HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Casa Tago

Hotel | Del Antiguo Seguro, Social 75 mts al Este, Alajuela, Costa Rica -

92.8% Overall Rating

34 out of 34 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/07/2013)

Michelle Vo thinks…

"we arrived super late night and the place was locked down by a gate, but there was a guy manning the reg desk. carlos it may have been? really nice.. wifi actually worked too!! we stayed in the 2…"

Read all Hotel Casa Tago reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Alajuela?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Alajuela

Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo and HOstel Boutique
17.88 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel Eskalima
24.59 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
HOTEL CORTEZ AZUL
12.50 USD

Hostel 81.7% 90 reviews
Maleku Hostel
17.05 USD

Hostel 87.1% 85 reviews
Hotel Cala Inn B&B
13.86 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Villa Pacande
16.00 USD

Hotel 83.3% 19 reviews
Hotel Pacande
35.00 USD

Guesthouse 89.8% 18 reviews
Hotel II Millenium
26.33 USD

Hotel 77.1% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.8%

Overall Rating

34 out of 34 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Casa Tago'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
97.6%
Value
92.0%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 31 of 34 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carroll Reetz

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2014 Carroll would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, spacious room, helpfulness of the owners.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

04 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, bright interior decoration, quiet. attentive staff.

Disliked: I would have preferred a room with exterior windows.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michelle Vo

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

10 July 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: we arrived super late night and the place was locked down by a gate, but there was a guy manning the reg desk. carlos it may have been? really nice.. wifi actually worked too!! we stayed in the 2 person room which looked much like a hotel room. everything seemed really clean. we basically knocked out and was out the very next morning. woke up to breakfast (lady who makes it was very attentive and nice).

Disliked: the towels are rock hard! at least i got a good exfoliating experience out of them. ouch!! the morning lady at the reg desk with the pony talk was non too attentive and tried to overcharge us for the stay. we kept saying i have the confirmation and spoke with costanza and had to fish out the confirmation for her to charge us the right rate. ugh! i hate that.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to airport.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Sobol

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: The Owners were absolutly wonderful! They spoke very good english, were very professional and extremely helpful. We stayed here at the begining of our costa rica trip and at the end we were supposed to stay at a different hostel. The shuttle driver could not find it and was very shall we say difficult and he just pulled up to Casa Tago and dumped us. So once again the owners were wonderful, they looked up our hostel and gave us detailed directions on how to get there. We were so thankful for them! But anyway..Casa Tago is in a nice area of town with tons of shopping and good restaurants. It is a convenient 10 min from the airport which cost us $6. We had a private room with ensuite bathroom, it was comfortable, clean and had a great view of the mountains. They also made and served a wonderful breakfast of coffee, homemade juice, eggs, bread with butter & jam and fuit. yummy! So stay here & you will be very happy!

Disliked: nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Kilback

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean, included breakfast which they make fresh for you. The owners were very helpful and friendly, quick to accommodate. Our fan didn't work so it was replaced right away for us. There is a tv in the room too. Good location, close to airport and bus terminal. I would definitely go back!

Disliked: Nothing that I can think of! Could have been cheaper I guess, but its probably on par for that area.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a first class place to start and end your holiday in Costa Rica, and central enough as a general base too. It is smart and very clean, with a family atmosphere and genuinely friendly, very helpful staff. Constanza and her husband make perfect hosts, they ironed out any problems we had, were interested in our expereinces and encouraged our attempts to speak Spanish. We found oursleves lingering to chat after every good fresh breakfast. We would definitely go back there.

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike. It might not suit people looking for wild parties, it is a quiet place to stay - which suited us.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lisa Shender

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 July 2011 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Easy 6 block walk to bus stop to Monteverde. Helpful staff...provided maps and directions to bus stop and nearby restaurants.

Disliked: Room was a bit hot...no AC. But the staff was very nice and actually gave us an extra room fan.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very kinjd and helpful staff

Disliked: It was a pity we did not have an outside window.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Exceptionally clean, friendly, tastefully decorated. Plenty of electrical outlets. Good wifi.

Disliked: No reading lights.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

13 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean

Disliked: room number 3 need to have more fresh air.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was bright, smelled good, the staff was crazy friendly and helpful, the breakfast was good, the internet worked, the room was great.

Disliked: You have to get someone to let you into the property every time, which was somewhat annoying

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel Casa Tago was just a short cab ride (5-10 minutes) from the airport and within walking distance of stores, restaurants, and banks. The staff was incredibly welcoming and amazingly helpful. Overall, it was a great value for the price.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

19 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect!Clean,safe,friendly!Delicious breakfast!!!Big recommend!Thank You for great hospitalilty

Disliked: everything was perfect

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

18 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful owners.

Disliked: We could hear the people in the room next to us pretty clearly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Constanza and her husband spent so much time helping us plan our activities while we were in Alajuela. It is such a clean and friendly hostel, and the breakfast was easily the best we had throughout our entire trip in Costa Rica.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ola Siwertsson

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

15 December 2010 Ola would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly people working there. Very nice and clean rooms and perfect breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sehr hilfreiches Personal bei der Planung unserer Aktivitäten vor Ort.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

brett Graham

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 November 2010 brett would recommend this property

Liked: It was like walking into an Oasis after our last hostel. I couldn't believe how clean and up market it was. Staff will go the extra bit for you. Definitely recommended. Great value for money.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel Casa Tago was extremelly clean. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The hotel had guidebooks available for our use, an excellent breakfast was included and the hotel is extremlly safety conscious. I would stay here again and will recommend it to all visiting Costa Rica.

Disliked: It was a bit hard to find. Better directions are needed from the airport.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly family run this place and will do what they can to help you out. Its not a party place but a good clean safe place to stay at when you arrive or leave Costa Rica

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very handy for the airport, clean, friendly staff & good value for money.

Disliked: Not "fun" but that's not what you stay in Alajuela for.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Leaver

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2010 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was super friendly and extremely hospitable even lending me a plug adapter to charge my toothbrush up. As this was our final stop in Costa Rica, a taxi was arranged for us even though we were leaving at 5am in the morning.We stopped in room 3 and found it more than adequate with cable tv and air conditioning as well as a super comfy bed and free wifi (always a must to keep the wife quiet).There is also a great free continental style breakfast.

Disliked: Richard left no negative feedback.