HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Teddybear Hotel

3 star Hotel | 43 Baoguo Road, Mt. Emei, Sichuan province, China, Emei Shan, China 614201

93.1% Overall Rating

113 out of 127 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/09/2014)

"Staff was very helpful about our trips around the area. You can leave your luggage to climb the Emei mount and then go back for it. Wifi in the room"

Read all Teddybear Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Banqueting facilities
  • Conference / meeting room(s)
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Beauty salon
  • Bicycle hire
  • Dry cleaning
  • Express check-in / out
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Newspapers
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room
  • Children's play area
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 61.72
  • Breakfast USD 1.62

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Emei Shan?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.1%

Overall Rating

113 out of 127 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Teddybear Hotel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
92.8%
Value
96.8%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 104 of 113 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Tracey Hill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2011

Liked: It was useful for hooking up with other travellers who were planning to hike on Emei Shan. There's a useful map given out with distances and times between the temples.

Disliked: It was just plain unfriendly. The staff didn't seem to care about the guests, just hung about in the reception area having a good time. The advice given about Emei Shan was not great. This Andy guy who's supposed to run it was nowhere to be seen. The room was not pleasant. One of the staff walked in on me while I was using the toilet, even though she knew I was in there. This is a place that's trading on the name, but not trying to live up to it any more.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All ok at Teddt Bear!

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Manuel Calurano Ramos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2011 Manuel would recommend this property

Liked: i received help from the staff.

Disliked: xxxxx

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2011

Liked: One of the girls behind the desk was very helpful and informative about the mountain treks, buses etc. and Andy the owner was friendly when he was about, although may also have been a bit drunk!!?!!

Disliked: The kitchen /restaurant staff were very unfriendly, and couldn't understand why you didn't talk mandarin and order food within 1 second of having menu! Most of the rooms are next to the bus station, where about 60 buses start out from 4:30am, amidst lots of shouting and honking, and the rooms don't have proper windows, so you need to be a really early riser!! Also tried to overcharge me the initial booking fee, and called me at 11pm to settle bill the night before i left!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The PERFECT place to begin your journey to Mt Emei

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bernie Hofmann

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 May 2011 Bernie would recommend this property

Liked: Andy was a great help in planning out our days. The place is kept clean. The restaurant generally serves a tasty variety of meals - (try the Sichuan Eggplant). Friendly staff and quiet neighbourhood . Nice outside sitting area. Close to the bus station.

Disliked: The dorm room is musty and damp leading to peeling wallpaper and moldy ceilings in the bathroom (the dorm is cheaper so take your pick as the other rooms do not have these issues). Staff needs to enforce the nonsmoking policy of the indoor areas, restaurant/ lounge (including other staff). Key deposit was not returned (we forgot to ask..., but should this be routine for the staff?).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

10 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the overall appearance of the hostel.

Disliked: Our room was VERY damp and there was no window, oh yes there was! Looking straight into the kitchen, very picturesque!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner, Andy, and his family were incredibly helpful in assisting me after I lost my passport hiking. The food at their restaurant was excellent. They safely stored our valuables when we went hiking for three days. The teddy bear hotel had my highest endorsement, a must for any emai shan adventure.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Majella Marry

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2011 Majella would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful, very knowledgable about the surrounding area. Great location and very good food.

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

sam kitching

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2011 sam would recommend this property

Liked: the location for us was ideal as we just came from the bus station after coming down from emie shan and left the next morning. the communal area/restaraunt was pretty cold but the food was really good. Andy seemed really nice for the short while we were there.

Disliked: no lockers in the dorm room or anything secure

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is just a good place to stay

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: Cockroaches in the room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lady at the reception was fantastic. The place had great facilities eg left luggage, walking sticks on loan, good hiking info. We got an upgrade to their lovely wooden double room (ensuite) which if you can afford it, is lovely, but beware ours was right next to the Buoguo bus station, and our room only had wooden shuttles (not windows) so it was noisy. The room & the beds were nice & big too.

Disliked: We stayed a 2nd night (basic double room) after Emei, and unfortunately the previous occupants left their cigarette butts in the bedside table. Disgusting! I guess I dont expect the cleaners to notice these cigarettes being hidden away but YUK! Lots of mosquitoes too...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location (50m to the bus station of Mt. Emei) and probably the only backpacker option in the area. Its an Ok stay to have a bed while going hiking. The rooms cleaniness is Ok. Its, however, a bit moldy which seems to be difficult to avoid considering the hight humidity in the area.

Disliked: At least to groundfloor doorm was extremely noisy at night. Its window more or less lead to the kitchen which means noise until 1 at night and from 7 in the morning. One night there was loud chatter for an hour or so. The the other mornign a fight was going on for quite a while. The staff seems to be bored and rather annoyed by tourist during the day. They are friendlier in the evening hours however. Strangely enough one morning garbage was spilled over the floor one morning and only cleaned after half an hour or so.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2010

Liked: The location

Disliked: Indifferent staff. Damp room with mold on the walls. Sometimes "forgot" to fulfil requests. Lackadaisical about safety of stored luggage.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pratick Mukherjee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2010 Pratick would recommend this property

Liked: Food was very reasonable and staff very helpful. Dorms were spaced out and comfortable.

Disliked: Everything was fine about this facility except there were mosquito armies everywhere after dark, and no matter how many times I sealed the room, they persistently infiltrated!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Reiner Manfred Subke

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2010 Reiner Manfred would recommend this property

Liked: Refurbished rooms all in timber and very clean

Disliked: Food was OK,but not to the standard of other guesthouses

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

25 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location Ö=

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

25 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I didnt have the greatest experience staying at The Teddy Bear Hotel, although thats not to say you wont. Firstly there is no free pick up from Emei town and then I had to argue with the staff to pay for my taxi. Secondly the room wasnt as clean as it should have been. And thirdly something I ate there gave me food poisoning for over a week! Other than that, the rooms are huge, and its located right next to the bus station to take you up the mountain.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rory Howard

06 March 2010 Rory would recommend this property

Liked: It's been recently refurbished and has a charm about it. The balcony provides a good view of the mountains in the morning, as they are pretty much right on the door step.Only problem I had was the noise, but after a long day hiking up mountains it doesn't matter so much.

Disliked: Rory left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel, rooms are very beautiful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

igor paz

14 October 2009 igor would recommend this property

Liked: 95%

Disliked: igor left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

12 October 2009

Liked: It was well located but we were in a room on the ground floor which was very damp, smelled very bad and wasn't cleaned while we were there; the bin wasn't even emptied.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious rooms, clean ensuite bathrooms and excellent location for getting up Mt. Emei.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.