HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Stars Bordeaux Gare

2 star Hotel | 34 Rue de Tauzia, Bordeaux, France 33800

76.8% Overall Rating

119 out of 156 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/06/2014)

"Close to train station! Staff was nice and helpful, responded to email quickly. 24 hour desk was good."

Read all Hotel Stars Bordeaux Gare reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Newspapers
  • High chair

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

The remaining balance (90%) is due on arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bordeaux?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bordeaux

IBIS STYLES BORDEAUX GARE SAINT JEAN.
56.93 USD

Hotel 3 star 95.4% 5 reviews
Hotel Continental
60.72 USD

Hotel 3 star 98.9% 5 reviews
Cœur de City Hôtel Bordeaux clemenceau
49.34 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.7% 15 reviews
Hotel Stars Bordeaux Sud
22.14 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.4% 40 reviews
Citotel Les Alizes Hotel
42.38 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.4% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.8%

Overall Rating

119 out of 156 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Stars Bordeaux Gare'

Atmosphere
63.2%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
82.4%
Value
80.0%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 105 of 149 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: decent location and cheap

Disliked: wifi was poor room was very small and you had to hand in your keys every time you left the hotel

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Tessa P

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2012

Liked: It was close to the train station

Disliked: The rooms and bathrooms are tiny and the mattress was very thin and uncomfortable. It was very hot when I stayed there and there was no fan or airconditioning. Also, there is only wifi in the lobby which was very slow and not worth using. Not worth paying that much (had to pay for two people even though i was travelling alone) for the quality.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Caitlin McLeod

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 July 2012 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: That this was about the cheapest hotel to stay at in Bordeaux and the proximity to the train station, perfect if you have an early start. I did have an issue with the booking as I had cancelled one night and this was confirmed however it wasn't taken out of their computer system. It was resolved without hassle and quickly though.

Disliked: It is a very average hotel with no real features to write home about. If you are only sleeping there then this is adequate. It lacks any character and the internet is only available in the foyer but at least it is free. As a single traveler I had to pay for a 'double' room so it became more expensive.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean & modern, was comfy & good bed - tram outside on the street - at st Jean train station if you want to be.

Disliked: had a problem at check-in with receptionist collecting the wrong amount of payment due; but got it corrected after an argument and an ear full in french. Watch your figures there. No kitchen - several friends stayed at Adagio access [radesse] had apartments with kitchens and local swimming pool for same money & a shorter walk to the centre. good if you want to be at the train station, or next to a tram [or jetbus], but a longish walk from the centre. don't like having to pay twice for a room as a single person, a little more would be ok, but not double - makes it expensive for the lone traveller. And the shower head is a bit tempermental - it is a poor design - but nice clean ensuite.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yudum Isbecer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2012 Yudum would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: Yudum left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Oscar Zarate

Alone

City break

14 July 2012

Liked: It was the cheapest I found but even though I had to pay for 2 (travelling solo). The good think about that is that I had a "big" bed

Disliked: I felt like living in a caravan park. The room and the bedroom were typical of a cabin.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Basic accommodation but clean and has everything you need. Staff were friendly and extremely helpful regarding all issues. Location not exactly central but not far to walk and a really quick tram ride to city centre, with tram stop right outside hotel. Wifi reliable and free but only available in lobby. Would definately stay again!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was actually a hotel, not a hostel.

Disliked: The breakfast was too expensive.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jing ZOU

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2012 Jing would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the train station and just out of the hostel there is a tram stop, very convenient. Large window and well decorated room.

Disliked: Internet only accessible in the lobby.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near the train station

Disliked: One of the female counter staffs not very helpful.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

30 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the main Train Station

Disliked: Rooms too small

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Brianna Marshall

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2012

Liked: The location was very convenient. It is close to the train station and the tram stop is just outside the front door which makes it easy to get anywhere around town

Disliked: I disliked so many things about this hotel. First of all, the internet was only available in the lobby, not in the rooms. Next, we had to turn in the key to the front desk person every time we left the hotel and retrieve it every time we returned. Next, our room REEKED of cigarettes. And finally, there was no hot water in our room, so we were given keys to another (nicer) room to take a shower

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2012

Liked: Nil

Disliked: Smelt bad. small rooms. overpriced

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Cheryl Kong

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2011 Cheryl would recommend this property

Liked: Room was cleaned daily, with fresh towels given. Tram stop was just outside the hotel. Within walking distance to Gare St Jean, about 4-5 tram stops to downtown so it was still pretty convenient getting around.

Disliked: Bathroom was a little small. Shower pressure wasn't that pleasant but water was warm enough. It would have been better if WIFI signal was strong enough to be accessible from our room.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the train station

Disliked: not as close to other attractions

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean.

Disliked: the bathroom was quitte small like the room.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2011

Liked: I liked the proximity to the train station and to the trams.

Disliked: When I arrived the staff were rude which I found surprising given that the hotel is only 2 stars. I expected in this instance for them to have at least try to be friendlier. I was given the key to a room which was already occupied. The room itself is claustrophobic and reminiscent of a cabin in a ship. The hallway leading to the rooms was dirty (the carpet) and dark. The shower room was more like a portacabin and when I entered it there were one or two small cockroaches actually in the shower which I decided not to use. I left them where they were.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: More of a budget hotel that a hostel. Clean. Reasonable size of the room. Not much attention from the stuff. Very close to the railway station.

Disliked: Bathroom is a tiny unpleasant plastic cubicle, a bit smelly room.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2011

Liked: Location and one member of staff was particularly helpful - the rest were not.

Disliked: Rooms were not clean - smelly and old bathroom facilities with poor ventilation. Also, the room was very hot (unbearably so) and no AC or fan provided.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011

Liked: It was close to train station and the Tram stopped right in front of building to that drops one off in the town center. Staff were very helpful.

Disliked: Shower curtain didn't stop the water from wetting the entire bathroom. Located in a seedy part of town with porn and peep show stores all over. Had to come down to lounge area to get Wi-Fi. Mosquitoes. Had to keep windows opened but were exposed to mosquitoes.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2011

Liked: Close to train station

Disliked: Shady. Unhelpful staff. Small bathroom/shower. But for one night -- it suffices.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

grant morton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2011 grant would recommend this property

Liked: close to rail and tram

Disliked: bathroom was made for a boat, all enclosed plastic and stunk as no ventilation, tiny and totally stupid for a hotel , those silly french !!!! Rooms tiny but ok for what we needed

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Good Value.

Disliked: --

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good price for it's location and great in general

Disliked: The shower was a bit crappy, anyway, not a real issue.