HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The W14 Hotel

3.5 star Hotel | Gunterstone Road, Kensington, London, London, England W14 9BU

64.9% Overall Rating

114 out of 154 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/01/2014)

Aairon Dalton thinks…

"It's warm like really warm ! They are making changes to modernise also add faculties really well located but make sure you are aware that is west Kensington you need to get off at!"

Read all The W14 Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Concierge
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room
  • Infant bed

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

for the Olympics period between 20thJuly until 18th August. All rooms booked for the above period only, the following policy applies. Prepayment: The total price of the reservation will be charged on the day of booking and is.... Non - Refundable Non-Cancellable Non - Transferable Non - Commisionable Taxes and service charges: 20 % VAT is included.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Access Kensington Olympia
47.55 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Kensington West
49.67 USD

Apartment 84.8% 3 reviews
ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL
33.96 USD

Hostel 66.6% 732 reviews
Access Earls Court
39.57 USD

Apartment 77.8% 9 reviews
YHA London Holland Park
32.26 USD

Hostel 77.4% 86 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Hammersmith
21.91 USD

Hostel 77.8% 514 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Shepherd's Bush
21.91 USD

Hostel 80.2% 339 reviews
Barmy Badger Backpackers
40.75 USD

Hostel 91.7% 79 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
64.9%

Overall Rating

114 out of 154 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The W14 Hotel'

Atmosphere
57.6%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
56.8%
Staff
71.2%
Value
64.8%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 91 of 141 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012

Liked: all in all nice quiet place

Disliked: there was no hot water in the showers

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, value for money proportion.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Arnaud RABETRANO

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2012 Arnaud would recommend this property

Liked: Near the center

Disliked: Facilities The shower

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

peter lindon

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 September 2012 peter would recommend this property

Liked: staff at breakfast where pleasant.

Disliked: beds were noisy and lockers flimsy

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Flora Lam

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 September 2012 Flora would recommend this property

Liked: near tube station good location for sightseeing. room is ok.

Disliked: no lift. internet works but only on ground floor.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Elinor Lloyd

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2012 Elinor would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and very near the tube station but was also quiet.

Disliked: There was no lift and I stayed on the 3rd or 4th floor.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Mariana Fraga

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2012 Mariana would recommend this property

Liked: Love the building, even if it's so confusing. The location is pretty good, close to the tube. Loved the breakfast, simple cereal and toast but good for the money. Beds really comfy and clean.

Disliked: Toilets and showers not that clean, but it was ok. Our money got stolen while we were sleeping in the room so BE SURE TO KEEP YOUR THINGS IN A LOCKER (bring a lock) even when you are there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Much better than I've expected. The room for six females is clean and quiet.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bar and common area were spatious and happy color, a lot of sunlight in the day, and beautiful garden area outside. A lot of bathrooms to choose from, good showers. Breakfast was quite nice (they make toasts for you!); everywhere was very clean except for some bathrooms

Disliked: The staff were a bit too businesslike; some bathrooms were not very clean; kitchen was small and no place to sit; no bowls or cups but only plates

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 March 2012

Liked: Location is pretty good. About 5 minute walk from barons court tube station.

Disliked: The staff is very unfriendly. They have such an heavy ( Indian?) Accent that I had to ask several times to repeat what they were saying. A smile or talk was impossible. They don't seem to be interested in their customers. The bar staff was mostly hiding behind the reception and had to ring the bell several times to place an order. Also the bathrooms are very poorly. It took about 4/5 minutes before water got warm and then had only 2 minutes to shower as the drain wasn't working probably and the bathroom almost flooded!!!! The outside is nicely advertised and well maintained. Rooms are basic but can do with better cleaning as well as better cleaning of the bathrooms ( and getting it fixed). Hostel has more potential with better staff and fixed bathrooms and cleaner property!

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Nicole Burton

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2012

Liked: Absolutely nothing.

Disliked: Everything. Staff was incredibly hostile and incompetent. Could not understand basic English. They gave me a room on the top floor of a building with elevator after seeing that I was wearing a cast for a broken foot. There is a handicap sign behind the stairs but the door to whatever was there was locked and the staff refused to unlock it so I could get my suitcase up 4 flights of stairs. Instead I dragged my suitcase up each flight of narrow dirty stairs with a broken foot - no offer of assistance from any of the 4 foreign people on staff who were more interested in sneering at guests and playing games on their computers than doing their jobs. Our two roommates were foreign girls who did not speak English and rolled in at precisely 5am each night talking, laughing, and kicking things. There is no curfew. The window is 2 feet by two feet and let in no sunlight, making the room feel like a prison cell. The beds might have been the worst part. The coils stabbed me in the back and side all night. Each time my bunkmate above moved even an inch, the bed would shake violently and the rusty coils gave a silence-shattering symphony of shrill, ear-piercing squeaks and groans. Also the location is terrible. The surrounding areas are somewhat scary and the Tube stop is completely handicap inaccessible. Good luck dragging your luggage up at least 3 different sets of stairs (even more luck if you happened to have a broken foot) at West Kensington. Generally just really far away from everything. I understand for the price of this hostel one cannot expect the Ritz but I think sanitary bathrooms and beds that don't risk organ-puncture are not too much to ask.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean,secure,fairly central location,good breakfast

Disliked: Small dormitory room,one of two bathrooms very small nowhere to hang on clothes.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located 5-10mins walking distance from an underground station and it is in a relatively safe neighbourhood. Very nice common room. The 6 bedded dorm room had lockers available, although small. In house restaurant serving decent Indian food.

Disliked: Some members of staff were not very approacheable. The kitchen was quite small considering the size of the hostel, but I think many prefered simply eating at the in house restaurant. Washrooms were quite clean but not heated, therefore getting in and out of the shower was a dread - probably not a problem when it's warmer outside, but quite an unpleasant experience in the middle of winter.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2012

Liked: The hostel is situated in a quiet residential street, it's close to two Underground stations, a nightbus stop and a few shops. The breakfast is basic but ok, though the toast was always cold when we got it. There is juice, coffee, tea, hotchocolate, 4 different kinds of cereal, most of the time 4 different kind of jams and butter.

Disliked: The staff was very unfriendly and unhelpful and most of them had heavy (Indian?) accents, which sometimes made it difficult to understand them. Check-out is not as advertised until 10:30 but "strictly at 10:00" as one sign read. The luggage storage was in the computer room, where a sign said, luggage had to be removed by 6pm. Usage of the computers costs 1 Pound per 30 minutes, 1,50 per one hour, which is not to steep, but it doesn't say so in the description. One toilet on our floor didn't have a sink. The bathroom had a shower, a toilet and a sink, but the window didn't close properly and there was no radiator, so taking a shower while it was -4°C outside was a freezing experience. In addition the hot water in the shower needed several minutes to get warm. Thanks to the location and the price the hostel was ok for 2 nights in a private room for 2, but not recommendable for a longer stay.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close by to 2 tube station, zone 2 and if you buy oester card cost you 2 pound to town.

Disliked: i booked female dorm and 2nd night dorm had male in room, i left for weekend and ask for 2 more nights again female dorm, when i come back they try to put me with 3 guys in 4 bed dorm, after discussions, change for 6 bed mixed dorm with one guy in it which he snore all night. if you booked for female dorm make sure to ask before you go to room, you might end up with 3 guys and only girl you in the room. breakfast ordinary and people at recepsion not smiling at all.. internet connection is disaster very very slow and keep breaking up, wont work in the dorms.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You could buy cheap food and drinks from the bar. Breakfast was ok.

Disliked: The shower would lose pressure to a dribble after a few minutes. Toilets often blocked or wouldn't flush.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Susan Barnett

Alone

City break

24 January 2012

Liked: The bathrooms, although, because I was so upset, I didn't get to use them. It was clean, everything LOOKS good . . . Pity about the staff and illegality (I am sure it MUST be illegal . . .)

