We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Mahayana

2 star Hotel | 150m noreste Del Hotel, Pasatiempo, Tamarindo, Costa Rica n/a

93.7% Overall Rating

15 out of 15 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/01/2014)

Ksenia Rissanen thinks…

"Very clean and functional. Owner was relly helpful and kind. Outdoor kitchen is always the best!"

Read all Hotel Mahayana reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Concierge
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

If you cancel or modify your booking at least 3 days before the day of arrival, you won't be charged. Later than that the hotel Mahayana will charge you 50% of your total stay. 100% of your stay will be charge in case of early check-out or no-show.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tamarindo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tamarindo

Blue Trailz
15.34 USD

Hostel 90.9% 21 reviews
FT's Tamarindo
14.53 USD

Guesthouse 82.2% 26 reviews
Higher Ground Hostel
15.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Pura Vida Hostel
17.50 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Pura Vida MINI Hostel - Tamarindo
12.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
El Sabanero Ecolodge
84.11 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Brasilito
25.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 88.6% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.7%

Overall Rating

15 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Mahayana'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
90.7%
Facilities
94.7%
Cleanliness
98.7%
Staff
92.0%
Value
93.3%
Safety
94.7%
Refine your results Showing 9 of 15 reviews
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ritika Jayaswal

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

07 August 2014 Ritika would recommend this property

Liked: It has a very beachy/holiday feel.

Disliked: We had specially asked for a full/double bed and we still got a room with 2 twin beds.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, near everything, easy to sleep, comfortable

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Iain Perkins

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 February 2014 Iain would recommend this property

Liked: Accessible,Clean.Wecoming

Disliked: Would be great to have a bigger pool!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ksenia Rissanen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

21 January 2014 Ksenia would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and functional. Owner was relly helpful and kind. Outdoor kitchen is always the best!

Disliked: There was a bit of lack of character in this place

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

14 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely room and good service

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was really good, close to village but still calm and you feel like staying in the middle of the forest.

Disliked: It's very tiny place and when it's full it might be difficult to find privacy...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a perfect stay. The room was clean and the bed was super comfortable. A great value. Cecile, the owner, was amazing. She really takes care of her guests like old friends. The location was great also. Close to everything, but really quiet at night. I will definitely stay there again if back in Tamarindo. It's just a very sweet property.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline Garnier

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 November 2012 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed with a friend in Mahayana, we loved our stay there. Is is located 5 minutes walking from the beach, and we found all we needed just as near (supermaket, restaurants). The room is simple, quiet, clean and comfy and there is a hot shower (not every hostel provide hot showers!!). Wifi works well. Above all we loved the tiny hotel atmosphere, and the friendliness of Cécile who was always available for us and gave us all the insider tips on where to go and what to do. We felt like home in this place, or say a tropical home. We definitely recommend this accommodation and plan to go back there.

Disliked: There is nothing we actually disliked. A TV in the room would be cool maybe ?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Frank

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 October 2012 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: The Hotel Mahayana was definately the best place we stayed on our trip in Costa Rica. Great atmosphere, well equipped and very clean high standard rooms and kitchen and quiet location. The owner Cécile speaks perfectly English, Spanish and French and was very friendly and helpful (finding good surf spots, renting boards, organizing tours, transportation). The best is the good price, we didn't find anything similar all around Costa Rica. Definately recommendable!

Disliked: Christian left no negative feedback.