We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Metro Hotel

2 star Hotel | 7 Craven Road, Paddington, London, England W2 3PB

70.7% Overall Rating

489 out of 646 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/09/2014)

"The breakfast was nice, and the location was great! You got your towels switched every day and garbage removed."

Read all Metro Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Paddington Apartments
44.63 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Atlas Hostels
24.34 USD

Hostel 73.8% 46 reviews
Andrews House Hotel
64.91 USD

Hotel 66.0% 10 reviews
Best Western Mornington hotel
79.52 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Hyde Park Court Hotel
36.51 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hyde Park Apartments
55.99 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Access Paddington
46.66 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Equity Point London
16.20 USD

Hostel 78.1% 1852 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.7%

Overall Rating

489 out of 646 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Metro Hotel'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
65.6%
Staff
75.2%
Value
65.6%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 446 of 553 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

04 October 2011

Liked: The weather was good.

Disliked: We did not feel secure. The room was very small, loose electric wires behind the bed, shared bathroom was often busy, the breakfast ray cosnsisted of processed packeted foods.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

27 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is literally a 2 minute walk from Paddington which is great. The room was clean, the shower hot and the bed comfy - all that you can really hope for in a budget hotel.

Disliked: Really narrow stairs so is quite an effort getting your luggage up and down. The rooms are also pretty small - but you get what you pay for. Don't book here if you're planning on staying in your room for a great length of time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

FABIAN MERCADO

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2011 FABIAN would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, very kindly host that helped us with every concern we had, and a really good breakfast. In the room there is a coffee maker, fridge, and TV. I would stay there again another time.

Disliked: No lift.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and close to Paddington Stn.

Disliked: A bit dirty in the rooms and bathrooms. But mostly just because of age.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

20 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was visiting my friends in London during the month of September and I booked a double bed ensuite at the Metro Hotel. Let me start by saying that the location is great, Only 5 minutes away from London Paddington, a very safe area for any experience travellers or first timers in London. London paddington connects you to any cross-country trains and since I was coming from Wales this as perfect for me. Paddington also connects you with the tube [Bakerloo line] (subway system in London). The overall cleanness of the room and bathroom was very good. The rooms are small but quite sufficient for the basics. If you are planning to spend a lot of time in your room, you might as well try a different hotel with more spacious rooms. The staff was very friendly and helpful, so not complaints at all. My departure plans were at 4:30am so the night before one of the members of the staff brought me breakfast which i thought it was very nice of them. The breakfast was highly appreciated specially by an empty stomach in the early morning. (a juice box, crackers, sweet bread filled with chocolate, a bread roll, butter, jam, and a yogurt) There is a Television set in the room and a small refrigerator.

Disliked: This hotel doesn't have a lift (elevator) so if your room is on the top floor, you are going to be exhausted by the time you reach your room. specially if you are bringing heavy suitcases with you.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and cost

Disliked: nothing particular

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Fernando Paredes

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

19 September 2011 Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: Todo muy bueno. De acuerdo a lo contratado. El personal muy amable y con muy buena predisposicion.

Disliked: No tuve ninguna queja al respecto.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

18 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Staff Clean accommodations everything you want in a place to sleep!

Disliked: small rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

17 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a great location next to the metro, train station, and Hyde Park. The continental breakfasts were huge. The bathroom was small but modern and clean. The proprietor was very friendly and helpful with places to eat and give directions. There were 4 of us and we stayed 5 nights. In high priced London I believe this was great value.

Disliked: There was nothing that I disliked about the property but for some you may not like the fact that there is no elevator, no air conditioning and at times you can hear the faint rumble of the metro arriving.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Bilychenko

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2011 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location!

Disliked: No free WiFi

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, close paddington st. Felt safe. Breakfast served at your room.

Disliked: Breakfast included, could have been a little "healthier". Loads of sweet things. A bit noisy from the streets and if you live at the top its 89 steps to get there!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The small balcony for each room is cute, the room is really small but I was just on my own so it didn't matter. The bathrooms were in good order and there was a wash basin and mirror in your room as well. The reception guy was very helpful, and the free breakfast appreciated! Not a luxurious stay but it has all the essentials, it's safe and has free WIFI.

Disliked: Not much at all- if I had to be picky then the beds are a little uncomfortable but i'm happier that they are clean! There are lots of levels so the stairs are a bit painful when you first go up with your luggage. It's a quiet place so not the best if you want to meet people. Overall, very happy with my stay.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 August 2011

Liked: It was conveniently close to Paddington Station and free wifi.

Disliked: They booked me into a sister hotel (Tony's House Hotel) and failed to notify me until after I had arrived at the Metro Hotel in the late evening, the directions listed on their site are not accurate, and the bath and shower were shared rooms, not private. The info they list is very misleading regarding that. The facilities are also extremely tiny, the room was not exactly what I'd call clean and cutlery for their breakfast seemed to be in short supply as I received none whatsoever. The doors did not exactly inspire confidence and looked as if one good kick would knock them in.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, friendly staff. Expected what you got for in terms of the price.

Disliked: Not entirely spotless but no big problems.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Lisa Meier

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2011 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: - kind stuff - very central - you can leave the luggage

Disliked: - small rooms but very central - sometimes no hot water on the shower - no shower in room - breakfast was not good

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff is very helpfull.

Disliked: The room was tiny.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, next to the underground, perfect.

Disliked: There was no bathroom in the room and ot was supposed to be one.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Matthew Muscat

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: The location was awesome. Friendly staff. Wifi. Reception was very helpful.

Disliked: The only problem was the room room size. It was only a few inches larger than the bed. Itt's a problem if you have a large frame.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice stay :)

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011

Liked: the location

Disliked: the room was really small with no space not even to the luggage!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jessica Wedge

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

06 July 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, safe, tv, had hot water

Disliked: Room 12 did not come with a bar fridge and wifi cut out. Shared bathroom was good but in need of upgrade.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location: less than a minute's walk from Paddington station, great place to base yourself if you're travelling a lot via overground trains or the Tube. The room was nice and clean, small but has enough room for luggage etc. Breakfast was provided and brought to the room which was great. It consisted of juice, bread roll, yoghurt and a few other snacks that I took to eat later in the day. Bathroom was nice and clean.

Disliked: My room was facing the street so it was a bit noisy during the night, but nothing earplugs can't handle. There's no lift so getting heavy luggage up and down can be difficult.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

28 June 2011

Liked: In Central London, right near Paddington station, so great access to everything. Breakfast was appreciated and has been mentioned, brought to the door every morning. Staff was helpful when we arrived helping us to bring our luggage up to the top floor (no elevator/lift in facility so be prepared to climb!)

Disliked: Maintenance of this facility clearly is not a priority with the owners. Flooring and bedding needs to be replaced. Pulled out an extra blanket out of the storage space and it was clear it had not been washed in a very, very long time.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find and good staff support.

Disliked: Room was a triple ensuite, expected 3 twins but got 1 twin and 1 double instead. Also, room much too cramped for 3 people with luggage.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SEDA BASAR

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2011 SEDA would recommend this property

Liked: bathroom was so clean though it is sharing bathroom. rooms are not so big but still clean and usable. the staff were so helpful and friendly. location was great as much as breakfast. I can recommend to everyone

Disliked: Room wasnt big enough


See all London hostels
See all London hotels