HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels

Reviews of Arabesque Hotel

2.5 star Hotel | 11 Ramses Street, Cairo, Egypt .

84.6% Overall Rating

127 out of 146 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/02/2014)

"Room was quite spacious, huge windows. The staff was nice and helpful and some could speak good english. Airport pickup was free as I stayed more than 2 nights. Sure, it is not a five star hotel, but it compensates a…"

Read all Arabesque Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Banqueting facilities
  • Laundry service
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 9.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairo

Invitation Hotel
9.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.3% 151 reviews
Cairo City Center Hotel
7.13 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.6% 8 reviews
Egyptian Night Hotel
6.42 USD

Hotel 2 star 89.0% 81 reviews
Vienna Hotel
4.28 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Bluebird Hotel
8.56 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Museum view hotel
7.13 USD

Hotel 1 star 91.1% 58 reviews
Lialy Inn
5.70 USD

Hostel 81.1% 65 reviews
King Tut Hostel
8.56 USD

Hostel 90.3% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.6%

Overall Rating

127 out of 146 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Arabesque Hotel'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
80.8%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 133 of 136 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room was quite spacious, huge windows. The staff was nice and helpful and some could speak good english. Airport pickup was free as I stayed more than 2 nights. Sure, it is not a five star hotel, but it compensates a lot with the athmosphere, as it is a real egyptian hotel. Good deal for the money!

Disliked: The walls could be painted.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helping in fiding good hotels

Disliked: no thing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large rooms, fridge, TV, large bathroom

Disliked: Good facilities poorly kept... had to change room before settling as Air con& Tv didn't work... next room hadn't had the floor cleaned in a while.. breakfast included was a bread roll, boiled egg and piece of cheese...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

LIDIJA CIBERLIN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 December 2011 LIDIJA would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, near to everything,Tahrir,E.Museum,Metro,Nile.You can get all with a short walk. Secure building, I was there during the protests and i felt comepletely safe there.Nice staff,they do everything for you if you need help abaut something.Rooms are big and clean.No preasurre to buy tours.

Disliked: A bit noisy from outside road

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

04 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very kind staff clean facilities, nice rooms with good quality furnitures

Disliked: breakfast should be more varied

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

silke wimme

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2010 silke would recommend this property

Liked: Waw, cheap hotel, and really clean! Love the staff, they do everything for you and are so helpfull!! I definitly will stay here again!

Disliked: --

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carlos Navaro

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

09 December 2010 Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: Arabesque was awesome! Friendly easy going atmosphere, clean and tidy accommodation. Breakfast is lovely and all the facilities are really modern and clean. Recommend to anyone.

Disliked: A bit noisy from outside road

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

05 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: After staying with my company in the five star hotel across the Nile, I decided to go a little more cozy and this hostel was perfect. The facilities and cleanliness were comparable to hotels on the higher end and the staff was personable and welcoming. Couldn't have asked for more for my last night in Cairo.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a new room. It has a new the way different style than other rooms. We paid more but didnt regret. Cuz it looked wonderfull and we felt as we are first guests there. There are plasma-panel TVset and very nice stylish bathroom in the room. Staff was very polite and nice with us, booked flight tickets and gave us much helpfull information.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here were really friendly and helpful and were able to give us good honest advice about looking around cairo. They also went out of their way to help us book further travel out of cairo. Rooms were sufficent for a budget traveler with really big beds and good air con!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jeremy Aldworth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2010 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel offered reasonable rates. There was cable tv in the room with 192 channels but only two English movie channels. Showers were always hot and beds were clean. On my secon morning there was no breakfast so don't rely on the free breakfast ( basically it's just a boiled egg and two buns and tea). Hostel is right beside the museum so use this as a land mark for the taxi driver. From airport you should pay around 60 pounds for trip. There are little super markets around the hotel were you can purchase food and other items

Disliked: There was no breakfast served on the second morning even though I had paid for it. Some of the staff were useless and some were very helpfully. Everytime you entered or left the hotel they would ask if you had paid or not. Towels and toilet paper were only provided if you asked for them. The Internet was unavailable for two days because they could not remember the password.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marina Stepanova

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

28 October 2010 Marina would recommend this property

Liked: We had a big room; all day hot water and soft towels. No pressure to buy tours. Felt secure, there was always someone in the reception area. Less expensive than places we used elsewhere in Egypt. Location of this hotel is ideal with easy access to the Egyptian Museum, subway, eateries, banks. Helpful staff. Breakfast included.

Disliked: Marina left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2010

Liked: Location was quite good to public transport, staff were very pleasant, and tried to be helpful.

Disliked: Staff could be quite pushy re their own drivers and tours. Not very accessabily to places to eat, without a 15 min. walk. OK, but not when you're tired, and have 8 flights of stairs to go up and down.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

20 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, near Tahrir Sq., near the museum, near Nile. Very central.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kind staff, very good location.

Disliked: No credit card accepted

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Holly Shaw

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 September 2010

Liked: EXCELLENT LOCATION, SECURE BUILDING.

Disliked: BUILDING IN DISREPAIR. VERY POOR BREAKFAST. STAFF DISORGANISED.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and location

Disliked: lack of elevator

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janie Renaud

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2010 Janie would recommend this property

Liked: the property is great. the staff is always helpful and there for any questions.The breakfast every morning till 10:30 is very goos and always as fruit.The staff is realy freindly specali tefa and mostafa there are always on there.The room are nice and clean and all with air conditioner. Thelocation is great near everithing..Bus statiom, metro, musiem, markets etc.

Disliked: Janie left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2010

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: In general the place is pretty basic for the price that you are paying but what i disliked the most was the constant harassment of some of the staff trying to sell us tours way more expensive than other places,at the end it turn out to be a really annoying place to be. If you need any honest advice ask the girls that work at the reception during the day.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anton Rusalim

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 August 2010 Anton would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, funny, roomy

Disliked: Anton left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa

22 August 2010

Liked: I stayed in a single room & it was really good air-conditioned room. Before I checked in, it was already air-conditioned & I felt so good when I entered the room for the first time.

Disliked: - The hotel guy put it on when he suggested tour program which I didn't need in fact. I was supposed to stay a long time & I could visit each by each but he recommanded very expensive private tour program to me with very poor service. The guide couldn't explain whole history I needed, he had me pay more for the water when touring (He told me I'd better stay in a car & he'd buy it for me since the local people couldn't speak English & I realized that it was doubled price he asked me later). What I felt from them was only the fact that they wanted my money from my pocket. They applied the currency rate incorrectly (definately unfavorable to me) so I had to pay more. The kichen facility was awful & I think they'd better take it back from the website info "self-catering." I requested airport pick & I had to wait for more than 30 min. The lift was out of order during I stayed there & I had to walked up to 6th floor everyday.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Roger Haaland

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

20 August 2010 Roger would recommend this property

Liked: I would recommend the Arabesque to my friends. This place is clean, comfortable, with friendly, helpful staff! Also close to museum, Nile, etc, u can get all with a short walk. Free WiFi and free airport pick up.

Disliked: Roger left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chad Brackett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2010 Chad would recommend this property

Liked: The room and bathroom as very clean. The staff were also extremely helpful with getting around cairo.

Disliked: Chad left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Fiona Turnbull

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2010 Fiona would recommend this property

Liked: I took them up on their offer to have someone meet me at the airport and am I ever glad that I did. If I had to find this on my own I never would have found it and might still be wandering the streets of Cairo. The "hotel" is is two floors of a high-rise building that has seen better days. That being said, the staff were helpful and lined up a driver to take me on a one-day sight-seeing tour. It may not be the classiest hotel but certainly good value for the money. I wouldn't suggest taking a family with children here as it really is geared to the backpacker crowd.

Disliked: the lobby really didn't tell me that the hotel was in the building but the driver who picked me up at the airport knew where to take me - the elevator was not working half the time and they struggled with their internet connection, alkthough they seemed to be replacing the router on my last day there

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Irina Cherepko

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 August 2010 Irina would recommend this property

Liked: Arabesque Hotel is located in the heart of Cairo center and has clean and affordable budget hotel rooms. The hotel offers a laundry service and free internet, included television, airconditioner, private bathroom and breakfast.

Disliked: Noisy as it is located in the center.


See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels