HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels

Reviews of Cecilia Hotel

2 star Hotel | 47 El Falaky Street - Downtown, Cairo, Egypt -

78.9% Overall Rating

30 out of 38 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/03/2013)

Gavin Ow thinks…

"The staff were nice, and the price was cheap. It was great to get a private driver to the pyramids!"

Read all Cecilia Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 9.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairo

Sara Inn Hostel
9.00 USD

Hostel 88.5% 49 reviews
Sun Hotel
5.58 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
My Hotel
5.33 USD

Hotel 2 star 93.7% 5 reviews
The Hotel Lotus
7.15 USD

Hotel 4 star 63.7% 7 reviews
Qabana Hostel
8.37 USD

Hostel 92.4% 15 reviews
Meramees Hostel
5.50 USD

Hostel 96.7% 212 reviews
Hotel Grand Royal
19.53 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
New Minerva Hotel
7.50 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.1% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.9%

Overall Rating

30 out of 38 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cecilia Hotel'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
84.8%
Value
80.0%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 34 of 37 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Gavin Ow

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2013 Gavin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were nice, and the price was cheap. It was great to get a private driver to the pyramids!

Disliked: It was nice clean, but the cheap price makes up for it.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Anh Tung Phan Lam

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2013

Liked: I dislike this hotel

Disliked: Bad infrastructure, most of the stuff are dirty and ruined

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Dino Norrman

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: They tried to make us pay more... twice. Both times we had to prove mathematically that our booking confirmation was correct. We also had to explain how the deposit system works. They woke us up while we were sleeping to perform repairs in the room! They sold us a tour to the pyramids for 180 Egyptian pounds but it ended up costing much more due to fees that we were not informed of. An example of the old hidden-fee scam, quite clearly. The service on the tour was terrible as well. When we came to the hostel, they said we had booked our room too late (3 days in advance) and that they had not received our reservation. Luckily, we had a printout of it. Thus, we got a different room and were informed that we may be moved to another room at any time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ari Salinger

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2012 Ari would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was really friendly and helpful, thus creating a cozy atmosphere. The hostel is very close to the city center, so you can make your way just by walking if you want to. And services are according to the price you pay for.

Disliked: Nothing in particular.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Layla Mouallem

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 February 2012 Layla would recommend this property

Liked: The place is so beautiful and comfortable. The rooms have a wonderful atmosphere, can be romantic and funny as well. The balcony outside is confortable as well. The wireless internet works perfectly and the staff is very helpful and kind. Totaly worth it!

Disliked: Nothing really.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Natalie Carney

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2011 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location

Disliked: the water pressure in the showers

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: They will never do things fast.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Andrzej Major

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2011 Andrzej would recommend this property

Liked: Good lacation in the center of the city, close to the Tahrir Square and short way on foot of the Sadat metro station. Comfortable double bed. The good english speaking staff, polite, friendly and helpful in all informing and organizing trips in the city and the area. The terrace on the roof is very nice and useful. Internet access is good.

Disliked: The cleaning leaves much to be desired. But I can recommend this cheap hotel exactly to undemanding travellers with small budget.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2011

Liked: The staff were very nice and the location was good.

Disliked: the beds all sunk in the middle so when i woke up my back didnt feel that great. I got them to clean my cloths and they cam e back smelling like mold, like they had left them in the machine over night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect place for staying in Cairo. The staff is very kind, friendly and helpful. They are asking for cheaper price than they really deserve. I recommend it !!

Disliked: nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Fabio Grammatico

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2011

Liked: The staff was very friendly and the price was kinda reasonable

Disliked: The place wasn't really clean... I've been all around the world in very cheap and dirty places and this one was a bit under average even for a Cairo's guest house

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Christopher Nelson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2011 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful location: five minutes from Tahrir Square and Costa Coffee' is across the road The staff are helpful, friendly and understanding, especially Mohammed. Top notch stuff. The balcony is a great place to relax and watch the post-revolutionary antics.

Disliked: I cannot think of anything.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location in Downtown, very friendly and helpfull staff, nice rooms, family atmosphere in the hotel....you feel like a friend not like a customer

Disliked: nothing to tell...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, good value for the money

Disliked: the bread haha ;)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen James

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2010 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly and helpful staff made our stay easy and enjoyable. The hotel can arrange trips and tours as well as places to eat which we found to be good value. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The location is excellent - only a few minutes walk from the Egyptian museum. There is a lovely terrace with satellite TV if you need a break from busy Cairo!

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Shopping

28 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It locates good place. And people are very kind.

Disliked: I need more information about Cairo. I want some maps about Cairo city.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located pretty close the main museum in Cairo and the train system is easy enough to figure out.

Disliked: The main man working at that hostel seemed to not care about all of his guests. By this I mean that if you're a single female, get ready for attention and if you're anything but you won't really hear from him. We came in and were warmly welcomed, but when we wanted to talk to the head of the hostel about booking certain things, he kept talking to this one woman that was staying in the hostel. Also, he sleeps in the empty beds of the hostel. I found this very unprofessional and it caused me to be inconvenienced in the room that I was paying for. If you're tired, go home and sleep. Not where you work and your guests sleep. It was very annoying. I liked the place a lot at first, but he caused me to think otherwise.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

LUIS FELIPE SARDA

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 August 2010 LUIS FELIPE would recommend this property

Liked: Staff ; location

Disliked: Breakfast And in a couple of minutes my pants desappeared in the bathroom. So, if they find, i really want my pants back.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, good atmosphere, nice place to chill and eventually there will be wifi on the lovely balcony overlooking Cairo.

Disliked: I stayed only for a couple of days but lived in three different rooms. Slightly disorganised but they do it all with a charm so it doesnt really matter.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay, right in the center of down town by AU and the museum and metro. Very reasonably priced, I paid just $7 American per night, and in the week I stayed that adds up to less than a night at most hotels anywhere in the world. Free wifi is a great plus, they also have 2 computers to use. Small place, they learned my name and my eating habits which was a nice touch. Don't be worried when you first arrive, the hotel is on the 6th floor. The rest of the building isn't finished and was a bit off putting, but the hotel is very nice. If you arrive in the evening you can see it's balcony where they serve breakfast very well lit up. Inexpensive tea and cold water whenever you want it too. The staff works 24 hours a day. Met fun other travelers here too to travel with

Disliked: For the money it was perfect.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I didn't live other hotel in Cairo .But when I come back from Luxor,it give me many help . Take a shower and take a break. I think the room is clean ,water is hot and big enough .The staff is nice and helpful .

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really friendly and helpful, and I met a lot of great other travelers here- most of the other hostels in Cairo are empty around this time! The location is fantastic (in the center of downtown, a ton of Lonely Planet recommendations right around), and the BEST part about this hostel was the air-conditioning. Really worthwhile especially in July, when it's really hot outside. Also the free high-speed wi-fi is definitely a plus as well.

Disliked: Do NOT get your laundry done here, they charge a fortune and do a terrible job- breakfast is good, but sometimes it takes them a long time to make it. The hostel is on the 6th floor of a building. There is a lift, but it only works SOMETIMES. I was fortunate enough to arrive at the time it was turned on, but I can't imagine lugging my suitcase up six flights of stairs if it had been turned off. The showers/bathrooms are definitely not the most ideal, but you get what you pay for. These are little things though- generally it was a great stay, and 100% worth the price with free wi-fi, ac, breakfast, and a comfortable bed to stay in.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Chun Lung Lam

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2010 Chun Lung would recommend this property

Liked: great staff, location

Disliked: Chun Lung left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hua Guo

08 June 2010 Hua would recommend this property

Liked: Best location and very friendly and helpful stuffs, recommended!

Disliked: Hua left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel with a great central location.. walkable distance to Metro Station and Egyptian Museum. Staff are very friendly and knowledgable and also serve a nice breakfast on the rooftop terrace with vast views of downtown Cairo.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels