HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Grainger Hotel Hotel

1-3 Graingerville North, Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne, England

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 68%

Location 58%

Safety 80%

Staff 76%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Elevator
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Newcastle upon Tyne?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 68%

Location 58%

Safety 80%

Staff 76%

Value 81%

Showing 1-7 of 7 reviews

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Comfy bed, but I had just run from Carlisle in a day!!!

Disliked: Staff insisting that I hadn't already paid a 10% deposit and making me pay it again despite me showing him the printed off booking confirmation from hostelbookers, as it was nearly 1am and I had just run from Carlise I paid it as I needed to rest! Broken shower door, broken shower bracket, paper thin walls and long life milk that was well passed its best in the morning.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Nothing to right about

Disliked: Shower head not clean we cleaned it ourselves it is a very long walk into town downhill so coming back with shopping is up hill and we need to buy a smaller cat for in the bathroom cos there not enough room to swing a full sized one

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Cheep and convenient to our particular needs as we broke down.

Disliked: Level of cleanliness was poor, breakfast was terrible (milk container was just being topped up with fresh milk and not cleaned) very tardy hotel

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: The shower was warm. The central heating worked and there was a lot programs.

Disliked: We paid more than our mates by 30£ and they got a bigger, more spacious room with a table and large bathroom. We definitely got ripped off. We had breakfast on the Saturday morning which we had to pay for and there wasn't much variety at all. Toast, cereals and some fruit which by the way was over ripened and one of my grapes was mouldy. The staff aren't very pleasant and are quite rude.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping

Liked: Rooms are what you pay for, comfy beds friendly staff

Disliked: Not as close too city as described

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: The property is v clean and can't complain. There is a lot of bad comments for this place but it is v clean and value for the price. Staff is also v friendly. I wd go again

Disliked: The roadside noise. The burglar alarm went off all through the night in one if the shops.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: The room were clean and warm. The property was in good condition and welcoming although the area was a little of putting.

Disliked: The location. Its was very noisy at night with young people returning from a Saturday night out. The doors were constantly being banged and you could hear everything other guests were saying.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The location is good, on a main road leading to city centre, with many buses available.The staff in reception is very helpful.The room was basic but ok.Breakfast was included in the price.

Disliked: Breakfast is copious, but it is not a b&b cooked breakfast.The bedroom was over the main road, so was fairly noisy early morning to me, but i am aware It depends on people's sensitivity to lose while they're asleep.The shower trickled more than drown you, but I acknowledge I am very picky about showers.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Clean and nicely arranged rooms.

Disliked: Quite a long way to reach the city-centre. (subjective impression)

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Large clean room, hot shower with nice new and clean glass door, tea making facilities, quality tv, good breakfast, supermarket 2 mins away.

Disliked: My room was above the front door/porch it was SLAM, SLAM, SLAM almost continuously. Room doors slammed shut all over hotel. The people in the room above were like a herd of elephants - all evening, AND there was a constant humming, not sure what it was, even when I lay my head on pillow it went right through me. IT WAS SO IRRITATING! Toilet coming away from the floor, could tip over. Don't suppose owner aware as they never sit on it, ha ha!

Check Availability