HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Xiamen hostels

Reviews of Antelope Inn

Hotel | No.218, Zengcuo'an, Huandao Road, Siming District, Xiamen, China 361005

90.7% Overall Rating

16 out of 16 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/07/2014)

Sergio Lobos thinks…

"Nice place to meet with chinesse people and the staff girl is very friendly (but she dont speak english). Location very good if you love the street food."

Read all Antelope Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.43

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Xiamen?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Xiamen

June Hostel
9.73 USD

Hostel 85.1% 13 reviews
Baijiacun International Youth Hostel
8.92 USD

Hostel 80.7% 68 reviews
Xiamen Old Town Youth Hostel
12.16 USD

Hostel 80.8% 22 reviews
Lody Inn
1,037,445.29 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Xiamen Wall Inn
36.96 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Mola Mola Hostel
8.92 USD

Hostel 71.0% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.7%

Overall Rating

16 out of 16 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Antelope Inn'

Atmosphere
93.8%
Location
82.5%
Facilities
82.5%
Cleanliness
92.5%
Staff
97.5%
Value
93.8%
Safety
92.5%
Refine your results Showing 15 of 16 reviews
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sergio Lobos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2014 Sergio would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to meet with chinesse people and the staff girl is very friendly (but she dont speak english). Location very good if you love the street food.

Disliked: Shared room with chinesse wc.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Ong

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Convenience, close to attractions, public transport, food, shops and nice neighbourhood. Very relax environment. Washing Machines, aircondition, TV,

Disliked: Toilet squating pan, with my bad knees having trouble.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet location, suuuuper friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Difficult to find, especially if you don't speak Chinese

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful hostess who met our taxi and regularly made us tea. Pleasant and comfortable common sitting room. Nice double room with sitting area immediately outside.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing. Wish we could have stayed longer.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very quaint and relaxing. Located in a cute new area of Xiamen

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Malte Chirvi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2012 Malte would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff!!!

Disliked: Malte left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Celia Jenkins

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2012 Celia would recommend this property

Liked: Although she spoke very little English, the landlady spoke slowly and carefully in Chinese so we could understand her (we both speak a little chinese). The location was great - the next street over has dozens of places to eat, most of them cheap and with amazing food - much cheaper than the centre of town. The hostel room was simple and nice - nothing too fancy. The air con worked well and there was a lovely seating area outside our door. The hostel was good value for money - one of the cheaper options in Xiamen. When we arrived near the area, we called the landlady who came and met us to lead us down the lane. It's a but diffcult to find first time - the lane is on the left hand side of a petrol station. Take a right to the end of the road, then follow the little lane for a few turns and you reach the hostel - not obviously marked but it has big iron gates, from which the hostel is on your right. On the day of our leaving, the landlady changed her plans for the day so that we could leave our bags with her and return to get them later, which was very kind of her.

Disliked: On HostelBookers, the hostel described itself as being able to offer a breakfast option, which actually wasn't available. We asked the landlady if she could provide coffee in the morning as there was a coffee maker in the sitting room, but she said she wasn't able to. She did however leave a pot of chinese flower tea for us each morning. Also, on HostelBookers the hostel said it provided a towel. I had to ask for the towel rather than it being in the room, and it was a small hand towel. If you are planning on going to the beach, or staying more than a weekend, bring your own towel! The toilet wasn't Western, which wasn't a huge problem, but something we would have liked. The landlady didn't explain to us on arrival about locking the front gates, which she sometimes does of an evening. The key for your room also has another key (which looked like a keyring) which is electronic - you need to hold it to the colourful light for the door to unlock. We called her late on our first evening and she explained to us, so we were thankfully able to get back in!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is unique in style and caters to both families and couples. It is close to all the good food in the area.

Disliked: The towels they offer are actually hand towels. The rooms don't actually have a sea view.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really nice atmosphere and the lady is really nice.

Disliked: it's a little difficult to find the hostel but if you give a call they will come to pick you up

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is extremely friendly. She gives great recommendations and provides an extremely comfortable place for travelers. The Inn is a bit out of the way and somewhat hard to find. However, getting lost in the neighborhood was an amazing experience. Locals doing their local thing, lots of fun to walk around and explore. One last note: Be ready to have some communication difficulties if you don't speak Chinese. You can get by with the check in process if you speak some, but the more Chinese you know the better

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Grimes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2012 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: We made this reservation at 10 PM at night, at 11 PM we showed up and she had our room ready for us. Just a sweet lady that runs the place by herself. The catch was that we had 2 other travelers with us that were unable to make a reservation they just showed up so the lady prepared a room for them. It is hard to find because it is tucked into this unique neighborhood that is really cool and the actual place is really neat.

Disliked: Just a little hard to find, everything else was great! Especially the lady who single handedly ran the place.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Bennett

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Beautifully and simply decorated. Location out of Xiamen, but in beautiful Zengcuo'an village, which is well worth a visit even if not staying there. Ramshackle streets that go from number 100-300 and you've no idea where 218 is! Beach minutes from hostel and bike rental close by for exploring the coast too. Bus 857 goes to/from the railway station, so easy to get to if you don't want to use taxis too much! Had a fantastic trip!

Disliked: A little tricky to get to - fortunately found an English speaking person to help me phone the hostel and owner came to find us. Not a problem for me, but the toilet in the dorm room was a Chinese one, not a Western. Only 1 key/door swipe for a 4-bed dorm. If you're planning to be late out, may have to speak to the owner (very friendly, but little English!) as I got locked out one night! None of this would put me off staying again though - fantastic experience.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Michelle Fechtor

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2012 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very cheery and homey. The rooms were clean and simple, and the owner is very friendly and helpful. The adorable sitting area is great for tea and snacks or using your laptop. Though the city center is not particularly close, the public bus system is very good and there's a stop just a 1-2 minute walk from the hostel that will bring you directly downtown. Additionally, the old-town area in which the hostel is located is very cute and full of boutiques, bars, and little restaurants.

Disliked: The internet is unbearably slow and often cuts out. Also, there is no heating. This is bearable as I was always very warm at night due to the excellent bedding and availability of hot showers 24/7, but it means no time to warm your hands or relax without your fleece on.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly owners, nice communal sitting area, was made to feel welcome and given plenty of tea! I'd stay again.

Disliked: Long way from anywhere!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly lady who runs the place.

Disliked: She doesnt speak english, signs and notes on the walls are chinese-only as well. Also I think it's impossible to find on your own. We had a nice guy help us get a taxi, call the hostel, arrange for us to be dropped off at a gas station where we were picked up by the hostel lady. That worked but we were lucky.


See all Xiamen hostels