HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Kunming hostels

Reviews of Long May Youth Hotel

Hotel | #8 Beicanpo, Beimenjie, Kunming Kunming, China -

74.6% Overall Rating

15 out of 18 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/03/2013)

Gretchen Alther thinks…

"It is conveniently located, the rooms are bright and clean. Overall, a good value, and good option for budget travelers."

Read all Long May Youth Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kunming?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kunming

Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel
6.48 USD

Hostel 88.3% 88 reviews
Lost Garden Guesthouse
7.29 USD

Guesthouse 89.8% 53 reviews
IC Holiday SOHO Junyuan
8.11 USD

Hostel 85.7% 3 reviews
Kunming Mingtong Yingxian Youth Hotel
8.11 USD

Hostel 67.4% 50 reviews
IC Holiday Shuncheng
9.73 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The Hump Kunming
4.05 USD

Hostel 83.5% 396 reviews
Kunming Cloudland Youth Hostel
5.67 USD

Hostel 84.9% 544 reviews
Kunming chase dream hostel
4.86 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.6%

Overall Rating

15 out of 18 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Long May Youth Hotel'

Atmosphere
60.0%
Location
77.8%
Facilities
64.4%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
62.2%
Value
80.0%
Safety
83.3%
Refine your results Showing 17 of 17 reviews
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and in walking distance of Wenlin Jie and Green Lake.

Disliked: It can be very noisy, as sound travels easily between the rooms. The reception does not speak english, and the name on the outside of the hotel doesn't say Long May. It was confusing.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gretchen Alther

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013 Gretchen would recommend this property

Liked: It is conveniently located, the rooms are bright and clean. Overall, a good value, and good option for budget travelers.

Disliked: There are no common spaces, the walls are quite thin so there is some noice, and the desk staff speak little to no English. However, it was unimportant to me to hang out in common spaces in the hotel, there wasn't a lot of noise, and the staff were able to handle my questions.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is good if you are looking fir a relatively cheap double away from the crowd

Disliked: For us not a problem, but very little English spoken

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, very close to Yunnan University and Green Lake Park. It's a very nice area to walk around and observe. The property itself was clean and comfortable with free computer use, but no VPN for Facebook.

Disliked: Really the only trouble was the staff had very little English. I have a little Chinese so could muck it out, but this place looks like it caters more to young Chinese than Westerners. Still, the location was great and we enjoyed our time there.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Colleen Gillespie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2011 Colleen would recommend this property

Liked: Our double ensuite room was spotless, the decor was modern and the bed was comfortable.

Disliked: We only stayed one night so this wasn't really a problem for us, but the receptionist has limited English so anyone hoping for detailed help on getting around etc. may be disappointed. We also had issues with getting hot water for showers but this was soon sorted out.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Manuel Calurano Ramos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 August 2011 Manuel would recommend this property

Liked: very clean.

Disliked: although employees strive to help you this is difficult because they don't speak English. and the only conversation possible is through the web translators.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catherine Stewart

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2011 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: It was an excellent room, large and very clean. The location is good too. It is very good value for money.

Disliked: One of the staff members wasn't very helpful when we asked about a taxi and a bus.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: room very clean, hepful staff

Disliked: no wifi. although computer with good internet

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

serena humphries

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2011

Liked: The rooms are very nice and great value for money, modern and clean with nice touches like a kettle and a "mini bar" type section with water, noodles etc. "The free airport pick up was great and went smoothly but I believe they now charge 40 y.

Disliked: The beds are VERY hard, feels like sleeping on a wooden board rather than a mattress, we needed at least 2 doubled up blankets put under the sheet to offer any type of comfort. The location is quite noisy and if you are unlucky enough to be near the main door everyone lets it slam very loudly. The walls are paper thin and when I say you can hear everything your neighbour is up to I mean everything. One night (3.30am)we were treated to the sounds of a woman having a fantastic time with her boyfriend and then again the next morning, sounded like they were in our room! The most worrying event was that after we had moved to a larger (and quieter, thank god) deluxe suite I plugged the kettle in to an extension lead and shortly after we saw a sparking and smelt burning coming from it. Luckily I managed to quickly unplug everything. If we had not been in the rom at the time it most def would have resulted in a fire. On inspection the extension cord had some of the inside wires exposed and mended with tape!!! They cost about 10 yen to buy but someone decided to try and fix it instead of replace it, very dangerous, and makes me wonder what else isn't up to safety standards. Also the only person who speaks english is never there and although the staff try their hardest ,it is really hard to get information if you don't speak Mandarin,

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

hannah scott

As a family with children

Family Holiday

18 July 2011 hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Really lovely hotel/hostel, rooms really full of character! The staff are friendly and helpful. Very value for money!

Disliked: The staff don't speak much English or are able to give much information about Kunming, great passing through place though!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

06 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are kept very clean, and the location is nice if you want to be close to the Cuihu Lake and the University. Given what other rooms in this area cost, this hostel is a good deal and clean place to stay.

Disliked: The staff are a mixed story - some are very friendly and helpful and others are almost nasty. The bathrooms had a sewer-like smell, which is the fault of old pipes and not the hostel which kept everything very clean. I wouldn't not stay here because of this, but would recommend getting an air freshener or keeping the bathroom door closed at all times.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms with modern furnishings. Very clean modern ensuite toilet (strange glass doors though you can see the other person doing their business in the bathroom).

Disliked: They staff although very very friendly cannot speak english. We never really understood why our shower was never hot. When we asked reception... 20 mins later magically it worked... we're still bemused why or how?

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are very clean and luxurous! As well as the location, when you get to know it a bit.

Disliked: It's difficult when the staff is not spreaking any English. They are trying to help, but you need to speak to the boss on the phone to get things organised.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Nic Greco

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2010 Nic would recommend this property

Liked: we stayed at this hostel because everywhere else was full. but we were very surprised at how nice it was. we stayed in a double room. very clean. modern furnishings. big flat screen tv on the wall. staff didn't speak English but were very helpful. looked like they had a computer with Internet but no wireless. would stay again though.

Disliked: not much atmosphere. don't think they had a commonroom.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Dominic Rogers

03 May 2010

Liked: The only good thing was the shower.

Disliked: Dominic left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice location, clean, honest. As on the pics!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Gemma Taylor

18 August 2009

Liked: Nice and clean rooms (stayed in a twin with bathroom). Staff on reception had very basic english skills. We did not find the internet available. Rooms were quite but had thin walls so any noisey people in the corridore could be heard and matteress where on the hard side.

Disliked: Gemma left no negative feedback.


See all Kunming hostels