HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Metro Hotel

2 star Hotel | 7 Craven Road, Paddington, London, England W2 3PB

64.6% Overall Rating

472 out of 622 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

Zoe Elliott thinks…

"Perfect location from paddington and only 6miin walk to red circle metro line for oxford street. Stayed on top floor so had to walk all the stairs. Did feel safe but did have problems locking door as…"

Read all Metro Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Paddington Apartments
50.34 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Atlas Hostels
25.17 USD

Hostel 77.6% 17 reviews
Andrews House Hotel
67.11 USD

Hotel 66.0% 10 reviews
Best Western Mornington hotel
83.05 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Alexandra Hotel
75.92 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hyde Park Court Hotel
44.04 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hyde Park Apartments
38.59 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Dolphin-Inn Hostel
167.79 USD

Hostel 61.5% 50 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
64.6%

Overall Rating

472 out of 622 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Metro Hotel'

Atmosphere
48.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
50.4%
Cleanliness
58.4%
Staff
65.6%
Value
66.4%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 433 of 529 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, friendly staff. Expected what you got for in terms of the price.

Disliked: Not entirely spotless but no big problems.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Lisa Meier

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2011 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: - kind stuff - very central - you can leave the luggage

Disliked: - small rooms but very central - sometimes no hot water on the shower - no shower in room - breakfast was not good

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff is very helpfull.

Disliked: The room was tiny.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, next to the underground, perfect.

Disliked: There was no bathroom in the room and ot was supposed to be one.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Matthew Muscat

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: The location was awesome. Friendly staff. Wifi. Reception was very helpful.

Disliked: The only problem was the room room size. It was only a few inches larger than the bed. Itt's a problem if you have a large frame.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice stay :)

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011

Liked: the location

Disliked: the room was really small with no space not even to the luggage!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jessica Wedge

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

06 July 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, safe, tv, had hot water

Disliked: Room 12 did not come with a bar fridge and wifi cut out. Shared bathroom was good but in need of upgrade.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location: less than a minute's walk from Paddington station, great place to base yourself if you're travelling a lot via overground trains or the Tube. The room was nice and clean, small but has enough room for luggage etc. Breakfast was provided and brought to the room which was great. It consisted of juice, bread roll, yoghurt and a few other snacks that I took to eat later in the day. Bathroom was nice and clean.

Disliked: My room was facing the street so it was a bit noisy during the night, but nothing earplugs can't handle. There's no lift so getting heavy luggage up and down can be difficult.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

28 June 2011

Liked: In Central London, right near Paddington station, so great access to everything. Breakfast was appreciated and has been mentioned, brought to the door every morning. Staff was helpful when we arrived helping us to bring our luggage up to the top floor (no elevator/lift in facility so be prepared to climb!)

Disliked: Maintenance of this facility clearly is not a priority with the owners. Flooring and bedding needs to be replaced. Pulled out an extra blanket out of the storage space and it was clear it had not been washed in a very, very long time.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find and good staff support.

Disliked: Room was a triple ensuite, expected 3 twins but got 1 twin and 1 double instead. Also, room much too cramped for 3 people with luggage.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SEDA BASAR

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2011 SEDA would recommend this property

Liked: bathroom was so clean though it is sharing bathroom. rooms are not so big but still clean and usable. the staff were so helpful and friendly. location was great as much as breakfast. I can recommend to everyone

Disliked: Room wasnt big enough

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was very good,near the underground and rail station. Also the staff were very helpful and nice.

Disliked: The room space was not very big.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staf, have helped with any question

Disliked: dirty windows - wasn't possible to open it wide, because the bed stands in front of it

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to Paddington station. Comfortable room and quite quiet. Also, the breakfast was very substantial for a free breakfast, and was brought to the room.

Disliked: I found it a bit hard to find, because it has a small entrance.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. The staff is really nice and friendly and the cleanliness is acceptable. Free luggage storage after you check-out.

Disliked: No lifts available. I lived on the top floor and it's hard to bring your luggage upstairs.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ROHAYA ABDUL RASID

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2011 ROHAYA would recommend this property

Liked: When my friend and I arrived, one of the male staff helped me to carry my really heavy backpack to the room on the seventh floor. My friend and I were also very happy with their service, especially when another staff offered us breakfast at night when we told them that we would be checking in at 5:30 the next morning. It made a lot of difference to our morning journey out. We left happy and energized!

Disliked: Our room was on the seventh floor and there was no lift! :( Paddington was among our last few destinations after a three-week travel so we were getting quite tired by then.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

CATIA CAEIRO

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2011 CATIA would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here with my parents for 2 nights. The location couldn't be better!! 2minutes from Paddington tube station and 5minutes from the train station. Lots of shops, cafes, restaurants less than 5minutes away. All the staff was friendly and helpful. On the first day they gave us suggestions of places to visit and to have a meal. The room and the ensuite bathroom were clean and ready upon our arrival. They provided clean towels, shampoo and soap on the first day. We also had a mini-fridge, ketle and TV in the room. The breakfast was delivered in the room and it was quite big and good! Not the continental breakfast but with cakes, croissants, cookies, crackers, juice, yogurt, bread, jam, butter, etc. No one can eat all at once, so we took what we didn't eat with us, which was great to eat througouth the day. Finally, I really enjoyed the fact that we had the front door key, so we can enter whenever we want in the hotel! It's a simple, basic hotel on a budget, but well mantained.

Disliked: The towels were not changed and you could hear the tube, but really slightly, not enough to bother. The stairs can be a problem if you get the upper floor rooms, because there is no lift. Luckily we were just on the first floor, with only one flight of stairs. The view from our window was into a terrace were the staff keeps hotel stuff. However, this were all minor things and I would definitly book here again! It's a really great place to stay in London for a low price!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

29 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, clean and good price. The problem was that I didn't slept on that Hostel cause there was a pump problem. They gave us a room next to the metro hotel that was fine

Disliked: ...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean place. Very Helpful staff.

Disliked: I think the breakfast could have some milk and some fruits.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miroslav Holcman

With my spouse / partner

City break

26 May 2011 Miroslav would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff is very nice and helpful!

Disliked: Maybe a little noise ... but it wasn´t so big problem

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Stairs... Lots!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, paddington station is just 3 min away. Free and yet basic breakfast to be delivered to your room every morning! Nice

Disliked: Too much stairs to be climbed especially to the room at the top floor. No WiFi

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday

06 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of the staff was very good

Disliked: a very old place, a bit noizi

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

05 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, comfortable bed, clean sheets and en-suite bathroom. Was functional and suited my purpose for an overnight stay.

Disliked: Some parts refurbished but not all. Entrance and all stairs old and needing modernising, would not rely bannisters for any support. Window in room did not have a lock and let a draft in. Very small TV with precarious wall connection, when working did show a lot of channels. Only one wall plug in for the whole room, with connecting hub to allow two plugs, so TV, fridge and kettle already fighting for a spot even before you look to charge your phone or computer.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels