We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Budget Inn Patricia Hotel

2.5 star Hotel | 403 East Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada V6A 1P6

68.5% Overall Rating

44 out of 66 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/09/2013)

Alan Darby thinks…

"The beds showers & toilets were clean & the decor in the foyer was quaint. Our room wasn't like the photo on the website which was a shame but the Included breakfast was tops as was Pats pub food &…"

Read all The Budget Inn Patricia Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Concierge
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vancouver?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Vancouver

C and N Backpackers - Vancouver
18.26 USD

Hostel 65.7% 288 reviews
C and N backpackers (Central Station Hostel)
20.08 USD

Hostel 62.3% 120 reviews
The Cambie International Hostel - Gastown
25.56 USD

Hostel 68.8% 145 reviews
City Centre Motor Hotel
23.96 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
YWCA Hotel
46.10 USD

Hotel 3 star 96.0% 5 reviews
St. Clair Hotel - Hostel
21.00 USD

Hostel 74.5% 268 reviews
The Urban Hideaway Guesthouse
36.52 USD

Guesthouse 94.4% 211 reviews
The Cambie International Hostel - Seymour
28.76 USD

Hostel 73.9% 190 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.5%

Overall Rating

44 out of 66 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Budget Inn Patricia Hotel'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
46.4%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
88.0%
Value
77.6%
Safety
59.2%
Refine your results Showing 42 of 47 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff very helful

Disliked: nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 May 2014

Liked: The bar

Disliked: The bathroom too small and no exhaust and floor of the room is noisy when you walk ...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

27 November 2013

Liked: Cheap, Wi-Fi was working

Disliked: Location in Chinatown was horrible ghetto

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alan Darby

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

14 September 2013 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: The beds showers & toilets were clean & the decor in the foyer was quaint. Our room wasn't like the photo on the website which was a shame but the Included breakfast was tops as was Pats pub food & atmosphere. The front desk staff were tops for hospitality & helpfulness.

Disliked: Just a suggestion; Maybe the carpet, windows & curtains could be washed to make the stay more pleasant. I know it's a tough area down East Hastings Street but we had no trouble with the poor souls who make that area their home.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nigel Clifford

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2013 Nigel would recommend this property

Liked: I wasn't expecting much for $70 a night. However, I was pleasantly surprised. The room looks like it comes from the 1970s (and probably does) and it wasn't large, but big enough for a single traveller. I had a shower and toilet in a small bathroom and a separate sink in the main part of the room. The very comfy and clean bed is the main plus point. The "single" bed would be large enough for two (room 530). I recommend 530 (top floor) for a good sea and container port view and it's at the back of the hotel away from Hastings St. which could be noisy. I arrived at 2 p.m. and slept at 4 p.m. (having flown from London) and was able to sleep through till 4 a.m. very soundly thanks to melatonin and ear plugs which were not needed. Only twice did I hear a police siren which wasn't loud. TV has 125 channels. Wi-Fi in room 530 is quite patchy and connects/disconnects several times with a signal level of 1 (poor) but it is usable and other rooms probably have stronger W-Fi, as I believe the routers are located on floors 2 and 4 and I was on 5. The lobby has a good coffee machine and the attached Pat's Bar has good cheap food made even cheaper by a 20% discount for hotel guests. The room fixtures are from the 1970s or maybe 1960s but it's cleaner than I expected overall and definitely not a fleabag hotel considering the great price of only $70 for downtown Vancouver within very easy reach of everything. The downtown core can be walked in 20 minutes straight down Hastings or use a 3-minute bus ride. You can't really expect more at this great price. It's not a hostel but a proper hotel, albeit an old one (opened in 1914, I believe).

Disliked: The room carpets are old and probably not clean (though the bed is), the top drawer of the cabinet is broken, no fridge in the room, and the Wi-Fi is a bit weak but passable.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money. Very helpful staff. Convenient pub in the same building. I'd go there again.