Disliked: The 'fully equipped kitchen' has no mugs and very little cutlery, and can only contain about four people. There is no seating area and you are not supposed to eat and drink in the bar area unless you have bought it there, so you are expected to eat it in your bedroom. If there is more than one person in there you have to manoeuvre around each other. One very small room for so many people. The staff are not friendly and I would say they might even be operating illegally. Some of their restrictions certainly seem very strange, like you are not supposed to receive mail, and they don't 'support' housing benefit. It is also not safe. Personally I had men outside my ground floor room looking onto the street, with a curtain that didn't cover the window properly, shouting 'kill her' and laughing and jeering in the most frightening ways, and the staff did nothing to stop it or to help me, didn't call the police or anything. They sounded like religious extremists, maybe Muslim, seemed to be the suggestion. The staff were very irresponsible and rude, and deliberately and abusively dishonest. They themselves were harassing me, as well as these men. On Saturday I tried to use the internet in the internet cafe, and i closed the door because the staff were shouting outside. Someone opened it, I closed it again and this happened several times. I said I wanted it closed because they were shouting so much, and they said I shouldn't even be in there anyway and would I please go to another room. I said they had been harassing me since I got there and he tried to escalate it saying if you don't like it here, leave. I pointed out that some people wanted to use the internet for work and not only pleasure and that I wanted privacy, he said 'I know what YOUR work is', which was untrue because I hadn't told him. Suddenly the internet became unavailable and I wasn't able to connect for the rest of my stay, even when it became available again. He said he had given me a downstairs bedroom out of respect, which in some ways appeared to be true, but when I said that the curtain doesn't cover the bottom of the window he said that wasn't his problem. He was just a liar and psychologically invasive and religiously harassing, first he said he was the owner but today he said he wasn't and wouldn't give his name. When I tried to insist he said he would call the police if I didn't go, but when I said 'call them' he just went back to being demeaning and insulting and extremely unpleasant. He tried to keep me engaged in a verbal run-around. He is a little babyfaced thing in a sharp suit with a smart haircut and perhaps he can get away with this kind of thing with most people. I was distressed throughout my stay. He was very emotionally manipulative and had ME feeling guilty. They had rules and regulations all over the place. He told me it wasn't a 4 star hotel and said he had customers to deal with, as if I wasn't a customer and was nothing, just a nuisance. People should be properly respected whether they are paying £11 or £1000.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great bar, pretty good variety of breakfast which is included in the price!

Disliked: Since the hotel is located in residential area it was a bit difficult to find.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

28 November 2011

Liked: Not a damn thing.

Disliked: It was a rat-hole. Filthy to the max. The tub for the shower was an absolute death trap-it slopped downwards, there was no side railing or anything to help you get in and out of the tub and there was nothing on the tub to prevent you from slipping and sliding all over it. The "housekeeping" was a joke; floors were not swept, sheets not changed, covers were just thrown over the bed, sinks not cleaned, toilets not cleaned and good luck to you finding toilet paper. it was absolutely disgusting and I am livid they charged me so much for their festering dungheap.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean for a hostel.

Disliked: Skip the breakfast.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Real close to two tube stations (<5min to either one). Large room and bathroom, free wifi in lobby, safe environment, really clean, included free tea and coffee in room.

Disliked: Had tv in room but had to put down a deposit to use it

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Astrid Braeuer

Alone

City break

20 November 2011 Astrid would recommend this property

Liked: Really close to the tube-station, very quiet area and good area - felt absolutely safe! Place was for this price really value for money.

Disliked: It was a bit mouldy in the bathrooms - and if I book an Ensuite I expect a toilet as well.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sylvie Duhal

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

12 November 2011 Sylvie would recommend this property

Liked: showers, security, breakfast, free-wifi, bar, lounge, jacuzzi, terrace...

Disliked: no microwaves, no paper in the kitchen, very small kitchen

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

venice wyatt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2011 venice would recommend this property

Liked: Great, clean space and very nice lounge, social areas. Mix of all ages and nationalities. I found a couple of people giving the place a hard review, but each of these had never stayed in a hostel before and were expecting hotel service on a budget. Honestly a lovely hostel with everything you need and in a very english pretty english setting. I hope to stay here again once they are not fully booked :(

Disliked: nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's located near the subway station. Nice places to hang out in the hotel.

Disliked: Room wasn't ready for us at chen-in time and room cleaning wasn't as good as you would like it to be. You can hear everything trough the walls, they are very thin, so in the mornings it was hard to sleep with the cleaning team working.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels