HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Metro Hotel

2 star Hotel | 7 Craven Road, Paddington, London, England W2 3PB

64.6% Overall Rating

472 out of 622 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

Zoe Elliott thinks…

"Perfect location from paddington and only 6miin walk to red circle metro line for oxford street. Stayed on top floor so had to walk all the stairs. Did feel safe but did have problems locking door as…"

Read all Metro Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Paddington Apartments
50.34 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Atlas Hostels
25.17 USD

Hostel 77.6% 17 reviews
Andrews House Hotel
67.11 USD

Hotel 66.0% 10 reviews
Best Western Mornington hotel
83.05 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Alexandra Hotel
75.92 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hyde Park Court Hotel
37.75 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hyde Park Apartments
38.59 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Dolphin-Inn Hostel
167.79 USD

Hostel 61.5% 50 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
64.6%

Overall Rating

472 out of 622 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Metro Hotel'

Atmosphere
48.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
50.4%
Cleanliness
58.4%
Staff
65.6%
Value
66.4%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 433 of 529 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They are very close to Paddington station but they really should amend their description to account for the two exits for the station. I only knew which way to go because I had a look on google earth first. The staff I encountered seemed nice.

Disliked: The stairs aren't that much of a problem if you only travel light but could be bothersome with suitcases. Despite the location, I didnt really feel it was worth £44 a night, they should do away with the bizarre breakfast and knock a few pounds off the price. I got bitten a couple of times in the night which wasn't a pleasant experience. The shared bathroom that I used wasn't nearly as modern and clean as the one in the photos.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

29 April 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Dirty sheets

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal location in central london. The 2 people that worked there, Tony & Alex were very helpful. They answered all our questions & helped me w/ my bags.

Disliked: Small room & bathroom

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to metro, the room is clean

Disliked: maybe breakfast could have improved

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, good breakfast, friendly staff

Disliked: The view from our window. We had a room in the basement, so our view was to a small yard and we could only a small piece of the sky.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

ANA-MARIA SOPIC

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2011 ANA-MARIA would recommend this property

Liked: The location I liked the most. Well metro links, good neighbourhood, it is about one hour walk to buckingham pallace, hour and half to westminster abbey, big ben, soho... my boyfriend and I walked on foot to all of the important london sightseeing locations. The room is clean with bathroom, mini fridge, tv and kettle. Breakfast is served to your room every morning and it is really big.

Disliked: The room is really, really small and although breakfast is very big, we got the same food every morning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I usually don't rate the hostels that I visit but after my stay at Metro decided to make this one an exception. I stayed in a single private bedroom that, although it was one of the cheapest I found on this site, was the largest of all the hostels I stayed at during my three month trip to Europe. It had a private bathroom, free wifi (ask the property manager for the ssid and password), and a television/coffee maker/mini-fridge in the room. The property manager is a nice guy who happily answered all my questions. The day I left, they let me leave my bags on the property until late that night. Not only do they make breakfast available, but they leave it outside your door in the morning which was very convenient (this was the first hostel I stayed at where I never missed breakfast). The location is about 2 or 3 blocks from the metro, which you can use to get anywhere in London.

Disliked: None. If I was going back to London tomorrow, I would stay here again.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Low price and near to the next tube-station

Disliked: The window in our room could not be fixed to stay open.This should be repaired.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location - very close to station

Disliked: Was not provided with an ensuite room which I had specifically booked

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

theo charalambous

Alone

Business / conference

21 March 2011 theo would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, clean and comfortable room. And the staff were very friendly.

Disliked: n/a

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and helpful staff. Room was better than we expected. Bathrooms were up-to-date. Breakfast was good and brought to the room: croissants, muffins, biscuits, bread, orange juice... Room also had a kettle + hot chocolate and coffee. Safe in the closet. Overall, a good hotel!

Disliked: Not enough sockets in the room. The only one we found was behind the tv stand and it was hard to reach.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ruben Rizzi

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping

15 March 2011 Ruben would recommend this property

Liked: We were in a double room ensuite: the room and the bathroom were clean, we had tv , coffee/tea maker and fridge, and a large window. Staff very helpful and friendly, breakfast was brought to our room every morning. There is a wifi connection provided, you will have to buy some prepaid passes from BT to use it. We did, and the connection worked well for the whole week: it isn't the fastest and most reliable internet connection you'll use in your lifetime, but it's good enough to check emails and even load some youtube video. The tube and national railway station of Paddington is REALLY close to the hotel (less than 100 mt!) so you will be able to easily reach any destination in London. Also Hyde Park is just behind the corner...not so bad if you want to have a walk.

Disliked: The room was pretty small, but this was not really a problem for us. Keep in mind that in this Hotel is not the perfect place if you want to party and meet people, it's a quiet location and that's why we enjoyed our stay so much! Nothing serious to complain about.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, very close to paddington if you go in the right direction. clean bathroom. breakfast is delevered to the room and it's really good. there's a sink in the room.

Disliked: lots of steep stairs, not good for travellers with lots of luggage. wifi doesn't work for me. room really small.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Szweda

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2011 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great. Close to many tube lines and transport to LHR. Craven road is also not too noisy..

Disliked: The breakfast they offer I'd image would not be acceptable to many as an ideal breakfast.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at Tony's House Hotel. It was lovely. The breakfast was a treat and it's so close to the Underground. The walls are really thin, and the floors creaky so had to bear this in mind when moving about. It was just what we needed.

Disliked: I have nothing bad to say.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

24 February 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: The shared bathrooms was not clean regularly, in the night a big bug got out of the sink pipe, room was very small, stairs where old and dangerous (u could easily slipp down), the bathroom window was not covered with anything,

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Craighill

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2011 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast brought up to the room. Friendly staff. Amazingly close to Paddington Station

Disliked: No lift and we were on the top floor. Lugging heavy bags up rather narrow stairs. Plug sockets in awkward place so not easy to boil the kettle.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

PIOTR SKURCZAK

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2011 PIOTR would recommend this property

Liked: Hey this is Peter and Jane. We stayed there for 1 night only, although pretty much liked the place. It's just 2 minutes from Paddington metro station, has nice views (we were almost at the rooftop :) It was definitely worth the money we paid for.

Disliked: It has 5 floors and no lift there. Fortunately we did not have any luggages, but if you have something heavy expect to carry it the whole way up.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2011

Liked: The location was absolutely fab. It was close to the Underground station and the national rail station.

Disliked: The room was soooooo small. No private room with a private bathroom was offered at all.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value. If you're looking for a low-priced place to sleep in central London this is the place.

Disliked: If you are looking for luxury, this place is not for you.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 January 2011

Liked: Very close to Paddington station

Disliked: IT HAS NO ELEVATOR. The lowest down rooms are two flights up, so you have to carry your bags, which is a big problem if you have a lot of luggage. Also, the staff member who greeted us was nice, but later that evening the woman who was at the desk was so nasty. Very rude and condescending. Also, our room door lock was broken and the woman did not help at all. Would not stay there again because of the woman and lack of elevator.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

julian rowswell

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 January 2011 julian would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Patrick Gertsch

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2011

Liked: the location is great at paddington; we felt safe at all time

Disliked: there were bed bugs in our room, so we were covered all over with bites after our first night; just horrible and disgusting!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Muhammad Hulaimi Ismail

As a family with children

Family Holiday

11 January 2011 Muhammad Hulaimi would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere

Disliked: Heater was not hot enough

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is really value for money and bathroom is very clean

Disliked: breakfast is not that good, not natural and healthy


See all London hostels
See all London hotels