HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Metro Hotel

2 star Hotel | 7 Craven Road, Paddington, London, England W2 3PB

69.6% Overall Rating

485 out of 639 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/05/2014)

viktoria kotliarsky thinks…

"we had a great time staying at the hotel. the staff is very friendly. and the location is great!!! very close to paddington station and hide park."

Read all Metro Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Paddington Apartments
54.74 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Atlas Hostels
25.46 USD

Hostel 72.5% 31 reviews
Andrews House Hotel
67.33 USD

Hotel 66.0% 10 reviews
Best Western Mornington hotel
110.32 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Hyde Park Court Hotel
44.55 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hyde Park Apartments
50.36 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Access Paddington
46.67 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Equity Point London
32.08 USD

Hostel 77.3% 1837 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.6%

Overall Rating

485 out of 639 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Metro Hotel'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
73.6%
Value
68.8%
Safety
71.2%
Refine your results Showing 444 of 547 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to train station, it was quiet and room was nice: it was small but had everything needed and had a kettle, tea, tv, fridge and sink and mirror so very happy wit stay. Also breakfast in bed was great too!

Disliked: luggage storage: there was none

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and cheap

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly, small room but equipped with a good mini fridge, sink, tv, electric kettle and tea. Continental breakfast brought to you room in the morning. Very good location.

Disliked: Not the cleanest place but good enough. The tube passes directly underground so a bit loud at times but not too bothersome.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location close to tube station, friendly staff, good value for money

Disliked: Shared bathroom with floor

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

ingvild hansen

As a family with children

City break

03 January 2012

Liked: The staff!

Disliked: It is not a safe place to stay! Should the hotel start burning , it will be a tradedy to those inside.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Fabio Gutterres

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2012 Fabio would recommend this property

Liked: Close to subway (tube) station. Close to bars, restaurants, souvenirs stores, grocery stores. TV (local channels only); Mini frige. Hot water and heater for the room (good one). Quite and peaceful place.

Disliked: Stairs… lots of stairs. I stayed on the top floor… No elevator at all. But this fits with the low maintenance cost of the place, its part of the game. Small room: not a big problem for me and my wife, as we’re not tall, but still small. XS shower area I’m not tall and find my self hitting the wall and/or the door some times. Wifi signal at the top floor is not so strong and sometimes it disappears. Bars around it are not open till late, it usually closes at 10:30pm.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Brendan Atkin

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 December 2011 Brendan would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, helpful staff, only stayed for the 1 night but will definitely stay there again, good value for money!

Disliked: Brendan left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniele Piva

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2011 Daniele would recommend this property

Liked: I liked very much the friendliness of Tony (the hotel's owner), the breakfast was good and generous (tea or dried coffee, bread, cheese, butter, jam, croissants, muffins, biscuits, crackers and orange juice) and the location was great, it takes just a few minutes by metro from the major points of interest of the city.

Disliked: There are many stairs and no lift.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2011

Liked: The only redeeming feature this place has to offer is the location and the suroundings.

Disliked: The hotel claims to have "refurbished" its rooms "to modern standards", but the room we were in is far from being up to modern standards. The whole place had a feel of being pieced together with odds and ends. The signs claimed the doors to be "fire doors", but were actualy just cheap plywood which couldn´t close by itself due to the bed catching it as the room was so small. The staff was not quite as "personalized and friendly" as they´d like to make themselves seem. For starters, we asked for our breakfast to be "served" to the room around 8.30, but it didn´t come until ca 10.00 (all 3 mornings which we spent there). The reception was at several, long intervals unattended. Often the staff would be smoking through open windows, letting the smoke drift into the hotel and into our room. During the night the receptionist was either speaking on the phone with friends, drinking beer/vodka with friends or watching football loudly. The fire doors were left open (counter to what fire doors should be if they´re to be useful at all), and when we asked to close them due to the noise coming from the reception we were greated with sarcasm.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sara Martina

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2011 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: the property was nice and in a good position, near bus and underground strìations. the staff was very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: the room was a little bit small, but nice.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

28 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As of our arrival whereas we were tired, the person of the reception tried to convince us to follow it for another hotel which we nevertheless visited. The hotel was in a pitiful state, it was called continental hotel with a few meters from there.

Disliked: Very dirty. No hygiene. crasseux wash-hand basin. Dust by all.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Maarten Joris

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2011 Maarten would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect located on the underground station, friendly staf. You get wat you get if you travel budjet, this was OK

Disliked: It was all a little bit small in size but again, that location for that price... That's what you get!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ana Karic

With my spouse / partner

City break

21 November 2011 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent and the room was very nice, although it was small

Disliked: No elevator and it was very noisy

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 November 2011

Liked: The price and location. Room and bathroom cleaned, tea machine in the room and good breakfast.

Disliked: The room and the bathroom needs some remodelling work, both seems really degradated.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

CHING NI WEE

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2011 CHING NI would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location

Disliked: There wasnt much space for a triple room , other than that, everything was fine! Staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was easy to locate n near to the Paddington station

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

10 November 2011

Liked: Staff was ok, otherwise nothing in particular.

Disliked: Bathroom, very small rooms, bad smell, narrow staircase.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lucas Hernan Fernandez

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Shopping

31 October 2011 Lucas Hernan would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place! The breakfast was awesome! The guy at the front desk was very gentile and helpful. You get what you pay for.

Disliked: We were staying in the 3rd floor and the Wi-Fi signal was very poor there. There is no elevator.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

26 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is ok.

Disliked: Small room but lower price.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice room, no problems. what i hoped for.

Disliked: Could do with a lick of paint

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Simone Miotto

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2011 Simone would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really great: in 2 min by walk you are in paddington station

Disliked: The double room was very little and it was quite expensive considering that there was the shared bathroom (upstairs). There was only a tent to close the window so the light in the morning could easily entered.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

14 October 2011

Liked: eh, it was okay

Disliked: the room was SUPER small and didn't feel entirely clean. It is funny to think there are a couple things you could do to make a place just that much nicer, but owners don't do it. It just felt expensive for what we got

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION!

Disliked: Small amount of Space

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

08 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: i was expecting a bit bigger rooms...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

04 October 2011

Liked: The weather was good.

Disliked: We did not feel secure. The room was very small, loose electric wires behind the bed, shared bathroom was often busy, the breakfast ray cosnsisted of processed packeted foods.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

27 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is literally a 2 minute walk from Paddington which is great. The room was clean, the shower hot and the bed comfy - all that you can really hope for in a budget hotel.

Disliked: Really narrow stairs so is quite an effort getting your luggage up and down. The rooms are also pretty small - but you get what you pay for. Don't book here if you're planning on staying in your room for a great length of time.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels