HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Hotel Cortez Azul

Hotel

Avenida 5, btwn Calle 2 & 4, Del museo Jan Santamaria 100 mts norte y 75 oeste, Alajuela, Costa Rica

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 68%

Location 88%

Safety 88%

Staff 88%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Cable TV
  • Café
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Internet Access
  • Luggage Storage
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Wake-up calls
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Alajuela?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 68%

Location 88%

Safety 88%

Staff 88%

Value 78%

Showing 1-4 of 4 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Really nice backyard with garden. Cool mosaic mirrors. Nice location. Helpful staff. Provided fruit with breakfast (though was gone quickly)

Disliked: We had double room that had no window. It was very hot in our room as there was no fan and no air coming in; we had to sleep with our door open. No hot water.I had to ask to get more toilet paper. Tiny pillows.Saw ants in breakfast cereal.Noisy.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Good hostel and staff

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Hotel Cortez Azul has everything you can ask for in a hostel and has a plus of a backyard little garden and a beautiful view from the terrace.

Disliked: I wasn't very lucky with the room since it was a room withouth a window.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The staff are very friendly and eager to help you with anything. It's pretty close to the bus station, just a few minutes walk (however, get directions before arriving by bus because it can be kind of confusing, or take a taxi). Nice outdoor space and terrace in the backyard. Kitchen for use of guests. Communal room near the front of the property. Good security.

Disliked: We disliked very much the private double room with en-suite that we were assigned. It is room number 2, right near the front of the property. Hope (or better yet, don't even book it) that you don't get room number 2. This room looks kind of like an additional room that was put together afterwards. The walls don't go up to the ceiling, so near the ceiling there is painted cardboard that finishes off the wall. Needless to say, this does not soundproof at all and I don't think we could have possibly stayed in a louder room (and we're not talking typical hostel loud, but you can hear EVERYTHING loud and the street in the front isn't exactly quiet). The room itself isn't bad, but it needs a good cleaning ( dust pouring off the picture frame hung right above your head and dust covering the fan). The bathroom is where we had the biggest problem. This is an outdoor space that was covered up and tiled and made into a bathroom ( it looks once again, like an after thought). You walk right out of your room and into an elevated flower bed, which hurts like crazy when you walk into it. The worst part was that the "private bathroom" can be completely viewed by a window in the other actually private room ( number 1). The window is fairly high and covered with draperies (but on the inside of the other room). All it takes is one taller person ( or determined person) to stand on the bed and look right into your "private bathroom". I was in the middle of a shower when I discovered this, by looking up and seeing the drapes suddenly close shut, and spent the rest of my shower (as I was covered with soap at the time) huddled up against the wall so hopefully the people in the adjacent room, could not see me. Now my husband and I both wanted to give this place a chance because the owner was so nice and the location and security were good, but we would not stay here again. If you are going to book here, do not book a room with a "private bathroom".

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: We were sent to another property whih was verry nice but out of town a ways

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Safe place, always guarded entrance.Nice kitchen and garden site.

Disliked: Sometimes and some rooms very noisy.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: Staff were very helpful and friendly, speaking some English.The backyard kitchen and patio were nice to sit in and to visit with other travellers from around the world.Computer access was much appreciated.Location is close to needed amenities--post office,grocery store,bus station,cafes,etc.The front bedroom was spacious and, in spite of no windows, the fan was adequate to keep down heat and cool the room for sleeping. Duna, the resident dog.

Disliked: I wasn't aware that payment was to be made, on arrival, and in cash for all nites stayed..The front room received some street noise and from upstairs clients, especially in early morning, on the stairs.The room could have used a good cleaning--floors,fan. Room was not cleaned for the 3 nights I stayed.Would have liked some wall hooks for hanging up clothes,etc.Kitchen cleanliness is o.k., depending on the clients.Very basic breakfast.No warm water.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: Very cool hostel. Excellent staff and location. I'll be back!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Manager was very friendly and helpful in directing my friend to a eating place with vegetarian dishes. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean. The decoration and setup of the hostel was very nice, artistic and a welcome change to all the hostels and cabanas I stayed in at the same price range.

Disliked: No complaints, the city itself is hard to navigate since there are no street signs so get good directions or a driver who knows where it's at.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability