HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Melbourne house

Hotel | 65 Melbourne Road, East Ham, London, England E6 2RU

58.7% Overall Rating

11 out of 22 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/11/2013)

Namukolo Muyamwa thinks…

"Melbourne House is located in a quiet neighbourhood that is also safe. The House is within easy reach and provides easy access to public transport both by bus and tube (East Ham Station)."

Read all Melbourne house reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Communal kitchen
  • Sofa

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

CHECK IN HOURS ARE 12:00 TILL 21:00.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Apple Lodge 1
53.77 USD

Guesthouse 65.0% 4 reviews
Apple Lodge
29.41 USD

Guesthouse 69.0% 19 reviews
Apples Inn 1
30.25 USD

Guesthouse 61.7% 29 reviews
Apples Inn Guesthouse
28.57 USD

Guesthouse 64.9% 14 reviews
Apples Inn 3
27.73 USD

Guesthouse 66.7% 12 reviews
Barking Park Hotel
36.97 USD

Hotel 2 star 33.1% 5 reviews
Globe Trott Inns
15.11 USD

Hostel 71.4% 370 reviews
Carlton House
26.05 USD

Guesthouse 61.4% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
58.7%

Overall Rating

11 out of 22 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Melbourne house'

Atmosphere
59.1%
Location
48.2%
Facilities
57.3%
Cleanliness
54.6%
Staff
63.6%
Value
66.4%
Safety
61.8%
Refine your results Showing 12 of 20 reviews
Reset filter
25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Joyce van Overeem

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: DON'T EVER GO HERE! because: It wasn't clear where the location was and there was only a small note on the door saying we had to call a number when nobody opened the doors. We had to wait for a few hours before someone came and let us in. Our room was disgusting and there were mouse droppings and chewinggum on the mattress. The shower didn't get warm the first day and we had to wait a really long time before someone came to fix it, the guy didn't even look at us when he came. The place hasn't been cleaned in ages and everything felt sticky when you touched it. There was blood on the floor in the shared bathroom and nobody cleaned it up. It took about 1.5 hour to get to the city center if you include walking. We had to pay in advance so we didn't want to leave since we already payed. When we had to check out nobody was there and we just left the keys on the table next to the bed. We don't want to go near this place ever again, it was a horrible experience. This isn't what you expect when you pay €35 per person a night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Namukolo Muyamwa

Alone

Business / conference

30 November 2013 Namukolo would recommend this property

Liked: Melbourne House is located in a quiet neighbourhood that is also safe. The House is within easy reach and provides easy access to public transport both by bus and tube (East Ham Station).

Disliked: The microwave oven was not working and thus making it difficult to warm or cook food. The owners need to provide details about the location of the place and give directions on how to get there . For example, use Bus 238 or 325 and disembark at Altmore avenue to get to Melbourne road across the street.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sabrina ranslow

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 November 2013 sabrina would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfortable Bed and clean quite big bedroom. Bathroom we knew was shared and was very clean and tidy. Although we didn't use kitchen facilities looked very decent and provided microwave, fridge and other cooking facilities. very close to bus stop. Overally extremely good for the money.

Disliked: sabrina left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Klemen Hojan

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 November 2013 Klemen would recommend this property

Liked: Good heating and everything is working ok

Disliked: The bed could be better

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jeanette Aboo

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 October 2013

Liked: 1) Big room 2) ketchen

Disliked: 1) The toilet was very dirty and the room was not clean enough. 2) The room was too cold and the radiator didn't work. 3) The location was very bad and far away from most things. 4) When we came to the hotel no one opened the door and we had to wait outside until the owner came and gave us the keys.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very nice place to stay in. But you don't live in a ordinary hostel. You live in a english house with about 8 other traveling couples, but it's okay. It was clean and the kitchen looked good, aslong as you're okay with sharing the bathroom this place is great! But don't expect any services they might have in other hostels or hotels, theirs no reception and nothing like that, it's a small house with lots of rooms. And London centre is just 20 min away, it don't feel as far as it sounds.

Disliked: They could have more signs or something to show you where the place is, just something small so you don't have to ask a lot of people if the owners don't answer the phone.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lina Maria Arenas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

11 July 2013 Lina Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Very beautiful London house, very clean. They have everything you need (Kitchen, bathroom, very comfortable beds, free laundry service). The staff was very kind and helpful. It's like having your own house in London! We loved it!

Disliked: It's a bit far from the city, and metro station. But when you get used to that, the hostal is very good.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013

Liked: I liked the fact that you could live in a house like the average londoner/east hamer, the house has the possibility of being a great place to stay you have a kitchen with fridge and freezer, a washingmashine etc. The staff were kind and really wanted to help.

Disliked: The house hadn't been cleaned in ages, the kitchewas disgusting - your feet would actually stick to the floor! The whole house really needs serious cleaning! The bed collapsed and we had to "fix" it ourselves, they had put some kind of a bar under the mattress (some weird idea of stabilizing the bed??). The wireless internet didn't work. The garden was a mess. It is cheap but not worth the money we paid - I really do hope they'll fix the things mentioned above because the place do have potentials BUT it'll take a lot of work to get there....

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 May 2013

Liked: Nice bedroom with comfy bed

Disliked: I booked a room for other friends for three nights and only stayed one because they felt unsafe, no ironing facilities, no hair dryer, bathroom unclean and in need of update

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 May 2013

Liked: Helpful staff, comfy bed

Disliked: Didn't feel secure enough, back door was left unlocked and bathroom window on ground floor left open regularly, no iron no hair dryer, had to pay £1.50 to iron a shirt down the road at a dry cleaners

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

30 April 2013

Liked: The heating worked...Sometimes.

Disliked: Disdain from the landlady in regards of security.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There are a lot of facilities microwave, kettle, owen... most of the things are clean and also new. It s a good house a little bit far away city centre (end of zone 3) and there is a lot markets and restaurants. Price is quite cheap comparing the other hostel. You stay with your spouse not with 6 or 10people.

Disliked: The linen was a low quality they have to chance it. Some lmbs and kitchen are not clean. There is no salt in the kitchen.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels