We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Jaco hostels

Reviews of Hotel Kangaroo

Hotel | Calle Pastor Diaz, Jaco, Costa Rica 000

93.5% Overall Rating

70 out of 75 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/04/2015)

Danielle O'shea thinks…

"Everything, the people were awesome!! The place was clean and safe and just a really relaxing place to be!!"

Read all Hotel Kangaroo reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room
  • Infant bed

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 40,000.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Jaco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Jaco

Riva Jaco
12.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Balcon del Mar
100.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Las Camas Mini Hostel
10.89 USD

Hostel 86.1% 26 reviews
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
49.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Room2Board Hostel and Surf School
18.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Perico Azul
31.76 USD

Hotel 2 star 99.4% 5 reviews
Las Brisas
21.44 USD

Hotel 3 star 93.1% 5 reviews
Ecovital Costa Rica
26.32 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.5%

Overall Rating

70 out of 75 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Kangaroo'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
96.8%
Value
96.0%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 60 of 74 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is amazing! Helped me with everything I needed. Best place to eat, best surfing instructor, best canopy etc. The hotel is cheep and got good facilities. The pool is great. I came for 1 night and stayed for 10. Gave me the best tips for the rest of my trip. Got 3 amazing dogs and 2 cats. They have bikes that you can use whenever you like.

Disliked: It's a beat far from the center of jaco.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Evan Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2013 Evan would recommend this property

Liked: I only reserved for one day but I'm definitely going to stay here longer. Super chill location out of central Jaco, so very tranquillo and safe, two minutes'walk to the beach and a great tico restaurant next door with amazing food. Love the pool, love the chilling area, and LOVE the vibe at the hotel and the staff is great.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

amy donnavan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 July 2013 amy would recommend this property

Liked: My best experience so far! I ve been travelling for a month now and this is really a nice place to stay. For the price you ve got lots of free amenities, a nice pool, free wifi, bicycles, tv room, billiard game and other games. But what makes the place is the team: You just feel at home ... Francesca and Evan would do absolutely everything they can to make your stay nice and easy. They have dogs but they are just so cute. You feel safe. We had a surf lesson and a canopy tour for a great price. I surely recommend this place. I m coming back next week since the hotel was complete for the weekend. It is a good value knowing what you get there for such a basic price. Go there without any hesitation.

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ralf manson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 July 2013 ralf would recommend this property

Liked: An amazing little paradise! When i read the last reviews, i hesitated. Then i went on Tripadvisor and read excellent reviews, so i booked for one night. The place is just amazing: clean, friendly and a super nice pool. Near the beach.There is an excellent soda (localcosta rican restaurant) next door, and you are 3 minutes to town with the bicycle. A plus point: the little kitchen and the covered terrace where you can chill as a prince! I definitely recommend this hotel. Thanks to Francesca, Evan and Brian who made my stay so comfortable ... I ll be back soon.

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Nina Lestrade

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2013

Liked: The staff is nice, there is a nice commun area, a swimming pool

Disliked: The place smells like dog, there are 5 dogs so dog poo and pie all around the pool where the dorm and the bathroom is, everything is dirty. Made me want to throw up. People are nice but make noise late at night

The property's response is...

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Christian Schmidt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 April 2013

Liked: well, you could make more out of it

Disliked: I was in a dorm room outside at the pool (4 beds). The room looks more like a cabin for gardening tools. - Actually the door was not lockable (there was only bicyle-lock that was not lockable ) --> everybody could enter the "dorm" - the door was more a iron fence with a mosquito web than a door - no locks at the toilet door The pool: - i was not able to see the gound of the pool because the water was so dirty The kichten - Cats and dogs are running over the kitchentable while preparing food - the chlorine of the pool really f***ks you up in the dorm when your trying to sleep. Next day I left (even though I payed for 2 nights). Got sick the next day because I couldn`t sleep a second (the fan was so noisy). But the fever was gone 1 day later fortunately. Haven´t seen any cleaning staff at my stay.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Francesca, the property owner, was absolutely lovely. She provided an in-depth description of the city and local activities, and assisted with activity and travel plans. She treated the guests like family. The rest of the staff was also very friendly.

Disliked: The window curtains in the bedroom were see-through. We hung our towels over the curtains for some privacy.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to a couple of good restaurants and the beach is about a two minute walk away :) The pool is amazing! Nice communal area. Also loved all the animals they have here!

Disliked: The street out front is a bit noisy..plus the roosters across the street seem to always make a lot of noise but, that's what earplugs are for!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lauren MacKay

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2013 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: We paid $12 a person a night for a room with 2 bunk beds in it. It was a great location as we were walking distance to beach and walking distance to 2 great/cheap sodas. There's a pool, fully functioning kitchen, free awesome Costa Rica coffee every morning, and a lot of dogs and people always to make you feel social and comfortable. Very chill, and missing it already!

Disliked: If you do not want to share a room they do offer private rooms for about 40-45 USD per night, which is a bit pricey. Also, the walk into town was about 20 minutes on the beach, or about a 2 USD cab ride.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

21 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely people, lovely staff. Great for people who travel alone. Met amazing people there. Very close to the beach and a great pool to chill.

Disliked: Just that at night, to grab a but, u cant go alone. It's a little far from the centre, so u either go in a cab or try to do what other people are Up to.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jamie Donkin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

07 January 2013 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: You couldn't ask for a better place to stay! Hotel Kangaroo is only a block and a half from the beach, and a short bike ride (and even quicker taxi ride - like 2000 colones) from the central part of Jaco. The hostel itself has a big kitchen, great lounge area, and a perfect little pool. The owner was very accommodating and wanting everyone to have a great time. Bryan was AWESOME. He was so helpful and even took us out two nights to show us a good time. I will say that, of all the things I read online about Jaco being an "unsafe" place, I never once felt that way - and I give the great staff at Kangaroo credit for making it a memorable trip. Also, surfing with Rasto was great! So worth it!!

Disliked: As of right now they are in the middle of renovating so things are a little noisy and maybe a little messy. HOWEVER, the place is going to look amazing when they are done!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Irene Juffermans

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

29 December 2012 Irene would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is super friendly and very willing to help and very social. The pool is very nice and clean and the doggies and the little kitten are very sweet. It's very close to the beach, so very nice and they have bikes for free :).

Disliked: I think they can clean better, the rooms, the toilets and the kitchen. (and sometimes the poo of the little puppy)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Priscilla Pace

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2012 Priscilla would recommend this property

Liked: Really fun, relaxed hostel with a homely vibe. The owner was away when we arrived so the common area was untidy and the room we booked wasn't available. But when she returned the next day we were upgraded to a private room on the balcony for the same price and organisation was restored.

Disliked: 15 min walk to the main drag but there are free bikes available

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, somewhat helpful with finding things to do.

Disliked: Rooms were poorly lit, windows did not seem secure, too far from the main strip.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mariela Perez Salazar

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

16 October 2012 Mariela would recommend this property

Liked: The admosphere, the staff, really nice. The room clean, nice and cozy. The comun areas so cool, perfect for having a beer and eat with your friends.

Disliked: They could have the dogs out of the kitchen.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charles Young

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2012 Charles would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was fantastic and the staff extremely helpful. It was a fantastic place to spend the last week of our 9 month backpacking adventure.

Disliked: Charles left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sandra Henning

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 June 2012 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Second stay there! Nice place, good atmosphere, perfect location (not too far from center, but away from the crowds, close to beach)!

Disliked: The eating area was a bit dirty from people leaving beer cans etc. Not so nice when you want to have breakfast there!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

30 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Funky little place. Comfortable beds with a choice of dormitory of private room accommodation. Nice pool onsite, TV room, WI-FI. Super friendly staff and free bike hire.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the entire stay was awesome! manager jeanie and evan were very accommodating. i definitely recommend this place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Diane Truong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2012 Diane would recommend this property

Liked: great atmosphere, friendly staff

Disliked: A/C was advertised, however an A/C was not physically located in one of the dorm rooms. Also, dorm rooms could use a little renovation and sprucing up.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gaude Aleman Zuniga

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 April 2012 Gaude would recommend this property

Liked: The property is great!!

Disliked: Nothing, everything is excellent, specially the pool and the bikes!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

maria ramirez

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

05 April 2012 maria would recommend this property

Liked: My friend Natalia and i enjoyed our stay at your hostel. The hostel is near to the beach, , the price is great and the security is prime! The room was clean and comfortable,hot wáter shower. Hotel was quiet, large pool with warm wáter, it was so pleasant. , theThe reception staff were were super friendly and helpful, also they speak both english and spanish. We highly recommend this hostel. I loved the star shaped lamps, beautiful. Mi amiga Natalia y yo disfrutamos mucho nuestra estadia en su hostel, el hostel esta ubicado cerca de la playa, el precio es excelente, además es muy seguro. El cuarto es muy limpio y confortable, con duchas de agua caliente. El hostel es tranquilo, con una picina grande, la temperatura del agua es tibia es muy agradable y placentera. El personal de la recepción fue muy amigable y nos dieron buenas recomendaciones, ellos hablan muy bien ambos idiomas ingles y español. Definitivamente recomendamos este hostel en jaco. Por cierto me encanto las lámparas con forma de estrellas, muy bellas.

Disliked: have to leave.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andris Reinholds

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2012 Andris would recommend this property

Liked: Good swiming pool

Disliked: Andris left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

16 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was great. there is a pool and free bike uses. we had our own room and bathroom and it was great. definetly worth the price!

Disliked: Not located in Jaco town directly. needed to either bike or take a 2 min taxi. the common room is a bit disorganized and smelly.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel Kangaroo is a great place. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. They helped us book a canopy tour. They also have bikes to take out and ride in town for free. They pool is nice, and you can walk to the beach in a few minutes. It's the perfect place to stay near Jacó!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Jaco hostels