We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Metro Hotel

2 star Hotel | 7 Craven Road, Paddington, London, England W2 3PB

67.8% Overall Rating

491 out of 649 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/01/2015)

jade bolger thinks…

"Staff upgraded my room from a double with shared bathroom to a quad ensuite with balcony after the long wait. Very nice room, well worth the money. Breakfast in bed (in the balcony!) is also a nice…"

Read all Metro Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Paddington Apartments
34.49 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Atlas Hostels
22.15 USD

Hostel 73.8% 46 reviews
Andrews House Hotel
52.34 USD

Hotel 66.0% 10 reviews
Best Western Mornington hotel
71.50 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Hyde Park Court Hotel
54.77 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hyde Park Apartments
42.73 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Access Paddington
31.45 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Equity Point London
15.34 USD

Hostel 77.8% 1854 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/02/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/02/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.8%

Overall Rating

491 out of 649 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Metro Hotel'

Atmosphere
63.2%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
58.4%
Cleanliness
60.8%
Staff
70.4%
Value
61.6%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 448 of 555 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and helpful staff. Room was better than we expected. Bathrooms were up-to-date. Breakfast was good and brought to the room: croissants, muffins, biscuits, bread, orange juice... Room also had a kettle + hot chocolate and coffee. Safe in the closet. Overall, a good hotel!

Disliked: Not enough sockets in the room. The only one we found was behind the tv stand and it was hard to reach.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ruben Rizzi

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping

15 March 2011 Ruben would recommend this property

Liked: We were in a double room ensuite: the room and the bathroom were clean, we had tv , coffee/tea maker and fridge, and a large window. Staff very helpful and friendly, breakfast was brought to our room every morning. There is a wifi connection provided, you will have to buy some prepaid passes from BT to use it. We did, and the connection worked well for the whole week: it isn't the fastest and most reliable internet connection you'll use in your lifetime, but it's good enough to check emails and even load some youtube video. The tube and national railway station of Paddington is REALLY close to the hotel (less than 100 mt!) so you will be able to easily reach any destination in London. Also Hyde Park is just behind the corner...not so bad if you want to have a walk.

Disliked: The room was pretty small, but this was not really a problem for us. Keep in mind that in this Hotel is not the perfect place if you want to party and meet people, it's a quiet location and that's why we enjoyed our stay so much! Nothing serious to complain about.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, very close to paddington if you go in the right direction. clean bathroom. breakfast is delevered to the room and it's really good. there's a sink in the room.

Disliked: lots of steep stairs, not good for travellers with lots of luggage. wifi doesn't work for me. room really small.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Szweda

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2011 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great. Close to many tube lines and transport to LHR. Craven road is also not too noisy..

Disliked: The breakfast they offer I'd image would not be acceptable to many as an ideal breakfast.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at Tony's House Hotel. It was lovely. The breakfast was a treat and it's so close to the Underground. The walls are really thin, and the floors creaky so had to bear this in mind when moving about. It was just what we needed.

Disliked: I have nothing bad to say.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

24 February 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: The shared bathrooms was not clean regularly, in the night a big bug got out of the sink pipe, room was very small, stairs where old and dangerous (u could easily slipp down), the bathroom window was not covered with anything,

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Craighill

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2011 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast brought up to the room. Friendly staff. Amazingly close to Paddington Station

Disliked: No lift and we were on the top floor. Lugging heavy bags up rather narrow stairs. Plug sockets in awkward place so not easy to boil the kettle.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

PIOTR SKURCZAK

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2011 PIOTR would recommend this property

Liked: Hey this is Peter and Jane. We stayed there for 1 night only, although pretty much liked the place. It's just 2 minutes from Paddington metro station, has nice views (we were almost at the rooftop :) It was definitely worth the money we paid for.

Disliked: It has 5 floors and no lift there. Fortunately we did not have any luggages, but if you have something heavy expect to carry it the whole way up.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2011

Liked: The location was absolutely fab. It was close to the Underground station and the national rail station.

Disliked: The room was soooooo small. No private room with a private bathroom was offered at all.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value. If you're looking for a low-priced place to sleep in central London this is the place.

Disliked: If you are looking for luxury, this place is not for you.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 January 2011

Liked: Very close to Paddington station

Disliked: IT HAS NO ELEVATOR. The lowest down rooms are two flights up, so you have to carry your bags, which is a big problem if you have a lot of luggage. Also, the staff member who greeted us was nice, but later that evening the woman who was at the desk was so nasty. Very rude and condescending. Also, our room door lock was broken and the woman did not help at all. Would not stay there again because of the woman and lack of elevator.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

julian rowswell

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 January 2011 julian would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Patrick Gertsch

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2011

Liked: the location is great at paddington; we felt safe at all time

Disliked: there were bed bugs in our room, so we were covered all over with bites after our first night; just horrible and disgusting!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Muhammad Hulaimi Ismail

As a family with children

Family Holiday

11 January 2011 Muhammad Hulaimi would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere

Disliked: Heater was not hot enough

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is really value for money and bathroom is very clean

Disliked: breakfast is not that good, not natural and healthy

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms, small but nicely arranged. Nice bathroom. Very close to Hyde park and many pubs and restaurants. Friendly staff. Clean and safe!

Disliked: Breakfast was a bunch of packed food, not terrible, but the same packaged roll and yogurt gets old after the 5th day. Bad directions... they should realize that there are 2 different exits from paddington station which are on different sides of the street, therefore without realizing this and "exiting left" led us on a 45 min hunt for the hotel which was 3 min away. Bummer.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mathieu BASILI

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2011 Mathieu would recommend this property

Liked: It was really close to Hyde Park and not so far from the city center

Disliked: The breakfast and the lack of a place where travelers can meet, likein most of the Hostels

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, decent room for the price.

Disliked: The wifi had extreamly poor signal on the second level.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2011

Liked: Good location Ensuite bathroom Fridge 24h open Many channels on TV Strong-box

Disliked: Not so clean No lift Unhealthy breakfast Staff smoked No free internet connection Didn't accept visa electron No Blankets (only sheets) A bit broken shower Too small strong-box Dirty electric kettle Noisy place (lots traffic near) Double room and double bed were too small for 2 people

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Guilherme Vilela

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

05 January 2011

Liked: Nothing!

Disliked: Nothing!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2011

Liked: Sufficient heating system in the winter.

Disliked: 1.Furnitures, windows & TV are old and broken 2.Rooms are on the 5th floor with no lifts! 3.Lousy breakfast. 4.Very small bed.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2010

Liked: location

Disliked: Too noisy

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SHUYAN HU

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

29 December 2010 SHUYAN would recommend this property

Liked: A+++ location, friendly staffs, very clean bath room. got a christmas present as well...so nice~~~

Disliked: breakfast is not as good as expected to be...breakfast = bread + croissant + (concentrated) orange juice + biscuit.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

27 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location.

Disliked: The light is not good in the room

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: lack of hoy water


See all London hostels
See all London hotels