HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Grainger Hotel

2 star Hotel | 1-3 Graingerville North, Westgate Road, Newcastle Upon Tyne, England NE46UJ

76.3% Overall Rating

47 out of 61 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/12/2013)

Seema Haridas thinks…

"The property is v clean and can't complain. There is a lot of bad comments for this place but it is v clean and value for the price. Staff is also v friendly. I wd go again"

Read all Grainger Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Newcastle Upon Tyne?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Newcastle Upon Tyne

Bentleys
32.46 USD

Guesthouse 76.6% 44 reviews
The Brighton
32.46 USD

Hostel 77.8% 58 reviews
Newcastle Rooms
14.61 USD

Guesthouse 66.1% 69 reviews
Euro Hostel Newcastle
17.85 USD

Hostel 83.4% 157 reviews
Whites Hotel
39.76 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.6% 8 reviews
Metro Inn Newcastle
10.71 USD

Hotel 1 star 68.9% 9 reviews
Student Castle Newcastle
73.03 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Horton Grange
48.69 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.3%

Overall Rating

47 out of 61 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Grainger Hotel'

Atmosphere
63.2%
Location
63.2%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
80.8%
Value
84.8%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 54 of 57 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Simon Wood

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 June 2014

Liked: Comfy bed, but I had just run from Carlisle in a day!!!

Disliked: Staff insisting that I hadn't already paid a 10% deposit and making me pay it again despite me showing him the printed off booking confirmation from hostelbookers, as it was nearly 1am and I had just run from Carlise I paid it as I needed to rest! Broken shower door, broken shower bracket, paper thin walls and long life milk that was well passed its best in the morning.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

David Jones

With my spouse / partner

City break

22 June 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing to right about

Disliked: Shower head not clean we cleaned it ourselves it is a very long walk into town downhill so coming back with shopping is up hill and we need to buy a smaller cat for in the bathroom cos there not enough room to swing a full sized one

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

sean smyth

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

25 May 2014 sean would recommend this property

Liked: Cheep and convenient to our particular needs as we broke down.

Disliked: Level of cleanliness was poor, breakfast was terrible (milk container was just being topped up with fresh milk and not cleaned) very tardy hotel

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

02 March 2014

Liked: The shower was warm. The central heating worked and there was a lot programs.

Disliked: We paid more than our mates by 30£ and they got a bigger, more spacious room with a table and large bathroom. We definitely got ripped off. We had breakfast on the Saturday morning which we had to pay for and there wasn't much variety at all. Toast, cereals and some fruit which by the way was over ripened and one of my grapes was mouldy. The staff aren't very pleasant and are quite rude.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nicole Kidger

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

01 March 2014

Liked: Rooms are what you pay for, comfy beds friendly staff

Disliked: Not as close too city as described

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Seema Haridas

Alone

Partying / nightlife

13 December 2013 Seema would recommend this property

Liked: The property is v clean and can't complain. There is a lot of bad comments for this place but it is v clean and value for the price. Staff is also v friendly. I wd go again

Disliked: The roadside noise. The burglar alarm went off all through the night in one if the shops.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Events / festivals

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room were clean and warm. The property was in good condition and welcoming although the area was a little of putting.

Disliked: The location. Its was very noisy at night with young people returning from a Saturday night out. The doors were constantly being banged and you could hear everything other guests were saying.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jean-Marc Dunys

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 December 2012 Jean-Marc would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good, on a main road leading to city centre, with many buses available. The staff in reception is very helpful. The room was basic but ok. Breakfast was included in the price.

Disliked: Breakfast is copious, but it is not a b&b cooked breakfast. The bedroom was over the main road, so was fairly noisy early morning to me, but i am aware It depends on people's sensitivity to lose while they're asleep. The shower trickled more than drown you, but I acknowledge I am very picky about showers.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maciej Daszuta

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

09 December 2012 Maciej would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and nicely arranged rooms.

Disliked: Quite a long way to reach the city-centre. (subjective impression)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ann Miller

Alone

Business / conference

24 September 2012

Liked: Large clean room, hot shower with nice new and clean glass door, tea making facilities, quality tv, good breakfast, supermarket 2 mins away.

Disliked: My room was above the front door/porch it was SLAM, SLAM, SLAM almost continuously. Room doors slammed shut all over hotel. The people in the room above were like a herd of elephants - all evening, AND there was a constant humming, not sure what it was, even when I lay my head on pillow it went right through me. IT WAS SO IRRITATING! Toilet coming away from the floor, could tip over. Don't suppose owner aware as they never sit on it, ha ha!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast, clean, friendly staff

Disliked: It's a bit far off from the city center

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Paul Blair

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife

14 July 2012

Liked: Room was clean, no noise for drunken people coming in like other Newcastle hotels.

Disliked: When I arrived at the hotel, 12 people were waiting for reception. Had to wait over 30 minutes before the owner arrived. Checkout was advertised for 11am however at 10:45, the door is repeatedly violently banged by cleaner staff; open the door, they ask me am I checking out today. I said yes to which i am told "Well go away then, go away". Totally unacceptable. Front door was never locked. Was told by other residents front door was left unattended many a time. £2 payment for card was not advertised anywhere.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Haning

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: very cheap but nice hotel. Very clean, good cleaning service. nice bed and pillows.

Disliked: The computer in the common room wasnt working and they had no intentions to fix it, the pool table is out of order, one member of staff (the guy who does the night shift) is pretty rude and unhelpful.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emilie Marshall

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

25 April 2012 Emilie would recommend this property

Liked: Good clean room for a decent price! Not far from the centre of Newcastle so good to stay if you are going into Newcastle for a night out. Basic breakfast but is included in the price so can't complain! Helpful staff. All in all a good stay at a good price!

Disliked: Heating was on all night which got very hot so couldn't sleep much. Also as people stay here to go on a night out (like I did) the hallways do get quite noisey but this is only for a couple of minutes as the other residents are getting into their rooms so not too bad!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

18 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, lovely friendly staff, the kettle in the bedroom for tea and coffee!

Disliked: N/a

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

george thompson

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

08 August 2011 george would recommend this property

Liked: value for money

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and staff very nice and helpfull. We had problem with light in the bathroom, but their fixed it first thig in the morning. Showers had electrical heater, so you could have shower and not too worry about cold water.

Disliked: The only thing was when one of the days some travellers came back from the night out and their were very load, but other evenings was very queit.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Shopping

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not far from O2 Academy Aand Metro Radio Arena

Disliked: Lots of traffic noise heard throughout the night in rooms at front of hotel

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Charlesworth

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

25 July 2011 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Quite close to the Metro Radio Arena, which is handy for gigs. Room had a comfortable bed with pristine linen and an en suite with a jolly good power shower. Receptionist extremely helpful and let me print out another copy of my e-ticket for the gig when I lost the first one - lifesaver!

Disliked: It's up quite a steep hill, which can be a problem to climb after a few bottles of the local ale. If possible, take cash to pay the balance as they charge extra for settling it by card.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

18 July 2011

Liked: It was in a quiet part of town, away from the noise of the centre, it had a pool table that didnt work& it was kind of homely. One guy was sweet for he let us leave our bags there while we went and spent the whole day outside, they were very heavy, so we appreciated that.

Disliked: The soap had not even been changed or the bin, does that mean the room was partly clean???? The TV didnt work, it was cold& I left jeans folded on the windowsill, when picking them up later, they were soaking because of a leak. We told them but they didnt either understand us, werent exactly bothered.When checking in, we were very early& prepared but even then, we sat there for 3 hrs & no one even told us our room was ready till we asked.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and in a quiet neighbourhood

Disliked: Slightly far out from the city centre.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

EIRINI PANOU

Alone

Business / conference

11 April 2011 EIRINI would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were clean and the shower was very modern. Bed was very comfortable, slept really nice. The staff was friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

Disliked: The bathroom doors might need a few repairs in the towel handles...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the cleanliness

Disliked: to be so far from the centre

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Anne Dredge

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2011 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, lovely clean sheets and towels. No problem when asked for replenishment of in room tea making facilities. Although a bit of a hike on way back from town, on main bus route.

Disliked: would have liked to have been able to put the table lamp between the beds. no close plug available, but as i always travel with own reading light not a great problem.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great quality of accom for the price

Disliked: It is quite a walk from town up quite a large hill- not recommended to do with lots of luggage- take the bus!!!