HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Metro Hotel

2 star Hotel | 7 Craven Road, Paddington, London, England W2 3PB

70.7% Overall Rating

489 out of 646 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/09/2014)

"The breakfast was nice, and the location was great! You got your towels switched every day and garbage removed."

Read all Metro Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Paddington Apartments
60.45 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Atlas Hostels
24.34 USD

Hostel 73.0% 45 reviews
Andrews House Hotel
64.91 USD

Hotel 66.0% 10 reviews
Best Western Mornington hotel
107.51 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Hyde Park Court Hotel
46.66 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hyde Park Apartments
75.19 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Access Paddington
44.63 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Equity Point London
25.40 USD

Hostel 77.7% 1849 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.7%

Overall Rating

489 out of 646 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Metro Hotel'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
65.6%
Staff
75.2%
Value
65.6%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 446 of 553 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was very good,near the underground and rail station. Also the staff were very helpful and nice.

Disliked: The room space was not very big.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staf, have helped with any question

Disliked: dirty windows - wasn't possible to open it wide, because the bed stands in front of it

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to Paddington station. Comfortable room and quite quiet. Also, the breakfast was very substantial for a free breakfast, and was brought to the room.

Disliked: I found it a bit hard to find, because it has a small entrance.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. The staff is really nice and friendly and the cleanliness is acceptable. Free luggage storage after you check-out.

Disliked: No lifts available. I lived on the top floor and it's hard to bring your luggage upstairs.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ROHAYA ABDUL RASID

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2011 ROHAYA would recommend this property

Liked: When my friend and I arrived, one of the male staff helped me to carry my really heavy backpack to the room on the seventh floor. My friend and I were also very happy with their service, especially when another staff offered us breakfast at night when we told them that we would be checking in at 5:30 the next morning. It made a lot of difference to our morning journey out. We left happy and energized!

Disliked: Our room was on the seventh floor and there was no lift! :( Paddington was among our last few destinations after a three-week travel so we were getting quite tired by then.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

CATIA CAEIRO

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2011 CATIA would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here with my parents for 2 nights. The location couldn't be better!! 2minutes from Paddington tube station and 5minutes from the train station. Lots of shops, cafes, restaurants less than 5minutes away. All the staff was friendly and helpful. On the first day they gave us suggestions of places to visit and to have a meal. The room and the ensuite bathroom were clean and ready upon our arrival. They provided clean towels, shampoo and soap on the first day. We also had a mini-fridge, ketle and TV in the room. The breakfast was delivered in the room and it was quite big and good! Not the continental breakfast but with cakes, croissants, cookies, crackers, juice, yogurt, bread, jam, butter, etc. No one can eat all at once, so we took what we didn't eat with us, which was great to eat througouth the day. Finally, I really enjoyed the fact that we had the front door key, so we can enter whenever we want in the hotel! It's a simple, basic hotel on a budget, but well mantained.

Disliked: The towels were not changed and you could hear the tube, but really slightly, not enough to bother. The stairs can be a problem if you get the upper floor rooms, because there is no lift. Luckily we were just on the first floor, with only one flight of stairs. The view from our window was into a terrace were the staff keeps hotel stuff. However, this were all minor things and I would definitly book here again! It's a really great place to stay in London for a low price!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

29 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, clean and good price. The problem was that I didn't slept on that Hostel cause there was a pump problem. They gave us a room next to the metro hotel that was fine

Disliked: ...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean place. Very Helpful staff.

Disliked: I think the breakfast could have some milk and some fruits.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miroslav Holcman

With my spouse / partner

City break

26 May 2011 Miroslav would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff is very nice and helpful!

Disliked: Maybe a little noise ... but it wasn´t so big problem

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Stairs... Lots!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, paddington station is just 3 min away. Free and yet basic breakfast to be delivered to your room every morning! Nice

Disliked: Too much stairs to be climbed especially to the room at the top floor. No WiFi

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday

06 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of the staff was very good

Disliked: a very old place, a bit noizi

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

05 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, comfortable bed, clean sheets and en-suite bathroom. Was functional and suited my purpose for an overnight stay.

Disliked: Some parts refurbished but not all. Entrance and all stairs old and needing modernising, would not rely bannisters for any support. Window in room did not have a lock and let a draft in. Very small TV with precarious wall connection, when working did show a lot of channels. Only one wall plug in for the whole room, with connecting hub to allow two plugs, so TV, fridge and kettle already fighting for a spot even before you look to charge your phone or computer.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They are very close to Paddington station but they really should amend their description to account for the two exits for the station. I only knew which way to go because I had a look on google earth first. The staff I encountered seemed nice.

Disliked: The stairs aren't that much of a problem if you only travel light but could be bothersome with suitcases. Despite the location, I didnt really feel it was worth £44 a night, they should do away with the bizarre breakfast and knock a few pounds off the price. I got bitten a couple of times in the night which wasn't a pleasant experience. The shared bathroom that I used wasn't nearly as modern and clean as the one in the photos.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

29 April 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Dirty sheets

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal location in central london. The 2 people that worked there, Tony & Alex were very helpful. They answered all our questions & helped me w/ my bags.

Disliked: Small room & bathroom

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to metro, the room is clean

Disliked: maybe breakfast could have improved

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, good breakfast, friendly staff

Disliked: The view from our window. We had a room in the basement, so our view was to a small yard and we could only a small piece of the sky.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

ANA-MARIA SOPIC

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2011 ANA-MARIA would recommend this property

Liked: The location I liked the most. Well metro links, good neighbourhood, it is about one hour walk to buckingham pallace, hour and half to westminster abbey, big ben, soho... my boyfriend and I walked on foot to all of the important london sightseeing locations. The room is clean with bathroom, mini fridge, tv and kettle. Breakfast is served to your room every morning and it is really big.

Disliked: The room is really, really small and although breakfast is very big, we got the same food every morning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I usually don't rate the hostels that I visit but after my stay at Metro decided to make this one an exception. I stayed in a single private bedroom that, although it was one of the cheapest I found on this site, was the largest of all the hostels I stayed at during my three month trip to Europe. It had a private bathroom, free wifi (ask the property manager for the ssid and password), and a television/coffee maker/mini-fridge in the room. The property manager is a nice guy who happily answered all my questions. The day I left, they let me leave my bags on the property until late that night. Not only do they make breakfast available, but they leave it outside your door in the morning which was very convenient (this was the first hostel I stayed at where I never missed breakfast). The location is about 2 or 3 blocks from the metro, which you can use to get anywhere in London.

Disliked: None. If I was going back to London tomorrow, I would stay here again.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Low price and near to the next tube-station

Disliked: The window in our room could not be fixed to stay open.This should be repaired.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location - very close to station

Disliked: Was not provided with an ensuite room which I had specifically booked

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

theo charalambous

Alone

Business / conference

21 March 2011 theo would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, clean and comfortable room. And the staff were very friendly.

Disliked: n/a

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and helpful staff. Room was better than we expected. Bathrooms were up-to-date. Breakfast was good and brought to the room: croissants, muffins, biscuits, bread, orange juice... Room also had a kettle + hot chocolate and coffee. Safe in the closet. Overall, a good hotel!

Disliked: Not enough sockets in the room. The only one we found was behind the tv stand and it was hard to reach.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ruben Rizzi

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping

15 March 2011 Ruben would recommend this property

Liked: We were in a double room ensuite: the room and the bathroom were clean, we had tv , coffee/tea maker and fridge, and a large window. Staff very helpful and friendly, breakfast was brought to our room every morning. There is a wifi connection provided, you will have to buy some prepaid passes from BT to use it. We did, and the connection worked well for the whole week: it isn't the fastest and most reliable internet connection you'll use in your lifetime, but it's good enough to check emails and even load some youtube video. The tube and national railway station of Paddington is REALLY close to the hotel (less than 100 mt!) so you will be able to easily reach any destination in London. Also Hyde Park is just behind the corner...not so bad if you want to have a walk.

Disliked: The room was pretty small, but this was not really a problem for us. Keep in mind that in this Hotel is not the perfect place if you want to party and meet people, it's a quiet location and that's why we enjoyed our stay so much! Nothing serious to complain about.

The property's response is...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels