We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels

Reviews of Museum view hotel

1 star Hotel | 2 champolion St, Downtown, Cairo, Egypt 11557

91.1% Overall Rating

54 out of 58 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/02/2014)

Siti Nabila Sheikh Yahya thinks…

"The place is clean and comfortable plus it is very near to the Egyptian museum. The metro station is also very near. Very suitable for students and backpackers. The workers were so friendly and were…"

Read all Museum view hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 8.37

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairo

Egyptian Night Hotel
7.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 90.1% 83 reviews
Bluebird Hotel
8.37 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Lialy Inn
6.97 USD

Hostel 81.1% 65 reviews
Cairo City Center Hotel
13.95 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.5% 12 reviews
My Hotel
7.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 93.7% 5 reviews
Sun Hotel
5.58 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
The Hotel Lotus
7.15 USD

Hotel 4 star 63.7% 7 reviews
Invitation Hotel
9.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.3% 151 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.1%

Overall Rating

54 out of 58 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Museum view hotel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
97.6%
Value
93.6%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 55 of 57 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Siti Nabila Sheikh Yahya

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

26 February 2014 Siti Nabila would recommend this property

Liked: The place is clean and comfortable plus it is very near to the Egyptian museum. The metro station is also very near. Very suitable for students and backpackers. The workers were so friendly and were trying their very best to help their customers in every possible way.

Disliked: Some of the rooms are without a toilet but there's a shared toilet outside. I cannot remember what's wrong with the elevator but we were using the stairs at that time which was quite trying since we have a lot of bags with us.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gregory Butcher

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2013 Gregory would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location across from the Egyptian Museum, and one block from Tehrir Square. Walking distance to Metro stop, long-distance bus station and the Nile River. A short cab ride to the train station. Restaurants and shopping is nearby. It's no problem catching a bus or a cab out front, as they are readily available. Choose the white cabs with meters for an extremely inexpensive cab ride. Make sure the driver turns on the meter when you get in. Best room is #504, with a double bed, private bathroom, and balcony. Request this room, as it's the best at Museum View. Entertaining evenings watching the traffic chaos around Tehrir Square. We're very adaptive travelers, and often use value-lodging when we're going to be out all day exploring. As long as the bed is comfortable, and the room is clean, we're satisfied. We'd rather spend our money on experiences when we travel. "Museum View" fit the bill - excellent location, and very reasonable price, with a small breakfast included. You can't beat it!

Disliked: Bring earplugs, as the incessant honking of the traffic can disturb your sleep, if you're a light sleeper. We got used to it, and found it rather hilarious.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

CHAK LUN LAWRENCE WONG

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2013 CHAK LUN LAWRENCE would recommend this property

Liked: good location and nice window scence

Disliked: no breakfast provided

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emoke Gubola

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2012 Emoke would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was perfect stay for my budget travel. It is centrally located, close to public transport, nice and friendly guys in the hostel. My room was decent size, clean and comfortable , so can't complain. Would stay again and would recommend to any backpackers.

Disliked: Emoke left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kate anderson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2012 kate would recommend this property

Liked: great place to stay ,right just opposite to the Egyptian Museum ,the staff were very friendly and helpful they arranged a tour for me all over egypt and Jordan and it was really excellent and i really had a good experience with them, the hotel it self is very good place and very clean but you have to ask the cleaner if you want clean your room every day ,very close to most of the shops and coffeshops and ITM highly recommended

Disliked: nothing everything was excellent

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

judy nicola

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2012 judy would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this hostel. Everybody is so nice and they will all go out of their way to make you feel welcomed and confortable. it is very centrally located and the area is full of shops and places to eat. Mohamed planned my whole itinirary and i loved it. The beds are super confortable and the rooms are very good size. I definetely recommend this hostel to everyone. I hope to come back here again sooner than later.

Disliked: nothing everything was very clear

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2011

Liked: Rooms facing the road got more nostalgic atmosphere with high ceiling and balcony, though may be noisy as well.

Disliked: The single ensuite room I stayed is probably the smallest in the hotel, facing inside, no view no natural light, poorly decorated. Hot water is good though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hotel was really close to a lot of things , just as Egyptian Museum , Metro station , restraints , cafe shops , the staff of the hotel they are really very nice , all of them they speak really very good English and they organized for me very good tour to the pyramids , and me room was very clean with nice balcony over the Egyptian museum , so i will always go back to the same hotel if i ever come to Cairo again

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location: in the center of downtown, just across the street of egyptian museum, but also noisy but still ok only basics but acceptable

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel, great staff always willing to help you out with whatever you need, will be recommending all my friends from home stay here when they visit

Disliked: everything was good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were fantastic. They were very friendly. They made me feel very comfortable, and they were very eager to help me in whatever way I needed. I also love where the hotel is located. Its directly opposite Cairo museum. I had a balcony and it was a marvelous view. I was also directly opposite the metro station. I'm a girl and I went traveling alone. I felt safe walking around at night as well. The hotel staff though were kind enough to escort me to the atm very early in the morning before my flight. excellent hotel.

Disliked: nothing everything was excellent

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paule Gosselin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2011 Paule would recommend this property

Liked: Sincerly, the staff there will do everythng to make you happy ! It's a nice place and the view as well is amazing. Thanks to Ramy, Mohamed, Amir and Ahmed :)

Disliked: Breakfast is a little bit boring...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

davina struss

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

05 May 2011 davina would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in museum view hotel for two nights ,the name of the hotel has something to do with its perfect location just opposite to the Egyptian museum in Tahrir square ,the stuff were very helpful and they helped me to arrange an amazing visit to the pyramids, the hotel was very clean and the price was on budget.

Disliked: NOTHING

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Superb location, good price, helpful staff! I would definitely stay again.

Disliked: It's a bit noisy, but in Cairo everywhere is noisy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed in a few places in Egypt, but this was probably the best hostel I have stayed in the country. The location is just perfect, near shops, the Nile and Egyptian Museum. The guys working there are always up for jokes and they really made me feel welcome. Cleanliness is also much better than I have seen in other places. Overall excellent value for money.

Disliked: There is nothing I did not like.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent in the middle of town. Easy access for shopping & doing touristy things.

Disliked: The problem is a bit dated and plumbing was leaking so had to turn off from mains each time. The lobby guy said not allowed to use the lift - this can be headache with lugguage, kids pushchair, etc.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

21 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: An exceptional service, the staff went above and beyond to make our stay as safe and comfortable as possible. I will definitely return and highly recommend Museum View Hotel.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Anke Hofmann

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2011 Anke would recommend this property

Liked: I was at this Hostel during the protests in Egypt. I can only sing the highest praises for all the staff at the hostel. They were extremely kind and helpfull during this trying period. I thank them for their hospitality, friendliness and going the extra mile for us all. Real professionals. Nothing was too much for them. Well done, guys.

Disliked: Nothing.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2010

Liked: Some of the staff were very friendly and helpful

Disliked: Uncomfortable, very very noisey, poor breakfast , staff monopolizing common room for sleeping and TV

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nancy peter

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

06 December 2010 nancy would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel has the best location in Cairo ,it just opposite to the Egyptian museum, it has different facilities and the stuff are very helpful as they helped me to arrange tours to the pyramids and Luxor ,and the prices are really reasonable recommend it for everyone.

Disliked: nancy left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: my girl friend and i had wonderful time at Museum view hotel . the staff was awesome and very friendly who always ready to help ,the view is beautiful , they helped us to organize our tours round Egypt so i would definitely recommend it to every one

Disliked: nothing , every thing was awesome

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Joe

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 November 2010 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location right facing to the Egyptian Museum Clean room friendly staff near metro restaurant Cafe shop good breakfast in commen room when u chat with other travelers sharing ideas I also enjoy my trip they did for me wonderful trip around Egypt with good price and good service value for money highly recommenced thxs guys for all ur help

Disliked: nothing everything was excellent

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

06 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really like my stay at museum view , the staff was friendly and helpful ,the location is great , it is close from all amenities , and right next to the Egyptian museum , good atmosphere and I would definitly come back to this place if I'm in Cairo .peace

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Downtown Cairo is the place to be, great for metro, museum (obviously) and shopping

Disliked: For the money there is honestly nothing to dislike

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location for the Nile, Cairo Tower, Museum and metro. Noisy but fun, great staff why stay anywhere else?

Disliked: The towels and bedding were not brilliantly clean and the plumbing was leaky, but this was our second visit so it cant have been so bad.


See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels