We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Toledo

2 star Hotel | Av San martin No 6- 40, Bocagrande, Cartagena, Colombia .

61.8% Overall Rating

27 out of 43 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2014)

Radek Cermák thinks…

"Very good location, it was very near to the beach and supermarkets, the quality of the room was great."

Read all Hotel Toledo reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 0.01
  • Breakfast USD 0.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cartagena?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cartagena

Hostel Green House Coffee
13.62 USD

Hostel 70.5% 3 reviews
Apartamento Santo Toribo
477.14 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Papaya Hostel Getsemani
17.02 USD

Hostel 84.8% 13 reviews
Media Luna Hostel
15.08 USD

Hostel 74.5% 14 reviews
Hostal la casona de getsemani
20.43 USD

Guesthouse 53.3% 3 reviews
Hostel Mamallena
12.16 USD

Hostel 87.7% 29 reviews
Casa Villa Colonial
35.99 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Casa Bustamante Hotel Boutique
121.59 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
61.8%

Overall Rating

27 out of 43 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Toledo'

Atmosphere
49.6%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
57.6%
Staff
65.6%
Value
62.4%
Safety
62.4%
Refine your results Showing 32 of 36 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Radek Cermák

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Radek would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, it was very near to the beach and supermarkets, the quality of the room was great.

Disliked: The quality of breakfasts was very poor, every day the same- egg with toast and butter, lunch was without soup. The staff didnt know about our reservation and otherwise they counted us triple higher price than we should pay.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2013

Liked: Not much

Disliked: As written above

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Evaristo andrade

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

01 February 2012

Liked: Bedrooms very badly conserved.

Disliked: Evaristo left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money for any traveler with ideal, clean rooms. Staff are friendly and helpful and speak english. Pretty quiet but the location is good for restaurants and close to the beach. I would recommend to a traveler on a budget as its cheap and a safe room.

Disliked: The walls are very thin and you can hear everything that people are saying/doing. There is no atmosphere at all.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2011

Liked: big rooms

Disliked: very empty feel about it

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: stuff was friendly, hotel was cheap, rooms clean, the neighbourhood is good, lots of restaurants, the taxi ride to the city is just 5000 pesos, very close to the beach

Disliked: we arrived later then planned but called before, and they said it would be no problem, but when we got there our room was already cancelled, but all in all no problem, because we got our room back

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a little bit far away from the old town, but in the middle of Bocagrande with all its amenities. Lot's of Bars and Restaurants and really safe also at night.

Disliked: It's a little bit shabby, but the rooms were clean and the staff was nice. But don't expect to much :-)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Nicolas Augusto Arboleda Jaramillo

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2011

Liked: The hotel is very well located on Cartagena's main avenue. Good air conditioning system.

Disliked: The showers didn't have pressure. The sheets seemed dirty. The door of the room didn't close well. There was too much noise in the rooms around. The staff didn't know that I had a reservation.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break

03 December 2010

Liked: Close to the beach

Disliked: No fresh air in the room. Aircondition gives a cold but not fresh air. Bad smell in the corridor and in the room. People are smoking in the corridor.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Simon Greener

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 November 2010 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: It is very central with the beach just one block away. The restaurant out the front was also good value with good sized portions and plenty of options. The hotel tour guide 'Billy White' was also very colourful and helped us get the best out of Cartagena

Disliked: Our room was on the same level as the dining area so we literally walked into diners as we opened our door.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Michelle Gee

29 May 2010 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good with a good restuarant and beer patio in front, only a block to the beach. Our room was cleaned everyday. However the showers are cold and the rooms are run down. It is overpriced and there are cheaper options on the street behind the Toledo with nicer rooms. The travel desk didñt have much information.

Disliked: Michelle left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

23 May 2010

Liked: I'm sad to say that Hotel Toledo is a complete dump. The rooms are run down and most of them have no windows. The only two things that can be said in favour of the hotel is it's location which is the main street in Bocagrande and the cheap price. If you want to have a pleasant stay in Cartagena I would recommend turning up and trying any of the other hotels on the same street instead of staying in Toledo, even if they are slightly more pricey.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

21 May 2010

Liked: The only positive thing about Hotel Toledo was that it had wi-fi to book an alternative. They didnt have a record of our booking when we showed up, the mattress has to be the most uncomfortable one in South America, the sheets were dirty, the shower head was a hose and I managed to flood the bathroom after a 5min shower, and they told us breakfast was available until 10am but when we showed up at 9:30 they said it had just finished and refused to serve us. Stay somewhere else.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hans Soderquist

04 April 2010 Hans would recommend this property

Liked: Good location close to the beach. 2-3$ for a taxi to old town. Cheap double room. Good restaurants nearby.

Disliked: Hans left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rodrigo Guzman Valenzuela

11 March 2010 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: Un hotel en pleno Bocagrande, sin grandes lujos, con lo justo para alojar y un desayuno preciso. Tal vez se extraña la falta de aire acondicionado en las piezas pero el que se pone de manera general es adecuado (estuvo fresco siempre). Tiene una agradable terraza de cara a la calle, está a una cuadra de la playa y cumple en la relacion precio/calidad.

Disliked: Rodrigo left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

11 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Staff tried hard to please even with the language difficulty. Little english.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Be sure to ask for a double room if getting the budget option as the bedframes seem to be newer. Air conditioning kept on cutting out, but they would quickly try to fix it when asked to. Seems to be among the cheapest private rooms in Cartagena. Be sure to bring a small wire-lock to tie your bag to the bedpost as the doors don't seem particularly secure.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Susanne Feldhaus

01 February 2010 Susanne would recommend this property

Liked: it's a good value for it's price. The rooms are nice. Those with window are very loudy but have Wifi. The others seem not to have it.The stuff is really helpful but the travel agency is too expensive. Look for another one to book you tours.it is just a block away from the beach in Boca Grande and has several eating places in the direct neighbourhood.i enjoyed staying here and i would do it again. To go to the centre you can get a Cab ($2) or have a nice walk along the beach (about 30 min).It is a really good value for it's price!

Disliked: Susanne left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

30 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Budget hotel, a great break from dorms if thats what you{re looking for, but nothing to write home about. Friendly staff also, particularly if you speak spanish

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Randi Friesen

28 December 2009

Liked: I dont know where they got the pictures on the website but it was a dive! we reserved a delux private with ensiute and we got a dingy windowless room with 2 bunkbeds!($45 niteCAD) The staff also tried to charge me more than previously quoted. its close to the beach but far from the old city.

Disliked: Randi left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

21 December 2009

Liked: This was a hotel of two halves - the room had no window, was full of cockroaches and desperately needed some decoration and a plumber and electrician in it. Although the cleaner was about most of the day and did clean the room, her area was filthy both our floors and out in the hallway. It seems like someone is not spending money on maintenance or cleaning equipment and training. Laundry was twice the price as other hostels, although it included ironing.Having said that, the staff were obviously quite switched on and entrepreneurial. All of the rooms without windows seemed to go to backpackers, and they seemed to be busy with happy package holiday makers as well. The beds are quite comfortable in comparison to recent stays in other hostels. The staff were always friendly and courteous, the pool was clean and useable and there were quite a few facilities available such as the resident guide, a cambio etc etc. For Bocagrande, it is in quite a good location with loads of restaurants, shops and services in the vicinity. So if we could get some of the peddlers selling beads off the beach and decorating hotels, it could be quite good??

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Sean Merry

15 October 2009 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: This falls under the banner, you get what you pay for. The area is on a main road, it is close to Old Town (25min walk). There were quite a few cockroaches in the room, and yelling and screaming were clearly audible from other rooms. All in all, a cheap base to work out where you´ll stay in Cartegena next. We found El Viajero in Old Town fit the bill best.

Disliked: Sean left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

07 October 2009

Liked: Beds ok

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Findlay Dickson

03 October 2009 Findlay would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near the beach. Air-con and a small pool. Had breakfast and a restaurant/bar right out front. Supermarket round the corner and buses and taxes into the old town on the doorstep. Also very close to where the Chiva party buses go from. Excellent value.And no mosquitoes!

Disliked: Findlay left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

24 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location in central hotels casino,beaches, not clean may be we booked lower rate 24 usd for 2 people private room>>>>fair for money.. cartagena is good as little miami,usa but less white sand beaches,

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.