HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Citycourt Hotel

3 star Hotel | No.14 liulisi Hutong, Dongcheng District, 东城区鼓楼东大街琉璃寺胡同14号 Beijing, China 100009

87.6% Overall Rating

21 out of 21 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/09/2012)

ALEXANDRA PAPARGYRIOU thinks…

"The hotel is stylish with small courtyards, wooden furniture and beautiful colors. really quiet, suitable for travelers who like to discover the city during the day and need a good night's sleep."

Read all Citycourt Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Newspapers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Home Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 72.3% 26 reviews
Imperial Courtyard Hotel
38.98 USD

Hotel 4 star 80.7% 4 reviews
Zaoyuanju
186.64 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.2% 17 reviews
Peking International Youth Hostel
19.49 USD

Hostel 88.8% 25 reviews
Beijing Drum Tower Youth Hostel
16.24 USD

Hostel 77.5% 25 reviews
Tang House Hotel
23.39 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.3% 8 reviews
An Ding Men Hotel
16.24 USD

Hotel 1 star 63.4% 5 reviews
Confucious International Hostel
12.99 USD

Hostel 67.4% 22 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.6%

Overall Rating

21 out of 21 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Citycourt Hotel'

Atmosphere
89.5%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
81.9%
Staff
91.4%
Value
88.6%
Safety
92.4%
Refine your results Showing 17 of 21 reviews
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location to Hutongs

Disliked: No kettle

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

19 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Traditional courtyard architecture with nice central space, good location

Disliked: Water and snacks left in room, with no price list so were assumed complimentary - however charged an extremely high price for these on checkout. Subdued atmosphere, not many guests and was very quiet due to signs in the central courtyard (the only communal space) instructing guests to be quiet.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ALEXANDRA PAPARGYRIOU

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 September 2012 ALEXANDRA would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is stylish with small courtyards, wooden furniture and beautiful colors. really quiet, suitable for travelers who like to discover the city during the day and need a good night's sleep.

Disliked: The internet connection could be more stαble and fast in the room. In the courtyard it was quite ok.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The style and quality of the rooms is excellent, the location in the Hutongs is splendid and the staff is always very helpful and friendly. Great place to stay in Beijing!!

Disliked: Very little to dislike. Inconvienient to folks with lots of luggage and often hard to get a cab.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, nice breakfast, nice place to stay.

Disliked: we have 2 nights have no electricity for a short while, but the staff repair immd. Bathroom is too small and only can take 15mins hot shower

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Mark Rizzo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here on my first night in Beijing arriving around 1AM. I liked that fact that they let me in at such a late hour.

Disliked: It was difficult for the taxi driver to find.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is closed to many cool place in beijing.

Disliked: not enough hot water for shower.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ted Amaro

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2010 Ted would recommend this property

Liked: The area was really neat. Its right in the middle of a Hutong area and you really feal like you're living in abit of history. I felt very safe and there were some great restaurants and shops in the area. That was really a neat experience.As for the actual Property, it was cute. Thats the best word I can think of for it. The private suit was nice with fresh paint and good furniture, The bath had some neat decorative accents and the toilet was proper for western tastes. Nice aircon as well. The court yard area gave the place a really warm feel. I felt very comfortable there. Most of the staff spoke adequate english.

Disliked: Im not sure if it was just a cultural thing but most of the staff were not the most happy people I've ever encountered. One or two ladies were just the nicest and funniest people ever.. The others seemed to be there just for the paycheck. When I arrived after some mediocre directions I was told that my private suite would not be available because the current occupants simply just didnt want to leave yet. I dont know what their policy was on this kind of situation but they didnt seem to care much if I left or stayed. That is to say that they weren't apologetic much and didn't offer much in the way of compensation. "It is what it is" kinda attitude. They gave me a reduced rate because I had little choice but to stay in a room crammed with 2 sets of bunkbeds, two nice guys and one grumpy one. Im not sure what the savings were but the room was going to be cheeper anyway because it was for 4 people. Ive never really stayed in a backpackers hostel before but I thought the room for 4 was way to small with no room for luggage. I actually slept with my rollling duffle bag which was kinda large but atleast the bed was kinda large as well.. The bathroom layout was adequate but all the drains in the two rooms I stayed in were backed up and one flooded my room making it humid and muggy the rest of the time.. The general climate was nice at the time to where you could leave the window above the door open for adequate ventilation. But if the kids want to play with the fusseball table in the court you will know it. And it wouldnt matter if the window was open or closed you're still going to have fun listing to the racket wether you want to or not. Overall the staff were not welcoming or warm much. They did seem to be bothered to help you out in even the most little way. But at least they did help in the end. (directions, dinner recommendations, room maintenance issues) If you are a backpacker the multiperson rooms are small and cramped. No room for your stuff if you have a big pack or go out and buy a bunch of stuff. YOu will have no choice but to sleep with your stuff if your room is full. The bathrooms for the multi person rooms wont cut it as well. Four people cycling through will leave the place a wet mess. If you have to use the toilet thats going to be not very private as well as there is just a sliding door that covers the entrance. I just hope you arnt shy about any noises if your mates are relaxing in the room. But there is a public toilet just outside the Hostel if you like the "squatter" type toilet. I personally had to go out and find a suitable public toilet some blocks away from the hostel for the reasons of overcrowding. The Hostel dosent have a toilet in the common areas. After some searching in the cold october morning I was able to find a western style public toilet but then I had to find a lil shop around the corner that had toilet paper. So keep that in mind if you have to do the same. But that was actually kind of a funny cultural experience. These were a few things that personaly irked me. I did see other guests have better experiences with the staff and their experience with the Hostel. Over all it was a good stay. I would do it again.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super atmosphere, we could also walk to the Forbidden city.

Disliked: We had a rotten smell in one of the rooms we hired. Very Chinese hard beds.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Simon Clarke

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2010 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Nice courtyard.Big bed.

Disliked: Simon left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very traditional and within a hutong setting, so cute!

Disliked: I had originally booked a 4 bed dorm but they said there wasn't a bed available (despite my booking being confirmed), but they offered me a lovely single room, albeit for 2 pounds more per night.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really clean.

Disliked: not all staff english-speaking

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good all round

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Unfortunately the bathroom shower drain worked poorly leaving water on the floor reducing room air quality due to humidity. solution: turn on the air condition. besides this a superb hotel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Conveniently located, cozy, simple, practical and efficient. Friendly staff. The courtyard style, though small, oozes character. Provides great welcome to first-time beijing visitors.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 January 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: GREAT location with tons of character - all the fun of a hostel with all the amenities, professionalism and cleanliness of a hotel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Panchaphat Lert-u-thai

22 August 2008 Panchaphat would recommend this property

Liked: Staff

Disliked: Panchaphat left no negative feedback.