HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels

Reviews of Mandarin Hotel

3 star Hotel | 8 Ibrahim Nagib - Garden City, - Downtown -, Cairo, Egypt 11331

81.5% Overall Rating

101 out of 112 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/07/2014)

"staff and owener is very nice. They made my stay pleasent. They are helpful . Hotel is near to nile river and it is in safe area near to embassies with high security"

Read all Mandarin Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Dry cleaning
  • Laundry service
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • High chair

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 11.16

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairo

Each Way Hostel
6.28 USD

Hostel 69.5% 3 reviews
Regent house hostel
3.49 USD

Hostel 71.8% 37 reviews
Isis Hotel 2
10.46 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Arabian Nights hotel
5.57 USD

Hotel 2 star 92.1% 104 reviews
Star Plaza Hotel
13.95 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Dina's hostel
6.97 USD

Hostel 87.1% 28 reviews
Venus Hostel
6.28 USD

Hostel 82.9% 13 reviews
African House Hotel
7.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.3% 58 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.5%

Overall Rating

101 out of 112 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mandarin Hotel'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
80.0%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 102 of 104 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

09 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff and owener is very nice. They made my stay pleasent. They are helpful . Hotel is near to nile river and it is in safe area near to embassies with high security

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Good internet. Good rooms.

Disliked: The price is little bit high compared to other hostels.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Marston

Alone

Shopping

25 January 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Juliana Hotel a second home! The staff are absolutely brilliant (Charadi and Abanob - so friendly, funny and helpful!) They helped organise my travels around Egypt and made me feel very welcome and safe in Cairo. I will definitely stay again when I come back, and will recommend to all my friend that travel to this amazing city. All in all - a fantastic experience. Clean and spacious rooms, great showers and fast wifi.

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Majed Jazairi

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

27 October 2012

Liked: Nothing, it was a complete rip off....

Disliked: Everything, would never go there again...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

25 July 2012

Liked: Nice people and it felt safe: I was happy leaving my laptop in the room during the day.

Disliked: See above - I had a nasty little room, with no windows and no storage space. Not at all what was promised, and not great for a work trip. If I hadn't paid up front I would have changed hotel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

22 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are respectful and helpful, the room is clean with a balcony, AC and en suite facilities, the location is second to none - you can hardly ask for more

Disliked: Nothing really, I did not leave with any bad impressions

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

23 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and helpful, very nice people. Very good situated and they arrange private transportation for you. The driver took us to a nice Egyptian restaurant and that was an awesome experience. Even you have the freedom to decide whether you would like to go for shopping or not (shops around Giza are more secure). Full internet access and good international TV. Breakfast is OK for the money that you pay and you have free coffee and tea. Also, they offer free of charge luggage storage.

Disliked: The location is a bit difficult to remember and you have to map it in your mind very well. As this is close to the Tahrir square the traffic is a little bit mad, however we could not see any demonstration of violence at the time that we being. The hotel building is a bit ugly for say so, and the entrance is like a dungeon, but this appears to be something normal for many buildings in Cairo. However the hotel itself at the third floor is light and nice.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful, helping us out with finding a box that we needed for shipping our bikes back to the uk

Disliked: Quite noisy inside the building. There is a doctors office on the same floor and a bank below so there is plenty of coming and going and Egyptians don't speak quietly!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

saeed abdul sayed

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

03 December 2011 saeed abdul would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff and very good arrangement for cairo tour....

Disliked: nothing at all ...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Diego Cruz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2011 Diego would recommend this property

Liked: Very counfortable place, the rooms are excellent

Disliked: There is few relation with other people in there, because the breakfast it's taken to your room. Sort of boring

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Veronica Albano

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2011 Veronica would recommend this property

Liked: Realmente es muy acogedor y Ahmud, el recepcionista es realmente un encanto, muy amable, simpatico y atento.

Disliked: Nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jane Franck

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2011 Jane would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and good and safe location near Metro stops. Room are comfy and clean

Disliked: .

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2011

Liked: ıt was walkıng dıstance to Tahrır square

Disliked: The staff provıded ınformatıon that specıfıcally rewarded them fınancıally

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Derek Lloyd

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011 Derek would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet location and very central.

Disliked: Nothing really.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Grant Muir

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2011 Grant would recommend this property

Liked: Local to shopping areas and consulates, although local revolution going on at the time i still felt very safe.

Disliked: I arrived later than expected on the 21st of May 2011 and unfortunately my room was not held open for me, i ended up in a different style / type of room than what i had reserved on-line.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Keith Forbes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2011 Keith would recommend this property

Liked: Jimmy, the manager is AWESOME! The staff is great. The location is quiet and nice.

Disliked: Location is hard to find. It is on the 3rd floor of a fairly derelict building.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jennifer Blum

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2011 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice room, bathroom was a little odd (somewhat open to the room and got water evvverywhere). Helpful staff, location in Garden City is great; very safe and walking distance to 2 subway stops and a great restaurant Taboulah.

Disliked: Honestly for Egypt its still a tad pricey, and the breakfast (as in most Egyptian hotels) is nothing to write home about.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2010

Liked: The location, access to free coffee and the simple breakfast (many larger and more expensive hotels do not offer this kind service), assistance in booking trips.

Disliked: very cold, dirty (the floor had not been swept or hoovered in months (or what looked like it) in the bedroom (paint from the walls was falling off all over the place, and the bathroom was very dirty)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hotel is very good. Only 5 minutes from Midan Tahrir square and Cairo Museum. The staff is very helpfull. They pick up us from the airport and also arrange a tour (actually a taxi for the day) and everything ok. Very good value for money.

Disliked: .

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The warmth, friendliness, and helpfulness of the staff was outstanding. It is in one of the quietest areas of Cairo.

Disliked: The open shower facility could be improved, perhaps with a small basin on the floor to contain the water.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location! Garden City is one of my favourite areas in Cairo. Less crowded and noisy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location!!! Quiet!! Garden City is a great area to stay in Cairo. Not so crowded and noisy.

Disliked: There was a mix up with the hostel as they overbooked, and instead of moving the people who did not have a reservation, they moved us! But they were very kind after that and made up for it with free transfers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Beilun Wei

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2010 Beilun would recommend this property

Liked: large room, hot water, AC, friendly staff, helpful

Disliked: Beilun left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, the service, the crimson satin bedfittings ;-)

Disliked: ...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located in a quiet area just south of city centre action, in embassy area. great restaurant nearby. Excellent staff make this place great. Location would be good or bad depending on whether you are after peace and quiet, or the centre of the action.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels