HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Beijing Hyde Courtyard Hotel

3 star Hotel | Xicheng District, Shijia Hutong No. 11, Xi-Cheng Beijing, China 100051

81.4% Overall Rating

27 out of 30 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2013)

Fred Santos thinks…

"In the heart of the Beijing center, in a walking distance to the forbidden city and other touristic sites. The Rooms are cleaned every day."

Read all Beijing Hyde Courtyard Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Express check-in / out
  • Laundry service
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Newspapers
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 48.54
  • Breakfast USD 4.04

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

PLEASE TAKE YOUR PASSPORT AND CHINESE VISA, NOT COPIES OF THEM. Arrival and Check-out Times The hotel office is open for check-in 24 hours a day. Check-out time is 12pm on the day of departure (late check-out can also be arranged). Cancellations Cancellations must be made with more than 24 hours notice or 1 day accommodation will be charged. Please ensure you receive confirmation from us via email or fax of your cancellation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Qianmen Courtyard Hotel
45.95 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
WC Hotel
21.03 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Kings Joy Hostel
9.71 USD

Hostel 86.5% 190 reviews
Beijing Tiananmen Courtyard
22.65 USD

Hostel 77.1% 3 reviews
Beijing Leo Hostel
9.71 USD

Hostel 76.6% 240 reviews
Lu Song Yuan
46.11 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Three Legged Frog Hostel
7.28 USD

Hostel 82.7% 47 reviews
Beijing Leo Courtyard Hostel
8.09 USD

Hostel 68.9% 39 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.4%

Overall Rating

27 out of 30 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Beijing Hyde Courtyard Hotel'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
87.2%
Value
84.8%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 22 of 29 reviews
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Fred Santos

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2013 Fred would recommend this property

Liked: In the heart of the Beijing center, in a walking distance to the forbidden city and other touristic sites. The Rooms are cleaned every day.

Disliked: The lockers were all broken in our room and they have too few bathrooms available, and only Chinese style.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its location is great - super central and easy to find. Really easy to get cabs, too, from the main street outside of the hutong.

Disliked: It isn't very clean and there were literally TONS of tiny flies in the dorms. The cleaning staff would also just barge in, turn on the lights and start cleaning while people were still asleep in the beds. Really horrible service!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kai Qi Kam

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2013 Kai Qi would recommend this property

Liked: The shared dorm was really cheap. I suppose I really can't complain much with that kind of price and the good location.

Disliked: There was only one shared toilet for everyone not staying in the private rooms. There were two showers but one of them had no door so the only to utilise both at one time is to lock the main door to the bathroom, which would deprive others of using the two sinks in the bathroom as well. The toilet and shower were also not in the cleanest or best condition, but again, for that kind of price, I would still say the stay was a bargain.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

scott reiffel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 scott would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff, cafe/restaurant/bar

Disliked: All good

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were lovely, helpful, great location too 5 to 10 min walk to Tiananmen Sq. Good coffee and Tea. Plug points at all the tables in Bar. Really good

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms and only 1 shower. Food wasnt great, they need to work on their cocktails (thats not just here, just about all of China)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Viviana Serratos

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2013 Viviana would recommend this property

Liked: Was in a good location, center to everything.

Disliked: Their English was very minimal and they did not have any tours at all, which they advertise. All they do is give you a map of how to get to the locations. Also the free breakfast was only for a limited two hour gap.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Pickford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2013 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: When me and a friend arrived they upgraded us to a twin rather that the dorm we were expecting, which was a pleasant surprise, probably due to arriving in the off season. The room was fine, the receptionist spoke good English, and they had a good selection of drinks.

Disliked: They had almost none of the food listed in the menu at the bar which was a shame, and the shower struggled to get warm.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ludovica Lena

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

19 February 2013 Ludovica would recommend this property

Liked: Good position, nice building, nice staff.

Disliked: Dormitories small, a bit dirty and dark

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ALEJANDRO CALVO REY

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 February 2013 ALEJANDRO would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is old chinese fashion building in the middle of the traditional chinese neiborghthood. The location is very conviniente,Forbiten city, Tiananmen,and subway station ten minutes walking, Temple of heaven and lama temple very easy to reach. The services very kind and helpful people. The bar has a really good ambience. The internet working excellent, no too much problems. Some rooms for backpackers is a luxurus, because is like a doble room with a 4 beds, and has a WC inside, TV and air condicion. The price very interesting.

Disliked: ALEJANDRO left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Csongor Boroczky

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2013 Csongor would recommend this property

Liked: All

Disliked: Nothng

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: NEVER NEVER AGAIN Everywhere is mold all the walls and ceilings. All wall paper are not any more at the wall in all rooms I saw on the first floor. I haven't seen the other floors. The room smelt because of the mold. Warning Danger for your health, I'm realy serious

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's location scores highly as it's near Qianmen. The immediate surroundings were not the cleanest but since most are residents, can't be helped as they are all struggling with physical changes to their environment.

Disliked: The noise level can be high when people returned from their night parties, especially on weekends. Otherwise, the hotel is quite fine. The surrounding's cleanliness is the bigeest challenge.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2012

Liked: cheap

Disliked: not clean, bathroom tiny, there were small flies in the bathroom

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

T Alexander Tsoukas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2012 T Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff

Disliked: Shady area

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property had a more traditional style. This was a relieving break from the usually kitchy youth hostels or gaudy hotels throughout china. Staff was very helpful. Looked up train times for me, called a bus station in Nanjing (after I looked up the number for them) to inquire about bus times.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rafael Farias Nascimento

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2012 Rafael would recommend this property

Liked: Nice building, very helpfull staff and great area!

Disliked: any

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loads of character, easy-going and in a good location (if you like hutong!)

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jasdeep Rajan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2012 Jasdeep would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was so incredibly helpful. At one point the atm down the street ate my debit card and because I couldn't communicate with anyone in the bank, Jenny (hostel staff) wrote down a translation for me to help me get it back. She helped me with booking trains, tours and getting the best deals with those as well. It is such an asset to have staff that speak such great english.

Disliked: Well, to be honest, its not really a hostel. I think only one room was a dorm but hyde hotel is new at the hosteling scene and they just need more travelers to convert more rooms into dorms. There were a few other foreign travelers I got to meet though. I definitely think more travelers need to come here to make this place more of a backpacker hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

May Kosaka

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2012 May would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in the 3-bed dorm of the hotel (they only have 1 room like this), was fine, bathroom was small but shower was strong & hot. The former restaurant space in the front is big & open with lots of tables & chairs, has great WIFI, has lots of power outlets and is great for doing work on a laptop or looking up stuff on your smart phone. I think there's a computer for internet use but I didn't try it. No wifi in the rooms. Very convenient location, you can see the big shopping Qian Men Street from the front door, and from there it's a straight 5 minute walk to Tianamen Square, and another 8 minutes to the Forbidden City. Many good cheap restaurants very close by around the corner on Liangshidian St.

Disliked: I noticed how damp it was every time I entered the room, but there is A/C so it's fine for sleeping. Slight mold on the walls, but I'm hearing all the hutong places are like this b/c of the building set-up. A few ants in the place, 1 ant in my bed, but they're small & slow moving, harmless.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

12 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like this hotel Chinese style ,the Room is very clean,comfortable and perfect.The staff at reception are very helpful and friendly.It;s very near Tian An Men Squre.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

david mendiola

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2012 david would recommend this property

Liked: I came in after a long day of travel. I was a little irritable but the staff was just so friendly. The rooms were more tidy and clean than at other hotels I've been to around China. I absolutely loved the atmosphere of the old hutongs, and there is a vibrant shopping street a couple minutes away.

Disliked: david left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Vayngrib

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

27 August 2012 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Very solid overall. Clean, quiet, the staff were very helpful and the rooms were very comfortable. The shopping street nearby was unbelievable!

Disliked: everything was great