HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Villa Colonial

Hotel | Calle de las Maravillas, no 30-60, Cartagena, Colombia 00000

82.5% Overall Rating

118 out of 133 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/04/2014)

Sinead Scott thinks…

"This is a beautiful colonial building with tiled floors, built around a courtyard. It has two open air terrasses overlooking the nearby streets and city. Its very close to the famous Havana café, and…"

Read all Hotel Villa Colonial reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 26.51

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cartagena?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cartagena

Las Chancletas Beach Hostel
14.85 USD

Hostel 80.1% 22 reviews
Karmairi Hotel Spa
2.65 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
BANTU HOTEL BOUTIQUE
219.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Tree House Hostel
13.26 USD

Hostel 74.8% 6 reviews
Hotel Toledo
15.91 USD

Hotel 2 star 61.8% 43 reviews
Casa Bustamante Hotel Boutique
132.56 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Hostal Casa Nativa
18.08 USD

Hostel 85.6% 18 reviews
Hotel Casa Eden
84.84 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.5%

Overall Rating

118 out of 133 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Villa Colonial'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
86.4%
Value
79.2%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 88 of 129 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sinead Scott

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 April 2014 Sinead would recommend this property

Liked: This is a beautiful colonial building with tiled floors, built around a courtyard. It has two open air terrasses overlooking the nearby streets and city. Its very close to the famous Havana café, and Il Balconi restaurant. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful, drinks and breakfast are very reasonably priced. Rooms cleaned daily. Its a lovely quiet hotel.

Disliked: The only drawback is it is outside the old city, but this is reflected in the price.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, near to the centro, no noises, everything is near. Brand new very original Hotel, beutifull decoration, rooms are clean, flat screen tv, speedy internet. Very helpfull owner, everything went well and good organised.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is pretty close to the Center. the Stree or area is not dodgy. Bathroom was nice. Bett was comfy. I would recomman AC if you cann afford it. it is hot.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2013

Liked: Location.

Disliked: See above question 2.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013

Liked: You couldn't get in or out without getting buzzed in so it felt quite safe which was necessary as it is down a really dodgy street in a really dodgy neighbourhood.

Disliked: Dodgy area, staff were rude and unhelpful and it lacked character. No common areas apart from the foyer and wi-fi doesn't work in the rooms.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013

Liked: Our room was tiny which made it very hot and stuffy but it was very clean and had a tv with cable which was a nice treat.

Disliked: Staff are dishonest and unhelpful. We booked a basic double room and were placed in one with a fan and aircon. When we were shown to our room the guy gave us a control to turn on the aircon so we used it and it was lovely. When we went to pay, however, we were told that we had to pay the rate for a superior room because we used the aircon, not the fan. We wouldn't have used it if we'd known and we felt that it was really dishonest of the staff to not mention this to us when we checked in. They wouldn't budge either and the lady got quite agressive with us so we paid the higher rate! BEWARE!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ryan McKenzie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2013 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds, nice room. Location was good within walking distance of the walled city. Nice balcony area.

Disliked: Ryan left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2013

Liked: It is clean, staff are friendly and there is a roof terrace

Disliked: Room did not have window and was very hot

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Analia Bobadilla

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2013 Analia would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in a private double room with AC and FAN, which was GREAT since Cartagena is HOT, HOT and HOT. This room was cheaper than a double private room in any hostel inside old city. Location is not the best but still was not unsafe in my opinion.

Disliked: Nothing.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice architecture and nice air-conned room

Disliked: Mainly the wifi. Although it did have wifi it never worked. Slightly pricey too, although maybe not for Cartagena

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, efficient, helpful staff, great location

Disliked: When I decided to extend my stay, they wanted to charge me 10% extra, which was not really needed

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tobias Camitz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 May 2013 Tobias would recommend this property

Liked: Its a alright place, nothing more and nothing less. Really quiet and nice dark rooms so easy to sleep. Put it here but FYI only spanish speaking staff. Really nice tv (normally dont stay in places with LCD TVs so that was nice.

Disliked: The wall between the bathrooms are not that good so u here the room next door very well if u dont shout the door to the bathroom

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and helpful, felt like home.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Franz-Willi Resannow

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2013 Franz-Willi would recommend this property

Liked: nice place with nice terrace, centrally located

Disliked: Franz-Willi left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, clean rooms with black wood furniture and big mirror, beautiful balcony where you can take a sun bath in the morning or drink a glass of wine in the evening. Even rocking chairs)

Disliked: Staff is friendly, but nobody speaks English so we communicate using pantomime.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

31 March 2013

Liked: I liked the sundeck on the second level and the personal did clean the room every day

Disliked: Sadly I had many problems I will discribe now. 1) The second night I took a girl into my single room for 4 hours - had a chat with the young guy who worked at night and he said it is alright for a couple of hours, but normally it is not tolerated and you have to pay extra. After she left I thought it is fine, but when I checked out he overcharged me without telling me anything the next two days I stayed there. And the worse thing (beside he was not honest with the couple of hours)... he did not charge the regular price he was supposed to, instead he overcharged me with 70% instead of 50%. Just charging (actually overcharging) without tellin is not nice. At the day of the checkout nobody had his phone number to ask him about the situation two days ago. 2. On my third day I asked to book a bus through there agency for tomorrow, but only the chef is supposed to talk/call them. The chef said it is no problem and I will have a bus for Saturday, on Saturday I got told "they are full, but tomorrow there will be a bus"), because the chef is there only seldom and noone else can give you informations about "when is a bus going and if and how" you need to wait for the chef... finally after I extended my stay for the second night over the check-out-time... the chef told me that there is no bus tomorrow... it is already occupied (but she kinda sweared that there is a bus two days ago already). So I ended up paying for a flight which sadly was 50K more expensive then a day before when I got the "SWEAR"-answer from the chef... so I ended up paying 50K COP more for the flight. 3) The checkout was the worsed...: After getting confranted with the extra charge of 70% which had been reduced to 50 percent because it was wrong buy this lying unsecure guy it came WORSE. They said the prices at hostelbookers are wrong and I need to pay 55,000 COP instead of 27usd (50,000COP) . Of course I denied that. After making some phone calls and wondering why hostelbookers "has a wrong price" the girl at the reception accepted my hostelbooker price of 50,000 COP. Because people where around at the reception I felt kinda ashamed about that discussion but wondering what all went wrong. Finally, the room was not bad - it smelled but had a flatscreen-cable-tv which is good enough to watch football at the weekend. But yeah... because of all this extracharges and this weird way how to act with people (I was polite all the time and it is actually the first really critical comment I have written) I didnt feel well there. Also the hostel is in a dodgy street where you should take a little care at night. I would not recommend it to single female travellers though.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mario Grill

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2013 Mario would recommend this property

Liked: nice place and very helpful staff...highly recommended!

Disliked: Mario left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

02 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Frindly staff, good room, all clean.

Disliked: Nothing

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jesse Greenwald

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: I think travelers should be weary of this location. We made a reservation days in advance for a Saturday night because we knew it would be difficult to find something without a reservation. When we arrived to the hotel we were told that there were no rooms left. I showed our reservation and the front desk told us there was nothing they could do and we should walk around the neighborhood and find something else at 10 on a Saturday night. Luckily after several attempts we found something and when we returned the next day, we were told by the owner, after she found my reservation, there was nothing they can do because they were booked up. We got our deposit back but were very disappointed with the way were treated. I believe there are several options in Cartagena and if you do not want potential problems, I would avoid this irresponsible place and owner

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

12 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: No complaints

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen McClure

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2013 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. On a quiet street but only a 5-10 minute walk to the old town, plus lots of inexpensive places to eat around the hotel area. Very safe area. The single room I stayed in was comfortable, good shower, great bed, had cable TV, and very quiet at night.

Disliked: Stephen left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

14 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: New bathroom, nice tv and air con in superior double room.

Disliked: Poor neighborhood, not very safe. Staff do the minimum.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Paul Guiriba

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 November 2012 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: The people that run the place were really nice and helpful. They were very family oriented. It was near nice places to eat and less expensive compared to the ones inside the city wall.

Disliked: They did not give me soap every day. The Internet did not always work and they really need a new one.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Timney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location. Staff was very helpful in setting up tours. I wish I could remeber the name of the women who helped me at the desk. She always referred to me as Mister David. She was great. She did an excellent job in making my stay great.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.