HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels

Reviews of Cairo Down Town Hotel

Hotel | 2 Amir Kadadar St, Bab El looq Tahrir Squire, Cairo, Egypt 11511

91.7% Overall Rating

21 out of 23 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/04/2012)

"The location is great right near the subway and center of downtown. The staff is very helpful and friendly. They provided a lot of information about Egypt and how to travel around the city and country even on a budget.…"

Read all Cairo Down Town Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.83

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairo

Sun Hotel
5.70 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
My Hotel
5.33 USD

Hotel 2 star 93.7% 5 reviews
Lialy Inn
5.70 USD

Hostel 81.1% 65 reviews
Cecilia Hotel
4.28 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 38 reviews
The Hotel Lotus
7.15 USD

Hotel 4 star 63.7% 7 reviews
Sara Inn Hostel
9.00 USD

Hostel 88.5% 49 reviews
Bluebird Hotel
8.56 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Museum view hotel
7.13 USD

Hotel 1 star 91.1% 58 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.7%

Overall Rating

21 out of 23 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cairo Down Town Hotel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
93.9%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
91.3%
Value
94.8%
Safety
92.2%
Refine your results Showing 18 of 20 reviews
Reset filter
37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Barbara Clements

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2013

Liked: 1 1/2 blocks from Tahrir Square in old downtown Cairo, close to metro.

Disliked: mattresses were fairly disgusting; need cleaning or be replaced. Experienced some discrepencies in pricing for tours, etc. and it was sometimes hard to get a straight answer from staff. No tv in room as advertised. Fairly taken aback with condition of hotel entrance (almost scary). Worst accommodation during our trip (stayed in 6 other hotels so have lots to compare to)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

13 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great right near the subway and center of downtown. The staff is very helpful and friendly. They provided a lot of information about Egypt and how to travel around the city and country even on a budget. The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are very clean. Breakfast is good also. I have traveled the Middle East for a long time and this is the best place I could find with affordable rooms and a nice atmosphere. It is quiet and safe. It is a great place to relax after visiting all the sites in Cairo or if you need to stop for a transit stop for overnight.

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Down Town hostel is a cosy hostel at the center of Cairo I could look at the Mussem and Tahrir Sq from the Balcony , Staff were friendly . Overall Recommended .

Disliked: good nothing I dislike .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Clean Hotel has great location.

Disliked: Thanks Sony

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

gene ginno alducente

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2011

Liked: Rooms are fine

Disliked: no elevator and it's on 3rd floor

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

william rob

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 May 2011 william would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in this hotel with a few of my friends.Everything was wonderful in there.We were picked up from airport as promised.. After checking into this hotel, The rooms were very clean and comfortable, having AC control, hot water available at 24 hours. All staffs were very friendly and helpful & ready to help us whenever we need.There was a high speed internet connection, and it made us contact to our family easily..They helped us to book Pyramids tour !!! Also tours were very good we highly recommend,Cairo Downtown hotel for everyone!!!

Disliked: love it

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

vekey adam

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2011 vekey would recommend this property

Liked: Love to stay in Cairo downtown hotel, I advice my friends to stay in there , Secure, clean, quite, good location. Thank you Sony for your hospitality.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: located in the heart of Cairo. Friendly staffs

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mark Rizzo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: The upsides about this property were the location and breakfast that was included. The staff was also helpful and suggested that I get an International Teacher's card which gave discounts on most of the attractions throughout Egypt.

Disliked: The staff discouraged bus trips to the pyramids of Giza in favor of the organized tours. They also told me the train to/from Luxor was not possible during the day...when in reality it was possible without a reservation.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very friendly and always available. Arrive as a guest, leave as a friend indeed!

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hiroko Tomita

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2010 Hiroko would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs were nice and helpful.

Disliked: They did not have a common room to meet other travelers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Boland

Alone

Business / conference

26 November 2010 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Character, architecture, location

Disliked: Hot water runs out in the evenings

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the place! The staff was very helpful, the people were fun to be around. clean rooms and bathrooms. Its quite quiet for an youth hostel at night. The place is about 1 minute from the museum, so its a great location. I would recommend it to anyone who visit cairo, and will surely go back if I return to cairo. A+

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

joha peterson

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

27 August 2010 joha would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very calm and friendly. The hotel is close to the heart of downtown. The rooms are very large with comfortable beds the room is very clean and the staff is great. It has fresh linens and was the most respectable backpacker hostel I looked at during my time in downtown. The staff is very friendly offering really great advice and tips about how to enjoy Egypt even on a budget.

Disliked: joha left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jorge maxwel

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference

19 August 2010 jorge would recommend this property

Liked: very nice place to stay in Cairo. They are extremely honest people who want to make Cairo feel like a home . The location is great as it's right in the centre of Downtown and few steps walking to the Egyptian Museum. The staff also work very hard to keep the place clean at all times of the day,and very friendly and helpful. I definitely recommend cairo downtown hotel for any backpackers coming to visit Cairo...

Disliked: jorge left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

11 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is very clean and recently remodeled. The location is great right near the subway and center of downtown. The staff is very helpful and friendly. They provided a lot of information about Egypt and how to travel around the city and country even on a budget. The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are very clean. Breakfast is good also. I have traveled the Middle East for a long time and this is the best place I could find with affordable rooms and a nice atmosphere. It is quiet and safe. It is a great place to relax after visiting all the sites in Cairo or if you need to stop for a transit stop for overnight.

Disliked: Really I was lucky to find such a great place with affordable rates.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: bright spacious rooms and lovely staff! good location! So stoked they didnt try to pressure sell us any tours

Disliked: loved ıt


See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels