HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Metro Hotel

2 star Hotel | 7 Craven Road, Paddington, London, England W2 3PB

64.6% Overall Rating

472 out of 622 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

Zoe Elliott thinks…

"Perfect location from paddington and only 6miin walk to red circle metro line for oxford street. Stayed on top floor so had to walk all the stairs. Did feel safe but did have problems locking door as…"

Read all Metro Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Paddington Apartments
50.34 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Atlas Hostels
25.17 USD

Hostel 77.6% 17 reviews
Andrews House Hotel
67.11 USD

Hotel 66.0% 10 reviews
Best Western Mornington hotel
83.05 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Alexandra Hotel
75.92 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hyde Park Court Hotel
37.75 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hyde Park Apartments
38.59 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Dolphin-Inn Hostel
167.79 USD

Hostel 61.5% 50 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
64.6%

Overall Rating

472 out of 622 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Metro Hotel'

Atmosphere
48.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
50.4%
Cleanliness
58.4%
Staff
65.6%
Value
66.4%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 433 of 529 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Maarten Joris

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2011 Maarten would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect located on the underground station, friendly staf. You get wat you get if you travel budjet, this was OK

Disliked: It was all a little bit small in size but again, that location for that price... That's what you get!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ana Karic

With my spouse / partner

City break

21 November 2011 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent and the room was very nice, although it was small

Disliked: No elevator and it was very noisy

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 November 2011

Liked: The price and location. Room and bathroom cleaned, tea machine in the room and good breakfast.

Disliked: The room and the bathroom needs some remodelling work, both seems really degradated.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

CHING NI WEE

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2011 CHING NI would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location

Disliked: There wasnt much space for a triple room , other than that, everything was fine! Staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was easy to locate n near to the Paddington station

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

10 November 2011

Liked: Staff was ok, otherwise nothing in particular.

Disliked: Bathroom, very small rooms, bad smell, narrow staircase.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lucas Hernan Fernandez

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Shopping

31 October 2011 Lucas Hernan would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place! The breakfast was awesome! The guy at the front desk was very gentile and helpful. You get what you pay for.

Disliked: We were staying in the 3rd floor and the Wi-Fi signal was very poor there. There is no elevator.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

26 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is ok.

Disliked: Small room but lower price.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice room, no problems. what i hoped for.

Disliked: Could do with a lick of paint

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Simone Miotto

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2011 Simone would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really great: in 2 min by walk you are in paddington station

Disliked: The double room was very little and it was quite expensive considering that there was the shared bathroom (upstairs). There was only a tent to close the window so the light in the morning could easily entered.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

14 October 2011

Liked: eh, it was okay

Disliked: the room was SUPER small and didn't feel entirely clean. It is funny to think there are a couple things you could do to make a place just that much nicer, but owners don't do it. It just felt expensive for what we got

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION!

Disliked: Small amount of Space

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

08 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: i was expecting a bit bigger rooms...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

04 October 2011

Liked: The weather was good.

Disliked: We did not feel secure. The room was very small, loose electric wires behind the bed, shared bathroom was often busy, the breakfast ray cosnsisted of processed packeted foods.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

27 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is literally a 2 minute walk from Paddington which is great. The room was clean, the shower hot and the bed comfy - all that you can really hope for in a budget hotel.

Disliked: Really narrow stairs so is quite an effort getting your luggage up and down. The rooms are also pretty small - but you get what you pay for. Don't book here if you're planning on staying in your room for a great length of time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

FABIAN MERCADO

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2011 FABIAN would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, very kindly host that helped us with every concern we had, and a really good breakfast. In the room there is a coffee maker, fridge, and TV. I would stay there again another time.

Disliked: No lift.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and close to Paddington Stn.

Disliked: A bit dirty in the rooms and bathrooms. But mostly just because of age.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

20 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was visiting my friends in London during the month of September and I booked a double bed ensuite at the Metro Hotel. Let me start by saying that the location is great, Only 5 minutes away from London Paddington, a very safe area for any experience travellers or first timers in London. London paddington connects you to any cross-country trains and since I was coming from Wales this as perfect for me. Paddington also connects you with the tube [Bakerloo line] (subway system in London). The overall cleanness of the room and bathroom was very good. The rooms are small but quite sufficient for the basics. If you are planning to spend a lot of time in your room, you might as well try a different hotel with more spacious rooms. The staff was very friendly and helpful, so not complaints at all. My departure plans were at 4:30am so the night before one of the members of the staff brought me breakfast which i thought it was very nice of them. The breakfast was highly appreciated specially by an empty stomach in the early morning. (a juice box, crackers, sweet bread filled with chocolate, a bread roll, butter, jam, and a yogurt) There is a Television set in the room and a small refrigerator.

Disliked: This hotel doesn't have a lift (elevator) so if your room is on the top floor, you are going to be exhausted by the time you reach your room. specially if you are bringing heavy suitcases with you.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and cost

Disliked: nothing particular

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Fernando Paredes

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

19 September 2011 Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: Todo muy bueno. De acuerdo a lo contratado. El personal muy amable y con muy buena predisposicion.

Disliked: No tuve ninguna queja al respecto.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

18 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Staff Clean accommodations everything you want in a place to sleep!

Disliked: small rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

17 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a great location next to the metro, train station, and Hyde Park. The continental breakfasts were huge. The bathroom was small but modern and clean. The proprietor was very friendly and helpful with places to eat and give directions. There were 4 of us and we stayed 5 nights. In high priced London I believe this was great value.

Disliked: There was nothing that I disliked about the property but for some you may not like the fact that there is no elevator, no air conditioning and at times you can hear the faint rumble of the metro arriving.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Bilychenko

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2011 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location!

Disliked: No free WiFi

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, close paddington st. Felt safe. Breakfast served at your room.

Disliked: Breakfast included, could have been a little "healthier". Loads of sweet things. A bit noisy from the streets and if you live at the top its 89 steps to get there!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The small balcony for each room is cute, the room is really small but I was just on my own so it didn't matter. The bathrooms were in good order and there was a wash basin and mirror in your room as well. The reception guy was very helpful, and the free breakfast appreciated! Not a luxurious stay but it has all the essentials, it's safe and has free WIFI.

Disliked: Not much at all- if I had to be picky then the beds are a little uncomfortable but i'm happier that they are clean! There are lots of levels so the stairs are a bit painful when you first go up with your luggage. It's a quiet place so not the best if you want to meet people. Overall, very happy with my stay.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 August 2011

Liked: It was conveniently close to Paddington Station and free wifi.

Disliked: They booked me into a sister hotel (Tony's House Hotel) and failed to notify me until after I had arrived at the Metro Hotel in the late evening, the directions listed on their site are not accurate, and the bath and shower were shared rooms, not private. The info they list is very misleading regarding that. The facilities are also extremely tiny, the room was not exactly what I'd call clean and cutlery for their breakfast seemed to be in short supply as I received none whatsoever. The doors did not exactly inspire confidence and looked as if one good kick would knock them in.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels