We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Leeds hostels

Reviews of Discovery Inn

2 star Hotel | Bishopgate St, Leeds, England LS1 5DY

81.9% Overall Rating

136 out of 151 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/08/2014)

David McNally thinks…

"Great location right next to the train station and only a short walk from the National Express station. The room, and the en suite were both very clean, surprisingly spacious and well presented and…"

Read all Discovery Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.09

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Due to the refurbishment and installation of a new hotel lift there will be no lift available on three floors. The work will take place from Monday 27 May 2013 to 15 September 2013. Discounted car parking with nearby carpark Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address. You’ll need to send your card security code of the card you used when booking (this is the last 3 digits number on the back of your card) in order to fully secure your booking. Failure to do so may result in losing your reservation Bookings need to be cancelled before 6pm the day before arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Leeds?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Leeds

Russell Scott Backpakers
19.47 USD

Hostel 64.8% 9 reviews
Oak Villa Hotel
37.33 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.4% 11 reviews
The Boundary Hotel
24.34 USD

Hotel 3 star 70.3% 64 reviews
ascot grange hotel
32.46 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.9%

Overall Rating

136 out of 151 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Discovery Inn'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
86.4%
Value
81.6%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 127 of 142 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Refat Yasmeen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

24 January 2011 Refat would recommend this property

Liked: The location was ideal for public trasport

Disliked: The continental breakfast was expensive and not much variety

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well located. Clean. Comfortable.

Disliked: No free internet. Near some pubs so noisy at night sometime.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jurijs Ivanovs

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 November 2010 Jurijs would recommend this property

Liked: This property was really good. The room was clean and nice. if i will go to Leeds agen, i will stay there.

Disliked: Nothing!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

07 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good central location

Disliked: the room decoration is very old and in need of a refurb however it is clean

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aleksandra Skowronska

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

01 November 2010 Aleksandra would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: slim walls

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

11 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the private triple roooms as it was better for us been in large groups

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2010

Liked: location, good room size

Disliked: too expensive

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

10 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, good price

Disliked: breakfast

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

25 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very good hostel: clean, spacious, private and central. I would certainly recommend it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

07 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good price,clean, good location

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

04 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bed and bathroom like a little suite, clean, with a good view of city landscape from the sixth floor. Great central location but quiet.

Disliked: No wifi!! and having to negotiate 14 stairs and three or four doors after the lift ended on the 5th floor...and a mediocre buffet breakfast. Somebody set the fire alarm off after midnight one night.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

29 August 2010

Liked: Good location- close to train station

Disliked: After checking in in the morning and then heading off to Leeds Festival for the day, we returned at 1am hoping to just collect our baggage and head stright to our rooms. However, a mistake had been made and we had also been checked out when we had checked in - meaning that other people were asleep in what should have been our rooms. I understand that human errors occur, however the man that dealt with this at reception was not in the least bit apologetic and we spent the next half hour being given keys to new rooms only to find they were occupied too and heading back to reception (we had to return 3 times altogether!). He also served other customers whilst we were waiting at recption to sort our initial query out.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

andy duggan

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 August 2010 andy would recommend this property

Liked: Location is ideal, right in the centre and close to station.Clean, comfortable, like the electronic keys issued to all in room

Disliked: Shower didn't work, but had bath instead.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

13 August 2010

Liked: Very close to the station.

Disliked: No wifi, quite unbelievable for a hotel chain in a big city and meant I had to spend a lot of time trecking back and forth to internet cafes while house hunting.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Luke Cowap

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

12 August 2010 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: good inner city location

Disliked: old fashioned very basic

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Bellis

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 July 2010 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Great locality very close to train station and city centre

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean, the bathroom roomy, free towels and luggage room.

Disliked: Noisy street behind the window

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roydon & Lyn McLeod

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

17 July 2010 Roydon & Lyn would recommend this property

Liked: Central location and easy walking distance to places of interest, bus and rail station.

Disliked: Quite a lot of noise at night from traffic, pubs and clubs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

29 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Appearance of rooms

Disliked: N/A

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its OK, just for sleeping.For the price its totally cool.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Amanda Goodfellow

02 June 2010 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money, very close to train station and city centre, good facilities for price paid, the staff were extremely helpful, friendly and welcoming. Very pleased with my stay and I would stay there again :D

Disliked: Amanda left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's in very close proximity to the main shopping area in the town. The staff were very friendly in all encounters and it's very reasonably priced. Out of the two rooms I booked, one had enough towels for one person and the other was lacking towels completely.Also the one room lacked a hair-drier which was slightly inconveniencing. The key cards used to unlock the doors were notoriously unreliable and had to be return to reception to fixed a couple of times over the one night.All this hotel is probably one of the best around for a simple weekend stay on a student budget.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tara Dixon

31 May 2010 Tara would recommend this property

Liked: It was conveniently located and easy to find from Leeds train station. The gentleman behind reception that checked us both in and out was an absolute pleasure, and the room was very clean. Exactly what we expected and great value for money.

Disliked: Tara left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Anna Fiveash

31 May 2010 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Was great, right next to train station and super easy to get to everywhere we needed to go, and was close to walk to all the fun going out places. David at reception was great and very helpful and always very friendly! He was great :-) Fine hotel to stay at, had everything we needed. Recommended!

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fine

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Leeds hostels