We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of hotel villa

2 star Hotel | 57, Ste-Catherine Est, Montreal, Quebec, Canada H2X 1K5

74.3% Overall Rating

41 out of 48 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/07/2014)

Danielle David thinks…

"Staff was friendly and will to help. Security was implemented throughout the nighttime hours making me feel safe."

Read all hotel villa reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note: That the balance does not include the taxes. Taxes are calculated by the property and payable on arrival For reservations overlapping the 2013 Canadian F1 Grand-Prix (June 7 - June 10 2013), the total cost of your stay (including taxes) will be processed on your credit card at the time of the reservation and no refunds will be issued if cancelled

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Montreal?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Montreal

Hôtel Travelodge Montreal Centre
88.61 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hôtel Célébrité Montréal
15.44 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.9% 59 reviews
Montreal Central
17.89 USD

Hostel 91.9% 324 reviews
Plateau Mont Royal
16.56 USD

Hostel 80.8% 24 reviews
Hotel Visitel
26.85 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.1% 5 reviews
Hotel Lord Berri
89.50 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Hotel Montreal Espace Confort
40.95 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.9% 183 reviews
Majestique Suites Montreal
57.73 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.3%

Overall Rating

41 out of 48 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'hotel villa'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
82.4%
Value
81.6%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 37 of 46 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Danielle David

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

14 July 2014 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was friendly and will to help. Security was implemented throughout the nighttime hours making me feel safe.

Disliked: Power went out for half an hour and the elevator didn't work that well.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

17 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is very convenient, in the downtown, close to CHinatown with a lot ofrestsurants. The room is clean andcomfortable. It is very worth staying there. I would recommend it to my friends.

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Service at the desk is excellent, that kind of makes and breaks these businesses so I was impressed

Disliked: The showers on the 5th and 6th floor need fixing or replacing. It's more of a steady dribble of water than a jet

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

panagiotis kalantzis

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2014 panagiotis would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was very helpful and the location was in very good place at the city centre

Disliked: panagiotis left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Susanne Owen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2014 Susanne would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location and basic but great value for money. Room was large, with clothing storage room and fridge and basin, with shared bathroom nearby including a full size bath. Staff particularly helpful with information, looking things up on the internet to help . Very clean

Disliked: Some TV stations were foggy but many choices

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central.

Disliked: Tax added on arrival was astrinomical - where other hostels include this in the price stated.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very close to everything downtown. Room was clean and well kept.

Disliked: The bed was terrible. it felt like I was sleeping on a brick.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Roman Gritsenko

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013 Roman would recommend this property

Liked: For the price that i paid - this hotel actually exceeded my expectations. The stuff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean, and of coarse location - bars, nightclubs, malls, Old Montreal etc were within a walking distance.

Disliked: Some rooms don't have a private bathroom and the elevator goes only to the 5th floor (it's a 6-floor building).

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Maude Jolicoeur

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

31 March 2013

Liked: Our private room and bathroom were clean. It was cheap. It is very well located.

Disliked: The guy at the reception wasn't friendly and didn't know anything and couldn't help us at all to find a supermarket, a liquor store or give us information about where to park our car. When I finally told him where we found a supermarket and liquore store (8 mins walk away) so that he could help future clients, he didn't seem interested at all. The bed was so small and uncomfortable. Wifi isn't working well.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and cheap price.

Disliked: My traveling mate watched from the hall as a homeless man cracked open the door to our room while I was sleeping.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kristi Veski

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2013 Kristi would recommend this property

Liked: Location of Hotel Villa was excellent, very close to downtown, Old Town as well as Chinatown. There was a TV, sink and a small fridge in our room (double budget room). Our room as well as the toilet in the corridor were nice and clean, towels, shampoo and soap were provided. Also, room was cleaned every day. For the price we payed, an excellent choice.

Disliked: There was only one shower and toilet per floor! The window of our room did not shut properly and as it was -16 degrees outside, it was relatively cold in our room in the beginning. Fortunately the central heating functioned well, although it felt like window had stayed open all night. It also seemed that condition of shower and rooms depended on floor as the bathroom upstairs was not so spacious and clean as ours. Sometimes the WiFi did not work properly. Very noisy neighbourhood, noise and music until 3 pr 4 a.m.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cool

Disliked: more detail cleaning on their shared washroom

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Orrell

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable living environment.

Disliked: not much.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big room

Disliked: Bathroom not clean

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel Villa was well situated near the south ends of Saint-Denis and Saint-Laurent, which made it great for bar crawling and Plateau exploration. The hotel staff were accommodating, and most spoke English well. I feel like the location and services offered were fair for the price charged.

Disliked: The bed was uncomfortable. It reminded me of the cheap mattress in my college dorm. Also, on a Saturday night, the shared bathroom was a little disgusting due to water on the floor from all the partiers showering before going out.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Giuseppe Pulvirenti

As a family with children

Family Holiday

31 August 2012 Giuseppe would recommend this property

Liked: I believe there could be no alternative at that price, at that location. The room was indicated with a shared washroom but it was ensuite!

Disliked: Giuseppe left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Atul Kulkarni

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2012 Atul would recommend this property

Liked: Its location is the best thing, since it is close to the main attractions in Montreal.

Disliked: It was cluttered.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: located close to train/bus stations

Disliked: lots of motorcycles always parked across the street - making noise, elevator did not work properly , lobby was not safe from theft because front area left open / doorless for anyone to enter and to steal luggage or to ride elevators, etc., taxes charged at hotel on top of amount promoted on Hostelbookers' site

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location, especially for comedy festival. good value for money.

Disliked: only one bathroom per floor, tap didn't work and ants in the shower...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, clean, staff helpful

Disliked: noisy area

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Abigail Frey

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Abigail would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel suited its purpose. It was relatively clean, had 24 hour service at the front desk, and daily cleaning of rooms and bathrooms. Good price for a great location!

Disliked: The elevator is frightening... take the stairs.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Justin Dorazio

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: Great location -- near a lot of restaurants, theatres, downtown and vieux montréal. Staff was friendly, and the hotel was clean and safe.

Disliked: Toiletries were left in your room, but there was never any in the bathroom. No soap in the shared bathrooms to wash hands, etc. You have to bring your own from your room. Also, no bathmats, or showermats in the bathrooms - I slipped and almost fell twice.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

10 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and friendly staff and small store attached to it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is very good, very well located on a great spot in Downton Montreal. It is very well located for whoever wants to go partying (St. Catherine and St. Laurent), close to St. Dennis, Chinatown and at a moderate distance from the Old Montreal. It is close to the subway so it is very easy to reach different parts of the city from here. Staff is very nice, no complaints on that at all. Ambient is old-style which suited me fine, and I found it quite clean (clean towels every day, etc). The doors are locked after around 10pm, but you have just to ring and they let you in. I believe this is good considering that St. Catherine is a very busy street at night and the staff was quite watchful on the people going around, which increased my confidence on security. I can say I am very satisfied with my stay and I think it gives a good value for your money.

Disliked: Nothing really, it was what I was looking for.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

patrick nollet

Alone

City break

27 February 2012 patrick would recommend this property

Liked: nice hostel

Disliked: nothing