We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Euro Hotel Clapham

2 star Hotel | 80/81 Clapham Common, South Side, London, England SW4 9DQ

65.6% Overall Rating

59 out of 76 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/02/2013)

"Lovely warm clean room with all you could need for a short stay. For me the location was ideal as I have family nearby but a great location for the common, transport and shops at Clapham south."

Read all Euro Hotel Clapham reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wake-up calls

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancelation Policy Flexible Bookings : Cancelation policy stays same as 48 Hours prior to date of arrival and same applies for any amendments. First Night will be charged in terms of No Show . Hotel may pre authorise the given card for the booking. Non Flexible Bookings : All Non Flexible bookings are not cancellable and not amendable and will be fully charged in terms of cancelation. Hotel will charge the given card at the time of booking. Group Bookings : Any booking over 5 rooms will be treated as Group Booking No Pets Allowed . No Smoking Allowed Car Park Not Guaranteed and for guaranteed car park rates applies as below. £10 per day for a standard car £15 per day for a standard van

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Euro Lodge Clapham
26.37 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.3% 227 reviews
Clapham Guest House
30.43 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
PubLove @ The Crown, Battersea
14.44 USD

Hostel 76.7% 294 reviews
Travel Joy Hostels
30.75 USD

Hostel 89.0% 522 reviews
PubLove @ The White Ferry, Victoria
16.21 USD

Hostel 80.5% 769 reviews
Airways Hotel
50.71 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.2% 41 reviews
Blades Hotel
71.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Caswell Hotel
27.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.4% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.6%

Overall Rating

59 out of 76 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Euro Hotel Clapham'

Atmosphere
56.0%
Location
73.6%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
58.4%
Value
68.0%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 50 of 70 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Alexandra Prunean

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

11 August 2014 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great

Disliked: The staff were quite unfriendly, and the double room was super tiny! The carpet was soaking wet, too.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Philip Balint

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 March 2014

Liked: It was ok.

Disliked: The size of the room and bathroom.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely warm clean room with all you could need for a short stay. For me the location was ideal as I have family nearby but a great location for the common, transport and shops at Clapham south.

Disliked: Could hear the people walking about at night in room above

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

31 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean (inside the room anyway) and close to the tube station. Comfortable bed. Good, hot shower.

Disliked: Breakfast very basic and not great. Staff okay but not overly helpful or friendly- as someone who knew the area, that was fine but not great for those who don't. Very basic hotel but no major issues.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

09 November 2012

Liked: Not much

Disliked: Upon arriving, I couldn't check in until 3 pm. Fine, I left my luggage and came back at 4pm. I was then informed that they had given away all single rooms (even though of course they new I was coming back as they had my luggage) and that I had to stay at a neighbouring hotel (Euro Hotel Lodge, the same company), which appreantly had the same type of room available. This arrangement would have been fine but the other hotel did not have any rooms left with a private bathorrom (which I still ended up paying for) and to make matters worse, the hotel was contaminated with bed bugs that I ended up taking home with me. I strongly suggest you sleep somewhere else.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2012

Liked: Nothing. I would not recommend this hotel or its accompanying hotels in the Euro hotels chain to anyone - unless they want a waste of time - its fanstastic for that.

Disliked: Everything. 1. We booked a double room with a private ensuite and full english breakfast, 2 weeks in advance. 2. We had to move to a hotel "5" minutes away on the bus, plus twin not double and continental breakfast not English - inconvenient but OK, location being a big priority we were assured that the underground was only 5 minute walk away from this new 3 star hotel. (Same company chain). 3. Had to pay our own way on the bus and spent 45 minutes on the "5" minute bus. 4. Instead of a twin room we arrive to be checked into a 6 bed dorm with a shared bathroom and find that the "5" minute walk to the underground was a 15 minute walk to the overground or a bus taking 45 minutes. 5. Let the staff know that this was rediculous - transfered to another room - twin with private bathroom - good, a bit happier. 6. Found that the shower didn't work - OK, I'll have a bath - bath plug for bath wrong size, far too small. 7. Let the staff know that we would need a working shower or a bigger plug - treated like an idiot - they did not believe that the shower was not working until their maintenance staff had to get out a screw driver to pry up the seized valve for the water to switch from the bath taps to the shower head. 8. Completely over it we decided to look for other accommodation for the next 2 nights rather than be away from central London and the underground system - explained that we were unhappy with how things were - happy to stay tonight but wanted to move for the remaining 2 nights - could we please be refunded the remaining money - told no we couldn't - it was against hotel policy - they needed 48hours notice to make a cancellation - (right so where was our notice to say we didn't have a room!) Told by the establishment manager that he would call the other hotel and find out what they could organise for our other existing accomodation - "i will come to your room very soon with an answer". 9. Nothing after waiting a further hour, now 7:30pm, went out to reception again to be greated with - "so are you ready to check out" in a rude tone. 10. We were able to get our money back if we did not stay even that first night - so we packed, got our refund and walked to the train in the pouring rain. Still haven't got our deposit back on our booking which was 10%. Wasted our time fom when we arrived at midday in our 'booked' accomoddation till 8pm that night. Found accommodation right near Victoria station (over ground and underground central, couldn't get a better location in London) for the same price with better facilities. Funny how we went an entire 3 months around the UK and Europe without a single issue in accomodation - from remote places in Albania to areas of Spain that didn't speak English - and we get trouble from a 3 night stay in London.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really close to underground station, only 5 minutes walking. Breakfast better than expectations, cereals with milk, toast with butter and jam, coffee, tea and orange juice. There are also good restaurant and some bars, tesco and sainsbury's on your way to the underground.

Disliked: far from centre but well connected by underground

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was expecting a lot less, honestly. My room was spacious, the bathroom was very nice, it was clean. The breakfast was ok, though. It was just Corn Flakes and Toast. I've gotten much more from youth hostels.

Disliked: The staff was very awkward. I felt like the biggest burden to them when I told them that my bathroom light was broken. They couldn't fix it (on a Friday night) and told me someone would be in on Monday. I then asked for a lamp or something because otherwise there would be NO light in the bathroom, and the room light did not travel that far. This was apparently a huge undertaking, however, I did get one in the end. I was also hit on by a porter repeatedly, and this is not the most comfortable thing for a female traveling alone.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

26 September 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: *Angry staff, always arguing with eachother and clearly didn't enjoy their jobs. *Instead of feeling welcomed as guests in the hotel, it was as if it was a hassle for the staff to be there to help us. *Bad shower (was either drizzling, normal water pressure, freezing or scalding). *Couldn't turn the heater down as the knob had been taken off. *Staff trying to get into our room at ridiculous hours (11pm at night) about an error regarding our booking which was in the end their mistake. *The breakfast was quite average for the price your paying. *It seemed as though all guests had something to complain to staff about (which is saying something). *Constant issues with our room key card, couldn't get into our room nearly everyday we were there (again staffs mistake for not advising us the card had to be refreshed everyday). *Staff not professional enough. *Getting locked out of communal areas of the building. *Not being able to open the windows in the room wide enough. *Bad television reception. *Wrong size doona on bed.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to two tube stations.

Disliked: The Reception staff are very RUDE . Not friendly and couldn't care less. We had no air -con and it was unsafe to leave windows open at night as it was on the first floor.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Irina Lavrenyuk

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011

Liked: It is situated very good - within 1 and 2 zones, not far from the tube, the room is average but it has what it should have - a bed, a bathroom, even the kettle.

Disliked: This is a rather cheap hostel and supposed to offer common rooms. We booked a private one - and we didn't expect much. But we didn't expect to breathe the stale, stuffy air the whole night through. Because the windows were sealed and no ventilation has been mounted there. It was a relief to leave the room in the morning, but at breakfast we were astonished by the amounts of people, dirty tables, the same stale air and untidy crockery. From now, I will surely check up ALL the reviews given to the hostel and won't expect many good surprises when coming to a hostel like this.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2011

Liked: The hotel is, in general, clean.

Disliked: 1) My room--especially the toilet--was extremely cramped. 2) The breakfast included in the price was subpar (just toast and cereal, no fruit, etc.). 3) The Wi-Fi doesn't work in the rooms, only in the lounge, and it cuts out every forty minutes or so. 4) The reception was rude; several times when I went to ask a question, they were either not there or told me to come back in an hour as they were busy (even though they were not visibly busy).

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Katerina Veitová

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011 Katerina would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, close to the tube.

Disliked: Little small.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sunny Wieler

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2011

Liked: The cleanliness of the room made up for the lack of character.

Disliked: First impressions were terrible. Staff didn't seem to really know what they were doing. Hallways leading to our room were horrific. Breakfast is worth giving a miss. Far away from the city center. Must say though, or room was fine, an that was the most important thing for us.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jaka Mur

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2011 Jaka would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money is good, Hotel is as described.

Disliked: Thin walls, breakfast is just toast and jam.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tessa Turner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2011 Tessa would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the feel of the location and how it felt like you were in one of the local apartments visible from your balcony.

Disliked: I did not like the fact that the television had terrible service and kept going in and out of focus.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 February 2011

Liked: Situation is the best thing

Disliked: The bed was horrible and the windows let the wind come inside the room. the recepcionist was a bit rude.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Basic, but good breakfast (coffee/tea, toast, jam, cereals, juice) included. Comfortable beads. Clean but small room. Real value for money (if you're going for hostel prices). Close to underground. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Thin walls and really thin doors. Heating was turned up to high first night, but the staff helped us lower it the second night. Small rooms.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Relaxation/spa

13 October 2010

Liked: Room is quite clean

Disliked: 1. Location too far from city 2. breakfast is awful. Bread with no butter no orange juice, i even saw people just walk away because of no butter. 3. Staff (indian lady), being impolite. 4. Toilet is SMALL! TOO SMALL!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and well priced

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kok Seng Chin

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

09 September 2010 Kok Seng would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Close to Underground and friendly living environment. The room i got was on the highest floor. The room was great with nice comfy bed and clean toilets albeit there is no lift.

Disliked: One of the receptionist was rude and not friendly.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Trees Bloksma

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 August 2010

Liked: De ligging is perfect!

Disliked: Koud water (douche), zelfs na "reparatie", slecht ontbijt, hele lange wachtrijen om een geroosterd broodje te krijgen (meer keus was er niet)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

06 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is located in a nice area, though it's a bit far from the center. However, there are many places to eat, drink and have fun around, and it's close to the metro and to bus stations. The room was comfortable and the bed and the shower were very good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

AYA ISHIBASHI

25 June 2010 AYA would recommend this property

Liked: One couple from France, stayed 3 nights for £64 per person. We surely recommend this place, which was located in a very good situation just near from a peaceful park, super market, restaurants...etc. The room was clean, big enough for 2 persons, with nice TV, one good shower. They kept it clean everyday. Receptionists are helpful. Great place to stay for this price.

Disliked: AYA left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels