We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of Neill-Wycik Summer Hotel

3 star Hotel | 96 Gerrard Street East, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5B 1G7

66.9% Overall Rating

140 out of 172 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/08/2014)

"Their frontdesk is available 24 hours. I arrived at 3:50 a.m. and I checked in successfully."

Read all Neill-Wycik Summer Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Concierge
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

House on McGill
46.99 USD

Guesthouse 89.6% 11 reviews
Downtowner Inn Toronto
62.66 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.1% 410 reviews
central hotel
22.38 USD

Hotel 0.5 star 50.3% 5 reviews
Jacob 22 Bed and Breakfast
38.04 USD

Guesthouse 80.7% 13 reviews
St. Lawrence Residences and Suites
40.27 USD

Apartment 61.0% 12 reviews
Comfy GuestHouse and Suites
35.36 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 22 reviews
Toronto Garden Inn Bed&Breakfast
89.51 USD

Guesthouse 86.7% 6 reviews
HI - Toronto
23.27 USD

Hostel 90.6% 487 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.9%

Overall Rating

140 out of 172 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Neill-Wycik Summer Hotel'

Atmosphere
62.4%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
52.8%
Cleanliness
48.8%
Staff
80.0%
Value
67.2%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 116 of 125 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Ciaran Garry

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

25 August 2014

Liked: Checking out of it.

Disliked: Everywhere being dirty

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Mikhail Zalyadnov

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 August 2014 Mikhail would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Room comfort

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

24 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Their frontdesk is available 24 hours. I arrived at 3:50 a.m. and I checked in successfully.

Disliked: No rubbish bin in rooms.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Adrian de Juan

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 August 2014 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: Relatively close to nearby shopping mall.

Disliked: Poor cleanliness. There was no microwave in the kitchen for the units in my section of rooms. You had to use the one downstairs in the cafe. The water fountain was down. One staff member (the security guard) could not do check outs for people so there was a bit of a wait to check out.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The mix of people staying at the property

Disliked: Parking in the neighborhood is becoming more difficult (and more expensive) each time I stay here.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2012

Liked: The breakfast was good

Disliked: The rooms were far too hot and we were on the supposed cool side. No fans or air-con. The shower was in desperate need of a clean, hardly anyone was in our block but still it was a state. I feel sorry for the students who have to go here.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

19 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is great

Disliked: not very clean, saw a small mouse as well, could use a little TLC

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 1) The hostel has a professional frontdesk appearance, with staff manning the frontdesk like in a hotel setting. I liked the sense of professionalism projected as a first impression. 2) I was able to get discount tickets for some of the Toronto attractions from the hostel. Will be good if they expand the discount into more attractions. 3) The bedsheet and pillowcase were clean.

Disliked: 1) The hostel room I stayed in does not come with air-conditioning. I can understand the intent to, most probably, limit captial cost. So maybe the hostel can install a ceiling fan, or at least be able to provide a small portable fan. It can be searing hot staying in the room at the height of summer. 2) The facilities (the table and shelves) in my room seemed rather old. The only chair there was creaky. At least the bed was alright, but maybe get a new pillow as the one I had was quite "limpy".

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nathan Misner

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

08 July 2012

Liked: The location was great.

Disliked: The rooms were unbearably hot. I had to leave my room on the 12th floor so that I could find an air conditioned room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice and clean and the rooftop view to die for

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Saul Bosworth

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 June 2012 Saul would recommend this property

Liked: - Fantastic location - Clean - Affordable with a great value free breakfast

Disliked: - No air-con

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Single occupancy room

Disliked: Shared bathroom and Internet only available in lounge

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

20 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value and central location!

Disliked: Unclean bathrooms (leeches and just general cleanliness issues)...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Yves Trocheris

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011

Liked: the breakfast was good, the staff helpful.

Disliked: There were no AC, unfortunately Toronto was really hot during our stay - we did no sleep, it was a nightmare. We also booked a tour with them to go to niagara falls on their advice; we have been really disappointed by the tour offered. It was expensive, the guide horrible and we got the half to what they promised us. Anyway we would not recommend this place.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Fu Jen Tsai

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2011

Liked: none

Disliked: poot room, uncomfortable bed

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a good location and the price was cheap.

Disliked: The room and washrooms looked worn out. At breakfast there was only four items included in price and for example no meat or cheese products available.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good hotel

Disliked: none

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and view over the city is great! Breakfast was good as well.

Disliked: Very very simple room and beds. But that was ok for just a couple of nights. Much worse was the weird smell especially in the hallway and the showers/restrooms. Showers and restrooms didn't look very dirty but the smell tells you cleanliness probably isn't very important in this house. Nevertheless it was the cheapest hostel to get in downtown.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Considered the location the price was really okay although the room was very small.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2010

Liked: Good breakfast and friendy staff. Great location.

Disliked: Not clean at all! Receptionist was very unfriendly (at check in). No wireless in the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was the best!! It's very clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: prozimo ao centro.

Disliked: fui no verão... e os quartos nao tem ventilador ou ar condicionado...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

16 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The wireless internet was increadibly slow. Almost useless!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to go to downtownGood informationsInternetBreakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

29 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice trips and friendly service

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Toronto hostels