Disliked: Located in chinatown.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Stephanie Godfrey

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2012 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: The gentleman working afternoon-night shifts was extremely helpful and friendly. told us where to avoid, where to eat, how to get around, answered all our questions. For what we payed the room was pretty good value.

Disliked: The location certainly isnt ideal, its located right near gastown which is infested with homeless, drugs and mentally handicapped however the staff are well aware of that so they will tell you how to avoid the street and travel the safer way. The room was teeny tiny, not ideal for travellers with a few suitcases, we had to move furniture and stack things to fit our luggage in. Also Housekeeping do there round about 8.30am but you can ask them to come back.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Michael EAST

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012

Liked: It was very convenient location to central Vancouver in spite of the immediate surroundings

Disliked: The area around was a little disturbing (a lot of homeless people and drug addicts hanging around the streets) The car park is a vacant lot beside the hotel and was $6 per day to use Also the listing that Hostelbookers had was deceiving as it listed the room as $27.50 (it was actually $30) and when Hostelbookers sent info onto the hotel it was listed as $30, (so something is wrong there) also the room was 2 person minimum occupancy so the actual price was $60 (plus 14% tax) so I hope Hostelbooker fix this little discrepancy.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect! Meaningfully advice about restaurant and what to see in BC.

Disliked: The two block around look like not safe, but we had no problem at all.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money.

Disliked: In a rough neighbourhood of Vancouver.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2012

Liked: Nothing at all... Location is horrible, you feel unsafe even leaving the hotel

Disliked: Everything about this hotel was poor quality

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpfull advice provided by the staff. Arranging staff. Well located (distance, bus accessibility) from the downtown and other interesting places. Quite cheap.

Disliked: Location (population around doesn't look safe... but no real problem encountered). Cigarette smell in the corridor.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucie Valentova

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2011 Lucie would recommend this property

Liked: Room is cozy and clean, staff is very friendly.

Disliked: The street it is on.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are great if you are trying to save money, they are very smalls rooms but have everything you need. Has laundry facilites and the pub next door has fantastic meals.

Disliked: Right in the middle if chinatown, a scary and bad area. Lots of homeless people and drug addicts around.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2011

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms reasonable for what we paid.

Disliked: Hadn't realized what part of town we would be in. A bit of a shock seeing all the homeless people hanging about on the street. I was glad to have my husband with me for safety, but it's not too hard to detour East Hastings to miss most of it.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

MATHIAS VON EUW

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011 MATHIAS would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very helpfull, it's cheap, shower bed restroom are clean. You can go to downtown with your bike. A guardian take care of your car.

Disliked: At the US border they say "this is the woth place in vancouver" Ok: between downtown and chinatown on hastings street there is poor people, sometime strange, but everything was good

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Downstairs has a restaurant, it is convenient. it near to China town.

Disliked: Room sound insulation is not good.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

SUI SHAN CHAN

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 July 2011 SUI SHAN would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very very nice and friendly. They helped me to plan my trip and gave many suggestions.

Disliked: The room is very old and small.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

15 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: whithin hotel I felt safe

Disliked: I felt afraid to walk down the street hasting two blocks before patricia hotel patricia

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

18 January 2011

Liked: The price

Disliked: The location

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Aimee colson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2011

Liked: The room was fine, small but had its own bathroom

Disliked: It's on a street where there are countless homeless shelters and therefore many displaced people who hang around at all times of the day. It's very unsafe to go out after dark and as females we either had to run to and from the hotel or catch a taxi. We were afraid to go outside any time of day

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2010

Liked: Staff were very good and friendly.Breakfast was good but other guests were not always hygenic.

Disliked: Location, lack of safety outside the hotel/on its door step, lack of a safety deposit box considering the area.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

21 June 2010

Liked: it was cheap, though on a bad part of town, i now understand why the directons go from pender street instead of east hastings

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

ooi keat tan

24 May 2010 ooi keat would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpful staff but location is right smack in a sketchy area

Disliked: ooi keat left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I am so happy to with the room i am staying now as i entitle to hv such a good facilities but only to pay such a budget amount, consider the high living cost in Vancouver.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.