We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Chelsea House Hotel

2 star Hotel | 96, Redcliffe Gardens, London, England SW10 9HH

72.5% Overall Rating

134 out of 165 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/03/2014)

"It was reasonably priced for central London. The location was good with the Underground a short walk away. The room was quiet and although it was classed as a single room, it had a double bed and was a decent size. A…"

Read all Chelsea House Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

* Free luggage storage Free continental breakfast International Payphone Paid Parking (Subject to Availability) *Customers should have their own laptops, available in the lounge area

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Park House
58.42 USD

Hostel 77.6% 17 reviews
YHA London Earls Court
25.97 USD

Hostel 78.4% 126 reviews
The Londonears Hostel
22.72 USD

Hostel 61.0% 80 reviews
Anwar house
36.11 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.1% 192 reviews
37 collingham place
22.53 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 79.2% 50 reviews
The Court Hostel
28.40 USD

Hostel 59.9% 638 reviews
Sara Hotel
40.57 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
West Cromwell Hotel
47.87 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.5%

Overall Rating

134 out of 165 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Chelsea House Hotel'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
69.6%
Value
75.2%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 112 of 142 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was reasonably priced for central London. The location was good with the Underground a short walk away. The room was quiet and although it was classed as a single room, it had a double bed and was a decent size. A basic breakfast was included in the price.

Disliked: There was a leak in the waste pipe at the back of the toilet which spread across the floor. Although I reported this on two separate days, nothing was done about it. I could understand if they could not get a plumber to call immediately but they could have placed a new cloth or container under the leak to contain it. (They obviously were aware of the leak because there was already a cloth there, it was just sodden!) However, it was possible to step carefully over the leak once I was aware it was there! The room was clean apart from this and the staff were fine apart from not dealing with this problem.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 January 2014

Liked: The staff were without exception delightful and helpful.

Disliked: The room was not very clean, and the coffee/tea service had not been properly cleaned before I got the room: the spoon had sticky grime on it. It was also clear that during my stay nothing was cleaned, although the bed was made up and new towels put out. They may have rinsed the cups, but neither they nor the famous spoon was cleaned.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Francisco José Maranchón Sanz

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

16 January 2014 Francisco José would recommend this property

Liked: Limpieza, amabilidad y baño privado a buen precio.

Disliked: Falta variedad en el desayuno.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

12 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked all about the hostell. The situation is perfect. It's clean and the atmosphera is really good. You have bus and undergraund if you want to go to anyway.

Disliked: Nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small, unpretentious and very basic. Everything worked and it was exactly as promised. Iwil lstary here every time I go to London.

Disliked: Breakfast wasn't great and there was a light bulb out i nthe hallway outside my room.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The locaiton is excellent, Chelsea/Earl's Court is a really nice area to stay in.

Disliked: It was a bit run down. The shower looked pretty ancient and stained. There was a large water stain on the ceiling. The mattress was awful. The description said there was a luggage locker; we were told to put our luggage in the breakfast room which didn't feel very secure. While breakfast was included in the price, the breakfast room was full so we didn't bother waiting for a table.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Clémence CANTAN

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2013 Clémence would recommend this property

Liked: Etablissement situé à 5 min à pied de la Station Earl's Court et West Brompton : parfait pour les personnes venant de Gatwick par EasyBus. Très pratique pour se rendre au centre ville en qq minutes. Personnel de jour très gentil et attentionné.

Disliked: Nous sommes arrivés vers 2 h du matin et avions prévenu par 2x l'hôtel de notre arrivée tardive. Malgré tout, la personne qui assure la garde de nuit n'était pas au courant de notre arrivée et n'a pas voulu nous donner notre chambre. Il a fallu insister pour l'obtenir...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quite large double room although the floor was uneven and the cupboard door would not remain closed.

Disliked: Quite noisy on busy road. No lift to 3rd floor.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Renata Pietruszewska

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

27 May 2013 Renata would recommend this property

Liked: Short distance to metro station, parking space.

Disliked: breakfast, only served between 8:30 a.m to 9:00 a.m

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

18 May 2013

Liked: Close to a tube station and other shops. The price.

Disliked: The first room we went into had damp and the shower did not work. The staff did however change the room right away when we reported this.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Roberta Falleiro

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Roberta would recommend this property

Liked: the location is excellent.

Disliked: the guy that works at night is very very rude.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea King

As a family with children

Family Holiday

01 May 2013 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful. It is within a short walk to the tube. The bedding was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. There are a few stairs as you would find in any of accomadation in the inner city of London. The heating was good as the weather was extremely cold. So overall it was good value .

Disliked: Nothing really.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

28 April 2013

Liked: Location is excellent less than a 2 minute walk from Earls Court tube station.

Disliked: The room was very dirty. The carpet was soaking wet and the entire room smelt of damp. The bahroom was not very clean, shower disgustingly dirty and damp patches all over the walls.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good, very central, not far from the tube station and in a very calm and safe area

Disliked: Unfriendly

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

28 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: safe, clean, easily accessible, polite and friendly staff.

Disliked: N/A

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near to the Subway Near to central buses near to bars, supermarkets... friendly stuff good coffee

Disliked: There was no bedside lamp in the room... The room was clean but could be a bit more friendly, for example pictures... Two seperate dubets would be nice... One big dubet was o.k.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really nice! My bed was broken already when we got to the room, but they replaced it with another one. The location was nice (good connections with District Line). The tea in the breakfast was ah-mazing.

Disliked: Well, obviously the facilities weren't too modern or eyecandy-ish, but it's a good value for they money. Wouldn't recommend for couples though, since the double bed was just two separate beds pushed together.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jana Vanhoof

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2013 Jana would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to the centre, and had a good connection to the public transport

Disliked: the breakfast a little too simple. some members of the steff weren't that helpfull. we didnt' get a discount with our international youth hostel card

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2013

Liked: It had a good location, easy to travel around the city from this hostel.

Disliked: The attitude of the staff was terrible. They were not helpful at all. While tea facilities were offered in the room, the milk was off. While there was free wireless you could only access it from the breakfast room and it was very fickle.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alan Deutsch

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2012 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: Situation and no unnecessary formality

Disliked: Unable to 'book' breakfast at 0745 hours - advertised time was 0800 hours

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rita Vaicius Budnikas

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2012 Rita would recommend this property

Liked: i think that the position is very good because you can take the london's buses very easy and you can travel whit it in the centre of London so easy.

Disliked: nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel was very convenient being so close to Earl's Court underground.

Disliked: The property was quite rundown but some painting had been done to the building.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

22 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely old building in excellent location. A good welcome by staff and a room which was above our expectations for the money, basic but very adequate As far as I could see everything was very clean, and I wouldn't hesitate to return.

Disliked: The continental breakfast was very welcome, it was just a pity that there was not sufficient room for all the guests to eat at the same time.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sara Pereira

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

10 June 2012 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: like the rooms, the breakfast, clean

Disliked: nothing importante

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

16 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its in a great area, safe yet easily accessible to the Earl's Court tube station. Although the facilities are basic, it is comfortable. My room had a lovely view on to the garden at the back.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels