HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cali hostels

Reviews of La Pinta Boogaloo (old Green Saman)

Hotel | Carrera 3 oeste # 11 - 49, Bella Vista, Cali, Colombia 0000

83.0% Overall Rating

17 out of 19 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/04/2014)

marcela lukasukis thinks…

"I ended up staying longer than I intended! Its a great place to sit back and relax... And some of the tours are pretty great. The staff is super friendly and will go the extra mile to help."

Read all La Pinta Boogaloo (old Green Saman) reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Steam room
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 27.57
  • Breakfast USD 5.30

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cali?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cali

Hostal Santa Rita
30.00 USD

Guesthouse 94.9% 5 reviews
The Green House Cali
10.60 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Cali Hostel
9.01 USD

Hostel 94.3% 4 reviews
Hostal Casa Aguacanela
15.91 USD

Guesthouse 67.1% 4 reviews
Maison Violette Hostel
10.60 USD

Hostel 93.9% 8 reviews
Colombian Hostel
11.66 USD

Hostel 92.9% 62 reviews
El Viajero Hostel Cali & Salsa School
11.13 USD

Hostel 87.4% 22 reviews
APARTAESTUDIO AMOBLADO
37.12 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.0%

Overall Rating

17 out of 19 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Pinta Boogaloo (old Green Saman)'

Atmosphere
86.3%
Location
73.7%
Facilities
79.0%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
89.5%
Value
82.1%
Safety
90.5%
Refine your results Showing 15 of 18 reviews
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff helps you with every question you have.

Disliked: Wifi didnt go sometimes. Cold showers. One t- shirt was not white after the laundry.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

marcela lukasukis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 April 2014 marcela would recommend this property

Liked: I ended up staying longer than I intended! Its a great place to sit back and relax... And some of the tours are pretty great. The staff is super friendly and will go the extra mile to help.

Disliked: marcela left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Mazuera

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 November 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a great pool, which I enjoyed a lot, since the weather at Cali was really hot. The customer service and the bedroom was perfect. I had my doubts because of the last reviews, but everything was fine. I really recommend it.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalia Fraija

Alone

City break

14 November 2013 Natalia would recommend this property

Liked: I really like the atmosphere and the staff

Disliked: Natalia left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

GIANNI MAKRIDIS

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

10 October 2013 GIANNI would recommend this property

Liked: The place is huge, never have to wait for a bathroom, lots of garden area to hang out in, breakfast included and all for the cheapest price in cali...increible! Staff are very, very cool ;)

Disliked: My dorm bed mattress has definitely had it's day. The internet is a little bit unstable.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jan Brotanek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

29 July 2013 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: Lot of space. Nice swimming pool. Nice garden. Big kitchen and common rooms. Everything absolutely clean. OK location with cheap restaurants, local fast food and friendly locals just one block away, connected quite well with public transportation system (absolutely no need to take taxi during the day).

Disliked: Noise - loud music playing all the time all around.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2013

Liked: The staff were very helpful and friendly and the hostel was quiet. Because it is located away from the centre you can buy reasonably priced snacks and drinks from the bar. There is a 'restaurant' but no cook so whatever you order will be prepared by whoever is on reception. Although the hostel is rundown and shabby, it is still quite 'ok'. A bit of TLC would go a long way. The area feels quite safe, there are a few small shops up the road, but we were advised to leave ALL of our valuables at home. I felt this was unnecessary, the locals are extremely friendly.

Disliked: At the bus station none of the taxis knew where the place was located - make sure they take you to Bellavista and not to the centre. The pool is dirty. They include breakfast, but it's actually a bit of a mission to get it, even for a coffee. There is no hot water and they charge extra for towels, which, given the room price is a bit much. We got our clothes washed, only to discover at our following destination that they had done a very poor job - several tshirts ruined and others with new stains.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

14 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel, set in a large traditional finca is one of the best hostels I’ve ever stayed in. The Swimming pool and gardens were lovely, and were great to go back to having spent a day wandering the busy centre of Cali. The free breakfast and all day coffee were a bonus, as were the free salsa lessons and movie nights. The hostel had a very sociable feel - the staff took us to salsa nights and other club nights and arranged bbq and cocktail nights at the hostel. I felt very safe here, and each person is allocated their own (large) locker to store valuables securely. The staff were very friendly and helpful too. This is an all-round great hostel and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a private room which was really big with loads of character, a very comfy bed and a big bathroom including a huge bath. Best thing about this hostel though is the staff - super friendly and helpful and with good English. Outside area was lovely - pool great for relaxing

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

dave veazey

Alone

Family Holiday

30 September 2012 dave would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is very helpful, he even acted as an interpreter on a tour of the city for me and joined in with a salsa class with me. It has a great swimming pool, giant screen with live soccer. The food is great and there is always free coffee. The beds are very comfortable and any noise ceases at 11pm, so you can always get a good nights sleep.

Disliked: Its a little out of the way but taxis are cheap and the owner evens provides transport on occassions. It is within walking distance of the Zoo, which is well worth a visit.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the most beautiful hostel I have ever stayed in. The yard is beautiful and the pool is perfect for the hot Cali weather. Fraser and Luke are a ton of fun and have great advice for things to do. The atmosphere is relaxed, but people here definitely know how to have fun.

Disliked: The only con is that the hostel is slightly outside of the city center (but that could just as well be a pro for those who want an escape from the city bustle).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location just outside the San Antonio area, fantastic big building with lots of space in the dorm rooms along with comfy beds. Great facilities available, nice relaxed atmosphere in the hostel along with incredible food served in the restaurant. Would highly recommend and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Cali after staying here!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marion Ohlmann

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

19 April 2012 Marion would recommend this property

Liked: It is def. a nice place and good offer, but there could be done some work optimizing the services: like there was no food on offer when we stayed and the choice of drinks was very reduced. Sometimes it was hard to find someone of the staff. But if this would be improved it would be a great clam and nice place to stay! Nice garden as well-

Disliked: s.o.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice garden, house, swimming pool and communal areas.

Disliked: The place is nice and worth checking out if you are heading to Cali but we were a little disappointed that some of the features advertised were not available. It is advertised that there is a Jacuzzi in the double rooms (this being the reason we chose to stay). There was an old Jacuzzi in the room we stayed in but the functions for the water jets had been disabled. Also when we tried to fill it with hot water (on 3 different occasions) to use as a normal bath we were only able to add about 2 inches or so before the hot water ran out. We also had to clean the bath before using it. It looked as if the dog had been washed in the tub. The Turkish bath was not functioning when we were there and neither was the shower beside the sauna. On hostelbookers it was advertised that a gourmet breakfast was included in the price but it is not. When we queried this, the owner admitted that there was a mistake on the hostelbookers website and gave it to us free anyway. It is advertised that there is a restaurant available for guests. We knew that the hostel was away from the restaurant precinct but were happy with this because we planned to eat at the onsite restaurant. After we ordered we were told that as only two people wanted the dinner it would not be viable for the chef to cook and that we would have to make other arrangements that night. After we returned from our early dinner in Cali Centro we were approached again by hostel staff who said that the chef had changed his mind and we could have the dinner if we wanted. A little too late and a little annoying. The hostel had just sprayed for pests when we turned up and we were not allowed to use the kitchen facilities during our stay. Disappointing but I guess it has to be done sometime. A few of the dazed cockroaches also turned up in our room.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Cathy Charles

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2012

Liked: This is actually a nice hostel with friendly staff and a nice pool, sauna and steam room. The hostel is spacious and plenty of communal areas to chill out. The food cooked by Josep is very good. It is reasonable valuable for money - it is just disappointing that so many of its claims are not true.

Disliked: Not fairly represented in its description. We picked this hostel as it sounded amazing on Hostel Bookers and on its website. Unfortunately, it just didn´t deliver on so many of its claims leaving us disappointed.

The property's response is...


See all Cali hostels