 139 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Basic accommodation but clean and has everything you need. Staff were friendly and extremely helpful regarding all issues. Location not exactly central but not far to walk and a really quick tram ride to city centre, with tram stop right outside hotel. Wifi reliable and free but only available in lobby. Would definately stay again!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was actually a hotel, not a hostel.

Disliked: The breakfast was too expensive.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jing ZOU

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2012 Jing would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the train station and just out of the hostel there is a tram stop, very convenient. Large window and well decorated room.

Disliked: Internet only accessible in the lobby.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near the train station

Disliked: One of the female counter staffs not very helpful.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

30 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the main Train Station

Disliked: Rooms too small

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Brianna Marshall

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2012

Liked: The location was very convenient. It is close to the train station and the tram stop is just outside the front door which makes it easy to get anywhere around town

Disliked: I disliked so many things about this hotel. First of all, the internet was only available in the lobby, not in the rooms. Next, we had to turn in the key to the front desk person every time we left the hotel and retrieve it every time we returned. Next, our room REEKED of cigarettes. And finally, there was no hot water in our room, so we were given keys to another (nicer) room to take a shower

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2012

Liked: Nil

Disliked: Smelt bad. small rooms. overpriced

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Cheryl Kong

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2011 Cheryl would recommend this property

Liked: Room was cleaned daily, with fresh towels given. Tram stop was just outside the hotel. Within walking distance to Gare St Jean, about 4-5 tram stops to downtown so it was still pretty convenient getting around.

Disliked: Bathroom was a little small. Shower pressure wasn't that pleasant but water was warm enough. It would have been better if WIFI signal was strong enough to be accessible from our room.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the train station

Disliked: not as close to other attractions

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean.

Disliked: the bathroom was quitte small like the room.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2011

Liked: I liked the proximity to the train station and to the trams.

Disliked: When I arrived the staff were rude which I found surprising given that the hotel is only 2 stars. I expected in this instance for them to have at least try to be friendlier. I was given the key to a room which was already occupied. The room itself is claustrophobic and reminiscent of a cabin in a ship. The hallway leading to the rooms was dirty (the carpet) and dark. The shower room was more like a portacabin and when I entered it there were one or two small cockroaches actually in the shower which I decided not to use. I left them where they were.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: More of a budget hotel that a hostel. Clean. Reasonable size of the room. Not much attention from the stuff. Very close to the railway station.

Disliked: Bathroom is a tiny unpleasant plastic cubicle, a bit smelly room.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2011

Liked: Location and one member of staff was particularly helpful - the rest were not.

Disliked: Rooms were not clean - smelly and old bathroom facilities with poor ventilation. Also, the room was very hot (unbearably so) and no AC or fan provided.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011

Liked: It was close to train station and the Tram stopped right in front of building to that drops one off in the town center. Staff were very helpful.

Disliked: Shower curtain didn't stop the water from wetting the entire bathroom. Located in a seedy part of town with porn and peep show stores all over. Had to come down to lounge area to get Wi-Fi. Mosquitoes. Had to keep windows opened but were exposed to mosquitoes.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2011

Liked: Close to train station

Disliked: Shady. Unhelpful staff. Small bathroom/shower. But for one night -- it suffices.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

grant morton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2011 grant would recommend this property

Liked: close to rail and tram

Disliked: bathroom was made for a boat, all enclosed plastic and stunk as no ventilation, tiny and totally stupid for a hotel , those silly french !!!! Rooms tiny but ok for what we needed

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Good Value.

Disliked: --

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good price for it's location and great in general

Disliked: The shower was a bit crappy, anyway, not a real issue.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Adam Ryan McGean

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2011 Adam Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Locaion to the train tation and tram stop

Disliked: My girlfriend and I both had bites on our faces after three nights here. Think it was from the pillows.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was all ok, close to train and tram line for city (or could just walk)

Disliked: No air con a problem if its hot

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Britney Tan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2011 Britney would recommend this property

Liked: It was located near the train station and round the corner was a huge Carrefour. It's also walking distance to the river and the tram stops just outside the hotel.

Disliked: The room was very small, made us feel as if we were in a ship cabin. The toilet was even smaller. Basically, it didn't make us feel like we were in a hotel at all. 2 of us paid for the room but we were only given one set of towels. The room was not made daily. Wifi was only located at the lobby and sometimes it would be down. Breakfast was 8 euros, exorbitant imho.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, very helpful indeed. Quiet location.

Disliked: It's not anywhere near la rochelle, it is about 8km away on an industrial site next to builders merchants and other such premises. You either have to catch a bus to la rochelle (infrequently) or get a taxi (30 euros) so you might as well just pay an extra 50 euros to stay in a hotel in the centre of la rochelle.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very very helpful. It's near the train station. A tram station is just around the corner so we can go to the city center easily and quickly.

Disliked: No wifi in the room but there is Wifi in the lobby.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Theresa Standfast

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2011

Liked: Nothing outsanding to like except that it seemed clean.

Disliked: The single beds were pushed up right next to each other, so they were practically a double bed. The shower was way to small and the showerhead wouldn't stay in one place, so water sprayed all over the bathroom.