We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The W14 Hotel

3.5 star Hotel | Gunterstone Road, Kensington, London, London, England W14 9BU

65.6% Overall Rating

115 out of 155 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/01/2014)

Aairon Dalton thinks…

"It's warm like really warm ! They are making changes to modernise also add faculties really well located but make sure you are aware that is west Kensington you need to get off at!"

Read all The W14 Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Concierge
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room
  • Infant bed

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

for the Olympics period between 20thJuly until 18th August. All rooms booked for the above period only, the following policy applies. Prepayment: The total price of the reservation will be charged on the day of booking and is.... Non - Refundable Non-Cancellable Non - Transferable Non - Commisionable Taxes and service charges: 20 % VAT is included.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Access Kensington Olympia
45.54 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Kensington West
40.66 USD

Apartment 84.8% 3 reviews
ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL
29.27 USD

Hostel 67.8% 758 reviews
YHA London Holland Park
24.39 USD

Hostel 77.4% 86 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Hammersmith
17.73 USD

Hostel 77.1% 518 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Shepherd's Bush
20.98 USD

Hostel 82.1% 344 reviews
Barmy Badger Backpackers
39.03 USD

Hostel 91.2% 83 reviews
The Sapphire Hotel
44.72 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.3% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.6%

Overall Rating

115 out of 155 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The W14 Hotel'

Atmosphere
58.4%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
56.0%
Cleanliness
58.4%
Staff
72.0%
Value
64.8%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 91 of 142 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: felt like a hotel, very clean relaqxing environment

Disliked: the staff weren't overly friendly, also it wouldve been nice if the lockers in the rooms had locks so they could be used.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

KIHYUN KIM

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2011 KIHYUN would recommend this property

Liked: clean, safe and near from the underground. Breakfast was really good.

Disliked: They changed my roon abrubtly so I had to do check out at 10a.m and check in after 2p.m again. It was quite annoying and the lugguge room was totally unsafe.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011

Liked: The exterior

Disliked: The staff is not very friendly but as long as they do the job right, I don't complain, since this is not high end hotel. The toilets and showers are very dirty, it seems that the manager of the hotel deliberately put the effort on the appearance of the hotel (the bar, the garden, the room), but not the things that can't be seen after the customers have checked in. This is very short sighted, I will not come back again however cheap the price is

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Judith Hof

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2011 Judith would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the fact that the W14 hostel has a friendly and open environment. Also the bar and restaurant and the backyard are great.

Disliked: Better breakfast, maybe with some cheese and meat.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: wifi and clean rooms

Disliked: we had to wait for availability of toilets

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The toilet and the bathrooms are clean. Bedroom and the bedding are clean too. It is located away from the hustle and bustle of the city so quite peaceful at night, making you easy to sleep after a long and tired day. Breakfast is provided and it is not bad. Towel and wifi also provided too.

Disliked: I asked for boiled water for my cup noodles and the staff was reluctant to give me. The room was very stuffy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sharon Wright

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

28 June 2011 Sharon would recommend this property

Liked: was near where we went to a concert so location was great,was clean,friendly and very apt to what we needed would def stay there again

Disliked: nothing no complaints.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Amol Mangla

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2011 Amol would recommend this property

Liked: Dorms were clean and good. Check-in process was very quick. Services for the breakfast was very fast. We went for breakfast on peak time, still we managed to finished before time. Hotel is between 2 tube stations, so it is very easily accessible from Piccadally and District line.

Disliked: Wash were not that clean. Rooms were bit hot inspite of windows.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near the city

Disliked: the bathroom was not clean

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lisa Schutz

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: clean good breakfast.

Disliked: staff was very unfriendly and unhelpful.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrea Villarreal Yanez

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2011 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: GREAT value! Would definitely recommend. For £10, I have stayed in horrible hostels in Bayswater and the W14 was great.

Disliked: No lift... but almost no hostels have lift. Also, if they had a guest kithen it would be great.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Nicole Beechey

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2011 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to locate right near West Kensington Station. Very convenient and great value for money.

Disliked: The bathrooms sort of smelled like sewage (faintly) and the wireless internet did not work for most people.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011

Liked: Quite clean, airy feel. Quiet at night, comforters were good. Good number of clean bathrooms and showers. Overall a nice setup, a little removed from hustle and bustle of more central locations.

Disliked: Extremely unhelpful and downright rude customer service. Claim to have free wifi, however frequent issues with accessing this. The unpleasantness of staff made this a sticking point on being able to reccommend this hostel. Breakfast is adequate, but very basic. Cereal, whitetoast, coffee. No kitchen facilities or fridge for quests.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Work / volunteering

20 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like it everything. Staff was great.

Disliked: Everything was perfect

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ivan Aceves

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2011 Ivan would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the fact that everything was very clean, the rooms were big even though they were for 6 people, the staff was helpful and friendly and the breakfast was very good. The price was algo great as well.

Disliked: .

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

03 April 2011

Liked: Close to where I had to go in the morning

Disliked: The bed's were very uncomftable


See all London hostels
See all London hotels