We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Elmwood Hotel

2 star Hotel | 19-Argyle Sq, King's Cross, London, England WC1H8AS

78.7% Overall Rating

20 out of 24 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/09/2014)

Tom Stockwell thinks…

"The location is great - the hotel is literally opposite King's Cross. The WiFi works well, and the free breakfast is good and generous. Rooms are basic, but for the price in London, it can't be…"

Read all Elmwood Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 8.11

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

The hotel reserve the right to pre-authorise all cards for the first night a prior before arrival and inform those who have declined credit card to present a valid card The hotel charges 3.50% extra for paying by using credit card and no any extra charge for using UK debit cards or cash. The hotel accepts Travellers cheques in GBP with no extra fees or commission to exchange them.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Keystone Hostel
27.51 USD

Hostel 84.1% 38 reviews
Clink261
21.10 USD

Hostel 79.3% 952 reviews
Fairway Hotel
40.57 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Journeys King's Cross
16.21 USD

Hostel 65.7% 646 reviews
Generator London
24.34 USD

Hostel 88.5% 4144 reviews
Kings Cross Apartment
73.03 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
YHA London St Pancras
32.46 USD

Hostel 88.0% 467 reviews
Dinwiddy House
76.53 USD

Hostel 72.6% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.7%

Overall Rating

20 out of 24 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Elmwood Hotel'

Atmosphere
70.0%
Location
94.2%
Facilities
73.3%
Cleanliness
84.2%
Staff
80.8%
Value
71.7%
Safety
76.7%
Refine your results Showing 18 of 24 reviews
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

john kelly

Alone

City break

07 October 2014 john would recommend this property

Liked: The location and cleanliness.

Disliked: The expense and difficulty in booking it and the fact that breakfast does not begin until 0730.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tom Stockwell

Alone

City break

21 September 2014 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great - the hotel is literally opposite King's Cross. The WiFi works well, and the free breakfast is good and generous. Rooms are basic, but for the price in London, it can't be beaten, unless you want to stay in a dorm, which I did not after a 14 hour flight.

Disliked: The price should be a little lower, and the room was awkward to get in and out of (one door then another, with no light until getting into the room).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

14 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean and comfortable room, pleasant staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kalinda Solomon

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2014 Kalinda would recommend this property

Liked: Location Location Location, 2 mins walk to Kings cross station. It is clean and tidy and the staff are friendly.

Disliked: The bed was average, and the room and the bathroom, tiny. But hey, you don't go to London to stay in your room.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Giuseppe Pelella

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

14 November 2013 Giuseppe would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to San pancreas station

Disliked: The room was very small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, close St Pancras & Kings Cross Stations. Friendly welcoming staff. Excellent value for money. I saw a number of not so good reviews before I booked and am glad I ignored them. Yes the room was small but all I need from a hotel is that it is clean and comfortable, I just want to sleep there not have a party!

Disliked: I can't fault it. Great value. I have paid more for much worse outside of London!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is located just around the corner of King's Cross with some rooms facing quiet Argyll Square. The breakfast was simple but good.

Disliked: The bed was very small for a double (about 1.2 meters wide).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice place to stay. Breakfast was good.

Disliked: Cramped.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to St Pancras and Underground station, small room but clean and well equipped.

Disliked: Tv not working, wireless quite slow.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jared Wolfe

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2013

Liked: It is right next to the train station.

Disliked: Our room was painfully small and the continental breakfast ( although free) was rationed. Also we could hear every move of every neighbor all around us.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Business / conference
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location - price is reasonable - you get wat you pay for.

Disliked: TV in room didn't work and breakfast was terrible.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to kings Cross but tucked away in a quiet square. Clean and breakfast included making good value

Disliked: The double bed was very small and cramped for two people. There was only one spare pillow (3 in total for 2 people) so I had to put a rolled up jumper underneath mine to give more bulk

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Phil McGowan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 January 2013 Phil would recommend this property

Liked: Ok, but rather expensive for what's on offer

Disliked: Cost

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

21 January 2013

Liked: Convenient location, very close to Kings Cross. Breakfast was ok.

Disliked: The heating in our room didn't work, so it was freezing (about zero degrees Celsius outside, so it was a cold period. Would probably not be a problem a different time of year). On top of this the bed didn't have a proper duvet, only a blanket, so we didn't sleep much - I kept waking up because my feet were like ice. Also quite a bit of noise from other guests, which would have annoyed me more had I been able to sleep in the first place.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

20 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good basic stay bril value for one for London wih loo and shower. Fab location, pretty square and quiet area. Def return

Disliked: Flooring echoed between floors and fire doors thud but had goioid uninterupted sleep

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012

Liked: The location.

Disliked: The chlorine smell in the bathroom.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: The Dvd player didnt work, the breakfast was somewhat substandard and I disliked having to leave my room key at the front desk.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price and the friendly staff. Its hard to get an en suite room for this price in london.

Disliked: The police knocking on my neighbours room door at 3:30am and keeping me awake for the next hour. Though I appreciate thats not the hotels fault, it was the guest staying in that room who caused the problem. This only happened one night thankfully.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels