HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels

Reviews of Royal Road Residence

3 star Hotel | Karlova 20, Praha 1, Prague, Czech Republic 11000

84.9% Overall Rating

81 out of 92 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/04/2014)

Reetam Banerjee thinks…

"This is extremely close to the Charles Bridge and is a good place to stay amidst colorful houses. Staffs were friendly and especially Dian (dont know whether I spelt it correct) who was very helpful."

Read all Royal Road Residence reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Infant bed
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 39.00
  • Breakfast USD 7.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Prague?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Prague

Ritchies Hostel & Hotel
16.86 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.7% 20 reviews
Red Chair Hotel
85.98 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
ABC Suites
34.93 USD

Apartment 91.9% 76 reviews
U Tri Bubnu Hotel-Prague
268.67 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Ahoy! Hostel
22.70 USD

Hostel 95.0% 49 reviews
Hostel Downtown
24.93 USD

Hostel 93.6% 606 reviews
Hostel HOMEr
20.53 USD

Hostel 87.4% 65 reviews
Prague Square Hostel
22.97 USD

Hostel 84.9% 231 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.9%

Overall Rating

81 out of 92 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Royal Road Residence'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
92.0%
Value
80.8%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 72 of 91 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Reetam Banerjee

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014 Reetam would recommend this property

Liked: This is extremely close to the Charles Bridge and is a good place to stay amidst colorful houses. Staffs were friendly and especially Dian (dont know whether I spelt it correct) who was very helpful.

Disliked: Almost nothing. I loved it all. May be a 24 reception could be helpful sometimes. But you can live with a 8AM to 10PM opening too.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: apartment and room was very nostalgic

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, fantastically helpful staff and light/airy and clean décor.

Disliked: Slightly odd facilities eg: not enough cups for number of guest. Uncomfortable pillows.(too flat).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lift, central location

Disliked: third bed.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

15 December 2013

Liked: The location.

Disliked: Our booking was not on the list for some reason. And we had to stay for the first day in a big apartment uncleaned and without heating. The receptionist was kind and tried to solve the problem of heating, but no success. The other day we moved to a small normal room, what we paid for. The issue here is that we got only 25% discount for the first day and this is unacceptable I think. The stuff were helpful, still the manager not.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Soren Nielsen

With a large group / tour

City break

07 October 2013 Soren would recommend this property

Liked: Great location.

Disliked: No wi-fi No hot water in showers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very quirky... if you are looking for a standard Holiday Inn-like hotel, forget this place and go elsewhere. But, if you want you want something that would help you to appreciate what it might be like to live in Prague, the Royal Road Residence is a good place to start. The residence itself is a flat (one of several) in an old but tidy building right on the route from Old Town Square to Charles' Bridge. Furnished in a somewhat unexpected way, with amazingly comfortable IKEA beds but hardly anything else. Except the views to die for. Would I go there again? Of course I would! Would I recommend it to anyone else? Only to those who are prepared to be amazed and amused (in the best possible way)!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

19 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, not possible to be more central with another property. Very nice and big appartment. Low prices. Definitely worth staying there!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Martin Drognitz

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 May 2013 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: The location is absolutely central, very helpful staff! We had a clean room with private bathroom - can recommed this hostel!

Disliked: Martin left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Adams

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

01 May 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic stay for a group of 11 of us. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the location was absolutely perfect. I have stayed in Prague before somewhere different but if I go back again I will come here!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Elspeth Case

With my spouse / partner

City break

29 April 2013 Elspeth would recommend this property

Liked: It was central to most amenities. This accommodation was exceptionally clean too. I was unwell the Wednesday before we left and staff very kind and helpful.

Disliked: No safe or cooking facilities.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

04 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed there during two nights and i founded amazing, its very well located and it has an astonishing view. people are very kind and it is very clean

Disliked: It was perfect

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

IRENE CHEW

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 September 2012

Liked: The staff were very good. They were very helpful and welcoming. As I was the one customer in the mixed dorm so I had the entire flat to myself. From the staff, I gather that the bulk of their business is letting out apartments. the toilets and the room was clean.

Disliked: Hostel entrance looked very shabby. Place was poorly lit and quite messy with litter in the corridors all the time.The hostel fees were much high than quoted online. There were service charges which were only mentioned during check in. There was no locks in the cupboards in mixed dorms. Thankfully I was their only customer in the mixed dorm flat.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2012

Liked: Looked good on the website, thats about it!

Disliked: Not only were we moved to another complex when we checked in, but even after showing the person at reception our receipt fro hostel bookers on how much we owed, we were over charged but were told we could pay it at anytme. So we left it for the next day when we went and got some Czech currency and worked out that it was 1,770 coronas more than what we were meant to pay. After bringing it to their attention they said it was just a mistake. So we let it slide. As for our stay it got worse from there. The washing machine did not work properly and while out on our 2nd night having dinner, we returned to find a note on our door saying we had to be out by 11am the next morning due to renovations getting done (pretty sure it needed none that urgently to kick people out during their stay) So we returned to the main building to complain only to have the girl at reception say there was nothing she could do. We told her to call the manager which again got us no-where. We told the manager we want to be checked into another place as soon as we leave which she was against but seeing as tho we had already paid for 3 nights, why should we be out on the street until check in time. We ended up going to a hotel for our last night, but the inconvience they caused and the fact that they didnt care what so ever about how it effected us left us wit bitter feelings about the place. It was obvious they had over booked (prague marathon was on the day after we left) and we were the one with the raw end of the deal. They are not professional in what they do nor do they have any customer service skills.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Suzanne Gates

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2012 Suzanne would recommend this property

Liked: Location to Old Prague. You are less than 5 minutes walk to Charles Bridge one way and 10 minutes to the Astronomical Clock the other way.

Disliked: No fire escape. We were on the top floor with no way out except down the stairs. I don't think that anyone actually uses the kitchens as all the drawers were empty. I had to go next door to light their stove for them as it wasn't working properly. If you eat out a lot then stay here. It's fine. If being on the fifith floor with no way out makes you nervous then find somewhere else. Make sure you read up on where to do your laundry in Prague as it's not simple.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Balázs Eros

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2011 Balázs would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great appartment on the 4. floor for 8 person. The location is brilliant, everything is 5 min walk. The flat is equipped very well. Good Wifi.

Disliked: The description mentioned hairdryer , iron and ironing board but you have to ask for them at reception.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Zoe Liaw

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2011 Zoe would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, 3-5 min walk from Charles Bridge and the old town square. Staffs are friendly and supportive. The room is fairly clean with large wardrobe and locker.

Disliked: The hotel is located on a busy street with many restaurants and bars, hence it is still fairly noisy outside at midnight.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

02 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. In middle of everything. The only drawback is floor is dusty. Hard to find fault with everything else. Great place

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

01 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the centered location

Disliked: the poor condition of the building

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location. Adequate, comfortable rooms. Shared kitchen. the staff were very helpful and kind. free wifi.

Disliked: none!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2011

Liked: The hostel was nice, very clean and very spacious. A great breakfast is provided and the staff is very nice and very helpful. Close to lots of shops and super markets.

Disliked: I thought I had booked with Royal Road Residence, however when I got there they told me I was booked with their associated hostel Yan's Hostel which was another 15 walk away and not as close to the Old Square and some of the sights.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Catharina O'Halloran

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Bait and switch - make sure you get what you asked for.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice location and spacious clean rooms

Disliked: the move in beds were not comfortable at all

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, good location, helpful staff

Disliked: thouht breakfast was free, but it was actually 5 euros

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Lorens

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Loved absolutely everything. Amazing location, clean rooms, super helpful staff, didn't have the breakfast but it looked like a good spread. Loved that it wasn't a party hostel yet it was still easy to meet people. Everything was great.

Disliked: Nothing at all.


See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels