HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels

Reviews of Egyptian Night Hotel

2 star Hotel | 13 Merit Basha Street, Cairo, Egypt 11111

89.0% Overall Rating

75 out of 81 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/05/2013)

Emma Hughes thinks…

"Right in the middle of downtown, across from the museum. Very clean. I had the whole dorm room to myself! Also, the price is the best AND it included breakfast."

Read all Egyptian Night Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Photocopying
  • Dry cleaning
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Newspapers
  • Outside area
  • Television room
  • Children's play area

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairo

Museum view hotel
7.14 USD

Hotel 1 star 91.1% 58 reviews
Bluebird Hotel
8.57 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Cairo City Center Hotel
7.14 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.6% 8 reviews
Lialy Inn
5.71 USD

Hostel 81.1% 65 reviews
Invitation Hotel
9.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.3% 151 reviews
Arabesque Hotel
8.98 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 84.6% 146 reviews
My Hotel
5.33 USD

Hotel 2 star 93.7% 5 reviews
Sun Hotel
5.71 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.0%

Overall Rating

75 out of 81 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Egyptian Night Hotel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
87.2%
Value
92.8%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 74 of 76 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Hughes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the middle of downtown, across from the museum. Very clean. I had the whole dorm room to myself! Also, the price is the best AND it included breakfast.

Disliked: One of the members of staff was difficult, and there was only one key to the dorm room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Paul Thomson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, staff are helpful and friendly if you talk to them. I ended up staying in a private double room with ensuite when booked for a dorm, not sure why but didn't complain :-). Not much pressure on booking tours/trips, I ended up doing everything by myself and saving a fortune using public transport, but obviously was less convenient. For the price you pay it's definitely good value for money. Would recommend.

Disliked: The kitchen could do with being a bit bigger, the oven hobs don't work but it's probably cheaper to eat out anyway. the 24 hour reception staff was sleeping on my arrival and the front door was locked so I thought the hostel had shut down, if it wasn't for a couple of other people who were in the hallway I probably would have walked off into the night to find somewhere else to stay. At night there was a slight sewage smell from the toilet of the room I was staying in, it didn't bother me too much but could for others. The laundry is charged on a 'per item' basis rather than a standard cost for a wash. 20EGP per item, so when you have many pairs of socks and small items it can cost a fortune... This should change in my eyes.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juli Sunderlin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2013 Juli would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the fact that the building was around 100 years old, and that they made a beautiful hostel out of the fifth floor! The balcony gives a great view of the city as well~

Disliked: Juli left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

STEPHEN BYRNE

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2013 STEPHEN would recommend this property

Liked: Cosy atmosphere and interesting reception area with a view. The breakfast good and the staff very friendly and helpful.Would certainly recommend this place to budget travellers.

Disliked: Bedroom ensuite was a bit run-down and needs updating but very acceptable given the price.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2012

Liked: The owner, Mostafa, was extremely friendly and helpful. All of his help was the only bright spot in an otherwise very poor experience here. Free ride from airport (not back).

Disliked: Easily the dirtiest hostel/hotel I have ever stayed in (very easily). Room stinks of sewer, lobby of building stinks of cat urine, dirty, loud, mosquitoes, etc. If it were not for the lack of an itch, I would have thought there were bedbugs from all of the mosquito bites I got at night. I took one of the "tours" from them. I thought by paying more for the "tour" than for a cab, I would be exempted from all the trouble people like to put tourists through...wrong. There was a lot of pressure to go on a camel ride, to the "papyrus museum", etc. When I asked to see a site right next to one we were already at, I was denied, because it was not on the "tour". You will save money, have more freedom, and probably be hasseled less just getting a cab for the day. While being next to the museum is great, the location is insufferably loud from car horns throughout the night, in addition to being horribly polluted. I would normally never say this, but do yourself a favor and just stay on the outskirts near something else worth while. Internet did not work at least half the time, so it was impossible to plan for the next leg of our trip without going to an internet cafe. Seriously, save yourself the trouble and do not consider staying here. Ignore the rating on hostelbookers, there is no way it was not rigged.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a triple private room with ensuite that was one of the largest rooms we have stayed in on our RTW trip. The staff were friendly and didn't push us to book any tours. We did book a car through them to take us to Pyramids, Saqqara, Darshur, and Memphis, which we could not have done without a car. The location is fantastic, right across the street from museum and close to metro. Even though there were protest during our stay, we felt completely safe even being just two blocks from Tahir Square. The hotel does not have a hostel vibe, it is more of a hotel, which we liked. Make sure to go to the famous Kushari restaurant, it is right around the street!

Disliked: The rooms are loud, but I would imagine it is loud everywhere in Cairo.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2012

Liked: good location

Disliked: dishonest staff, we were recommand the black and white desert tour of 90USD per person, after we paid, everything changed, I would never recommand this hostel to any of my friends

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jana albert

Alone

City break

06 October 2012 jana would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is in a great location opposite the Egyptian Museum in downtown Cairo. it's great value for money. Not only are the staff friendly, but also very helpful in assisting me in making travel arrangements and tours throughout Egypt. All of their contacts are very friendly and trustworthy! I had a lovely stay at the Egyptian Night Hotel with no complaints. I would really recommend the Egyptian Night Hotel to anybody taking a trip to Cairo as it is clean, and has a friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: jana left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Evelyn Rodela

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2012 Evelyn would recommend this property

Liked: The property is in a good location, steps away from the Egyptian Museum and a short walk from the Nile. As far as the property itself, it is small and very comfortable, simply stated: inviting. The best experience about this property was the service provided, it was by far the best way to get acquainted with local Egyptian guys in a non-creepy way, they are the friendliest and most helpful people encountered in Egypt! A special thanks to Mostafa X 3, Mohammed X 2 and Ahmed for all your help and patience and going beyond your job at the hotel to help us enjoy Cairo and its surroundings. I highly recommend this hotel, it is definitely worth the value.

Disliked: Evelyn left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to museum

Disliked: No running water

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and location is great...

Disliked: Being on the 5th floor with broken lift which I don't think will be fixed is a pain!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mira fayek

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2012 mira would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, spacious rooms & common area, real breakfast, beside honest and open-minded staff. The elevator broke 2 days before my arrival but they sent me an email to inform me about that and offering me 20% off the room rate in return of that. They are a group of experienced and talented Egyptians who love their country, their job and want you to experience the best of Egypt, and The business owner has 23 year old and he real experienced about tourism in Egypt and traveling generally. I think that's enough to make Egyptian Night Hostel a great place to stay.

Disliked: No thing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

franc sabine

Alone

Romantic getaway

20 June 2012 franc would recommend this property

Liked: Je vous remercie pour ce merveilleux voyage ainsi pour le confort et le transport offert j'oublierai jamais ce que vous avez fait pour le réussir

Disliked: franc left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean rooms, good private bathroom (in private room)

Disliked: Staff was friendly, but didn't communicate between shifts and due to this miscommunication, I didn't get picked up at the airport, and nearly missed my bus out of Cairo. Not horrible, but something that can be improved. I'd still stay here again.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eric Ding

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2012 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: I am a student traveling to Egypt to study Arabic and had a great time staying at Egyptian Night Hotel. The rooms here are spacious with a touch of Egyptian culture. The staff here are very friendly. I practice my broken Arabic with them sometime and them would patiently to teach me the correct words. I would recommend this hostel for future travelers.

Disliked: Eric left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kira Walker

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

13 May 2012 Kira would recommend this property

Liked: nice breakfast,great to find someone waiting me at the airport many thanks to the staff for being helpful with me, the hotel was very nice indeed and it was 1 min from the museum my room was nice it has a balcony with great view

Disliked: Kira left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thiago Camara Antao

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2012 Thiago would recommend this property

Liked: Is all good

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Choke Tony

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
City break

13 April 2012 Choke would recommend this property

Liked: i loved it here because things are clear for the customer and they describe the hostel honestly . I had the best stay in Egypt. Breakfast is so healthy and has good value.

Disliked: non

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kai Yun Cheng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

06 April 2012 Kai Yun would recommend this property

Liked: 很好的位置 good location, nice atmosphere, breakfast is good included bread, tea coffee etc..

Disliked: mosquitos

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Xing Chaun

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2012 Xing would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed my stay there Clean , Comfortable and friendly Staff .

Disliked: no thing

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fatima Bogreed

Alone

City break

04 April 2012 Fatima would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is clean and i had a tv in my room but not so important for me and they always do what they promise. highly recommended

Disliked: no thing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Artur Lorran Pinheiro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2012 Artur Lorran would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great time at Egyptian Night! The location is excellent, right beside the Cairo Museum and one bloc from Nile! There are many facilities around, such as bank, restaurants, metro and bus station. The breakfast is a really nice meal! The staff is very easy going and I felt so confortable with them. Mostafa is a great manager and I got no doubt to recomend that place!

Disliked: Artur Lorran left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice common areas and building, rooms nice but minor problems in some Mohammed was really nice and helpful , location is not in busy shopping streets like most hostelsGoid breakfast compared to other hostels , upgraded to better room as bad organisation with bookings

Disliked: 2 staff were not so helpful , computer was always being used by staff or friends of staff who hung out a lot, not good to meet people as rarely saw any guests. No tv like advertised. Currently being renovated so some problems can be due to this, great potential though - if only they would realise that no sign outside = few guests

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Smith

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were extremely helpful. Mohammed went out of his way for me and really made my stay in Cairo. Whole building has a air of shabby grandeur but its clean and beds are comfortable. Good location. Breakfast was good. (They are apparently getting rid of the cats which some people had a problem with) It's cheap and cheerful and if that's what your looking for I would recommend (and i did) this hostel.

Disliked: They didn't have much in the way of maps, leaflets, posters etc.. on what to do and see in Cairo and the rest of Egypt, though the staff readily supplied any information you needed, it would have been nice to have some hard copies. Also I wouldn't go with the guide they recommended for the Pyramids (name was Mohammed - not that that really helps). Not worth the money. He doesn't tell you anything you probably don't already know and despite me travelling alone and not saying anything about wanting to go (i didnt even know until i was there) he took me to a "papyrus museum" were i practically got bullied into spending lots of money. So just take the driver (he was really lovely - also called mohammed) and go on your own.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Evan Taylor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2012 Evan would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful staff, clean, excellent breakfast (as far as Egyptian hostel breakfasts go), and amazing location directly across from the Egyptian museum and a minute's walk to the bus to the airport. Would definitely recommend.

Disliked: A little difficult to find at first because the sign is tucked inside the doorway, which itself is a dozen meters down an alley. Better signage would help.

The property's response is...


See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels