HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Ram’s Lodge

Hotel | 393 Wilmslow Road, Manchester, England M20 4WA

70.0% Overall Rating

15 out of 18 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/11/2013)

Michael Andrew McKean thinks…

"Absolutely superb budget accomidation. Comfortable bed. Friendly and helpful staff. Easy to get into town on the bus. Will certainly be back!"

Read all The Ram’s Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

15% payment made on booking is subject to Hotselbookers Terms and Conditions, which are seperate from the Hotels. The remaining balance can be made on arrival by either cash or card, however payment card information may be used to PRE-AUTHORISE payment of the 1st night once the free cancellation period has ended, If this fails we will contact you via telephone, if this also fails we may cancel the booking due to invalid card details provided." 2% charge for payments made by credit card

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Manchester?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Manchester

The Lansdowne
38.23 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.2% 7 reviews
Victoria Hall II
59.84 USD

Apartment 82.2% 13 reviews
Weston Hall
58.18 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.6% 34 reviews
My-Places Skyline Apartments Manchester
110.80 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
The Hatters
18.28 USD

Hostel 85.6% 1236 reviews
Hatters at Hilton Chambers
19.95 USD

Hostel 85.3% 777 reviews
My-Places Piccadilly City Centre Apartments Manche
94.98 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
YHA Manchester
18.28 USD

Hostel 83.3% 325 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.0%

Overall Rating

15 out of 18 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Ram’s Lodge'

Atmosphere
67.8%
Location
70.0%
Facilities
67.8%
Cleanliness
58.9%
Staff
78.9%
Value
80.0%
Safety
66.7%
Refine your results Showing 12 of 17 reviews
Reset filter
20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

10 June 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Toilet didn't flush, room door had no lock so had to place a chair in front of it at night for protection, rooms had no smoking signs but room had very strong smoke smell, lifted bed quilt to find bits covering the linen sheets - had to sleep on top of the bed, had been booked in for two nights for two people when only wanting one night for four people and then charged extra!! Disgusted.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very funny place with very nice and friendly people! luv it :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

mick floor

As a family with children

City break

11 February 2014 mick would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap, value for money. A clean bed is all it was

Disliked: Free-wifi was promised but mostly unusable

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

01 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything you need on offer, no problems/hassle

Disliked: dirty

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Andrew McKean

Alone

Business / conference

14 November 2013 Michael Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely superb budget accomidation. Comfortable bed. Friendly and helpful staff. Easy to get into town on the bus. Will certainly be back!

Disliked: Michael Andrew left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

DAVID PERKINS

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

14 October 2013 DAVID would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful.Beds,sheets and towels spotless.

Disliked: Rooms a little bit tired looking.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tarik Shaaban

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 September 2013 Tarik would recommend this property

Liked: Quite good hostel, friendly staff and good location

Disliked: Lighting inside the room was poor... insufficient

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

20 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You get what you pay for. The room was ok..beds excellent. The owner was very very serviceminded. The lock got changed immediately (after it took us 20 minutes to get out :) ).

Disliked: Not so clean. Old chip-bags in the drawers and we could write our names in the dust on the shelves.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location given the excellent transportation, good facilities (TV, WiFi, Private bathroom and hot water), good value for money...

Disliked: very old building, seems dirty

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, good location.

Disliked: Thin windows so could hear everything happening at the pub from room

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi is always a bonus, but the signal was weak so I had to stay near the door of my room to receive it. The place was clean, and there was tea and coffee facilities in the room.

Disliked: It was a bit shabbier than I expected. This is of course reflected in the price, however.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 March 2013

Liked: Absolutely nothing - except that it was relatively easy to get most of my money back when I left after the first night because I was so disgusted. I guess that is the only thing which could have been worse.

Disliked: When I first arrived late at night and tired from travelling, I was given a key to a room in a building out back. When I opened the door, I almost retched because the smell of mould was overpowering; looking around for the source of the smell I discovered that the walls and ceiling in one whole corner of the room were rotten - blackened with mould and disintegrating. I went back to reception and asked for another room, and was given one in the main building directly above a very noisy student bar with very loud music, which did not stop until well after midnight. The room was not especially clean, but at least the walls were not rotten, and eventually I got to sleep. In the morning, I went to the bathroom and found that there was not only no towel, but NO TOILET PAPER and also NO HOT WATER coming from the shower. So I had to have a wash standing at the sink and dry myself off using the sheet from the bed. Upon leaving, I found that the lock on the door did not work, so I had to carry my suitcase around with me all day since reception is not open in the morning so I couldn't even speak to anyone. I went back that evening and demanded by money back for the second and third nights I had planned to stay there. Seriously, avoid this place like the plague - I'm amazed it hasn't been shut down by now on health and safety grounds.