HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Carlton Hotel

2 star Hotel | 16/19, The Leas, Folkestone, England CT20 2DU

77.1% Overall Rating

46 out of 54 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/08/2013)

Tina Gallant thinks…

"It was a nice location near the Cliffs. The staff was friendly. They stayed up to let us in, in the middle of the night."

Read all The Carlton Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Folkestone?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.1%

Overall Rating

46 out of 54 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Carlton Hotel'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
88.0%
Value
76.8%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 41 of 50 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Battersby

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

15 March 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Great value and very helpful staff

Disliked: N/a

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Tina Gallant

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 August 2013

Liked: It was a nice location near the Cliffs. The staff was friendly. They stayed up to let us in, in the middle of the night.

Disliked: The rooms were very old and it didn't look very hygienic. It was a poor bed and there was carpet in the room which gave the room a weird smell.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edward Scott

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

11 August 2013 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: A good basic hotel, lots of hot (too hot) water in the bathroom, A bar that did not overcharge for drinks. The hotel car park was full but reception arrange free parking elsewhere.

Disliked: Thin cutains (drapes) and a poor mattres.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Rawlinson

Alone

City break

03 August 2013 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: Ideally located in the town centre, although the harbour attractions are only a short walk away. I stayed here to avoid setting off from home at midnight to catch an 8:00 ferry from Dover - 10-15 motorbike ride away, so ideally located for that as well. Basically I wanted somewhere to get my head down for the night so this was a bonus, a faded seaside hotel, basic but clean, and the best thing affordable at £25 including a breakfast.

Disliked: At that price nothing really

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect. Folkestone is a very small town so, anything over the leas street is ok.

Disliked: The furniture is old and broken, the walls have cracks etc. nonetheless I cannot compliant to much, I came here to enjoy the sun and the beach and no to make of the hotel room my home. You get what you pay. :)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

patrick conway

Alone

Events / festivals

21 July 2013 patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Convenience and price

Disliked: All ok

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap and cheerful. Location was excellent for the town and beach. The free car park was a plus.

Disliked: Nothing

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013

Liked: The parking was free. The location was great near the sea, even though there was nothing to do in the town center after 5pm.

Disliked: Do not go there. Ever. It is an outdated building. Our room was really tiny and not clean. The bed was the worst I have slept in; I kept falling in the middle during the night. Worst hotel/hostel/backpackers I ever been to.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cathy Simpson

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 July 2013 Cathy would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent service and breakfast - best value accommodation I've ever come across.

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Manja Baumgartner

Alone

Visiting friends or family

03 July 2013 Manja would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, cheap and a Full English breakfast was included and they had WIFI so all in all great!

Disliked: Manja left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 April 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: see first comment

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael beauchamp

As a family with children

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2012 michael would recommend this property

Liked: lovely welcome great breakfast

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael beauchamp

As a family with children

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2012 michael would recommend this property

Liked: nice welcome lovely breakfast would stay again

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping

22 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The LOCATION! Wonderful view to the sea and shoe :)

Disliked: -

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2011

Liked: nice location overlooking the sea friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: The hotel is from the 50-s and most of the guests are from the 30-s. No wifi. Poor sound isolation. we didn't suffer of it, but our neighbours came to complain just because of a fan working in our bathroom. some insects flying in the room/corridor TV in the room not working Bathroom extremely outdated Parking can be very dangerous at dark, as there is a big trench without no fence, where wheels can fall they are trying to earn the last money from those rooms before doing a general renovation

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a very classic english hotel. really quiet, friendly staff, rooms with all amenities, close to the sea, and very well located.

Disliked: Everything was just fine.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chris Cottrell

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 July 2011 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: We wanted an inexpensive stop-off for one night in Folkestone. This was perfect - a simple twin room with tv and private bathroom. Parked around the corner.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great view on the leas

Disliked: strange smell in the room

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is superb and convenient to get to the ferry port.

Disliked: It`s a bit old fashioned and all the crockery and glasses were terrible dirty in the restaurant.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

16 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: Wi-Fi was missing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

24 October 2010

Liked: I liked the location

Disliked: The rooms and the whole hotel were tatty, big white room with no decoration; the bathroom is totally from the sixties. there were only old people in the hotel

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DENNIS ALLCOCK

07 September 2010 DENNIS would recommend this property

Liked: conveniently situated for a break in our trip to france.

Disliked: not much room in the car park.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good food, nice and clean rooms, private parking in backyard, good value for the money!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tiiu Sepp

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

09 August 2010 Tiiu would recommend this property

Liked: It's good location and nice staff.

Disliked: Behind times. WIFI is a must these days.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

04 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lovely location people very friendly

Disliked: room not the best, and the shower could have been better...