HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Posada del Arenal Hotel

Del Banco De Costa Rica, 50 meters east of Central Park, Main Street, La Fortuna, Costa Rica

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 79%

Location 93%

Safety 91%

Staff 90%

Value 79%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Business Centre"
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Cots available
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 13:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to La Fortuna?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 79%

Location 93%

Safety 91%

Staff 90%

Value 79%

Showing 1-3 of 3 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: good WI-fi in room, short walk to town, laundry in premises. Derrick, the owner, was immensely helpful.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: good location, does the job

Disliked: not much atmosphere

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great and really helpfull staff

Disliked: rooms are basic but good

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Nothing, the location was ok.

Disliked: This property is under was under a new manager while we were there. Many of the other reviews talked about Carmen running the property. She is no longer there and it now run by anther person. The description listed is very inaccurate. The kitchen was very dirty and none of the appliances worked. There was also no fan, wifi, laundry or breakfast as it claims there is in the description of the property. The new manager was also extremely unhelpful. We expected much better from such a highly rated hostel. However this hostel definitely does not deserve such a good rating anymore. There are many other hostels in La Fortuna any one would be better than this one.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Right on main street yet peaceful & quiet. Not too many rooms though.

Disliked: Lacks character.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Breakfast included

Disliked: Too expensive

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Carmen was an excellent host and made our stay comfortable. Breakfast was great.

Disliked: It looks like it could do with a bit of a makeover. No atmosphere.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 May 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Carmen is amazing. She helped us with everything we needed. This a budget place with simple rooms.

Disliked: No extras and not.much investment lately

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 May 2012

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location in the town of Fortuna; the downtwn sqaure was a 3-minute walk. Great breakfast was served in the attached cafe. Quiet and clean, with our own bathroom. Close to tourist attractions.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The owner is one of the nicest people I have ever met in my life. She went so far out of her way to make sure that everything was perfect on our stay. She helped us book excursions, and took a great deal of time to ensure that we had transportation to our next destination. In addition, she made DELICIOUS homemade breakfast in the morning that was included with the stay, and it was honestly the best meals that I had in Costa Rica. The location was great- walking distance to restaurants, bars, grocery store, etc., yet it was still quiet around the hostel at night. I highly, highly recommend staying in this hostel.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability