We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of King Boutique

3 star Hotel | 251, Samdech Tep Vong St, Siem Reap, Siem Reap, Cambodia 17252

77.9% Overall Rating

106 out of 120 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/02/2014)

colin rath thinks…

"Staying at King Boutique was definitely a nice way to get the Cambodian hospitality feeling we were there to feel. Its location was right in an area where we were close to all types to dinning,…"

Read all King Boutique reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

No jaccuzi ni the room, only hot tub

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Siem Reap?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Siem Reap

288 Boutique Villa
25.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Palm Garden Lodge
3.85 USD

Guesthouse 89.4% 321 reviews
Garden Village Guesthouse
4.00 USD

Guesthouse 65.3% 67 reviews
Ancient Angkor Inn
14.45 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Mekong Angkor Palace Hotel
17.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.3% 9 reviews
Bun Linda Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Shadow Angkor Inn
20.00 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Oudom Angkor Villa
10.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.9%

Overall Rating

106 out of 120 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'King Boutique'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
80.8%
Value
80.8%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 114 of 117 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scott McLaughlin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 March 2011 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: People were one of a kind. Very out going and willing to talk to you.

Disliked: Tiny red ants were found in large amounts. But is par for the course in a country were most people walk barefoot.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This Guest House is very good!! staff is very kind and friendly. His name is Seng. I recomend for you.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: After the place we had come from on the Khao San Road in Bangkok, this place was absolutely wonderful. The welcome that we received was so warm it was unlike any other welcome I have ever received in a hotel - honestly. They printed my name on a bit of paper and all shouted "welcome!" as I stepped off the tuk-tuk. It sounds corny, but actually it was lovely. You have to take your shoes off when you come in... some people might moan about that, but it kept the floors clean and it was a gorgeous building. They gave you one roll of toilet paper as a welcome gift but, from there on in, you were on your own in teepee-land. But there were towels, soap and we got two toothbrushes and mini-toothpastes - I thought they were great; nice touch. Big bathroom it was, with a hot water shower... and the actual room itself was very big indeed, with two double beds. And all this was in a twin room with en-suite and fan. It was very clean (though we received no maid service in three nights), well decorated and had a telly with English stations. We were very impressed. It was a bright room. We kept the windows shut due to my 'insect paranoia' but the fan was good. It felt safe to me, too - I know that you never truly know, but we encountered no problems, and we were bowled over by how nice the staff were. They were more than happy to help you with anything, including trips, though they were rather expensive if you booked them on the desk - better to go elsewhere. There were internet booths, but we didn't use them. We also had a bit of laundry done and that was fine and quick. It was in a central location within Siem Reap (though I can't really say I was fond of the place) and was within walking distance of the main restaurant road, as well as several other roads with cheaper restaurants on, and there was a shop across the road from which to buy water, toilet paper etc. Walking towards the centre, there were many tourist agencies nearby with much cheaper trips than the hotel. And to top off all that - you got breakfast, baby! Don't worry if you're a vegetarian, because essentially it was toast, eggs, eggs and toast in all manner of ways... but seriously, it was fab; we felt the place would have been worth what we paid without the breakfast, so we didn't have a complaint in us. Besides which, they were nice eggs.

Disliked: Not a lot to dislike about King Angkor Villa. Our main desire of a hotel is for it to be both clean and friendly - and it was certainly that. It was also very grand for the incredibly small price, with many unexpected luxuries including a nice breakfast. My main complaint would be about Siem Reap itself, with which I was not impressed... but hey, I'd come to see Angkor and the Tonle Sap, and it made for a fabulous base. However, yes - I took the advice of someone else on here and booked my trips elsewhere from the hotel, because they were definitely on the expensive side. I thought the guesthouse, on the other hand, was excellent value for money.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

07 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: wonderful location, close to Old and Night Market, very helpful staff, especially receptionist ( name starts with H..I hacve forgoten, sorry), 3 wonderful tuk-tuk drivers ( Vanna and two other - names starting with S and H..), friendly atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing really comes to my mind

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

05 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious, nicely decorated clean rooms.

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The air con was a blessing in the heat and the owner was super friendly and helpful. The water in our room didn't work properly and he moved us immediately to another room without any problem. The rooms were very spacious and the beds were big. The breakfast was good too - omelette or eggs how you like them with bread or toast (I recommend the bread - it's fresh baguette) which kept us full until lunchtime. The location was moments from the town centre but far enough out to be away from the noise, which could be very loud!

Disliked: The decor could do with a touch up here and there and the pillows were pretty hard. It's quite expensive for Cambodia, but it seems to be fairly standard for Siem Reap because everyone comes to see the temples. However, friends of ours paid a similar price for what sounded like a better place around the corner. If you want to turn up and look around I'm sure you'll find a better deal, but if you want to book ahead you could do a lot worse than this place!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location cheap

Disliked: Very disorganized, pushing too much to get their services

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nathan Teixeira

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 February 2011 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: More like a home stay than a hostel... Great location, honest & helpful staff, comfy beds, wi-fi in the room, and awesome food at the restaurant. Highly recommend staying here during your time in Siem Reap to see Angkor. Tip: Spend the little extra and get the A/C... Otherwise you'll be hot!

Disliked: N/A

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing. Maybe the internet connection was pretty bad.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eric Faucher

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2011 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: The staff went above and beyond to help. They were always making sure you had everything and everything was going good. They sent a tuk tuk to pick us up from the bus stop. Breakfast was good; eggs and either toast or french bread. Right down the street from the night market. Biggest difference from this hostel and all the others I've been to in Asia: their wifi was at full bars everywhere in the place. They have a second router on the upper floor so they those on the top can use the internet in their rooms too.

Disliked: I had a cold shower, and we were supposed to have hot showers, but other then that, nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Brown

Alone

City break

17 January 2011 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Really great hotel, I couldn't recommend it anymore, good location is near night market, helpful staff and breakfast is included.

Disliked: nothing at all

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Blenkinship

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2011 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Family run hotel,always staff around to help you. Restaurant was good and the free breakfast was great. Free Internet was very handy. Close to the night market. They offer so many services including laundry, day trips, night buses etc. The family have their own tuk tuk and taxi which also saves a lot of hassle. The family are really friendly you almost feel like you're staying in their home! Rooms are clean and ensuite was clean. Would definitely recommend staying here.

Disliked: Zoe Heather and Keiron, England

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

stefano dalmonte

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2010 stefano would recommend this property

Liked: ottimo per il prezzo Camere spaziose con 2 finestre e balcone comune camere pulite ma non le puliscono quotidianamente. Il proprietario Tom e' molto disponibile e lo staff amichevole. Quando sono ripartito erano tutti fuori a salutarmi

Disliked: Il bar difronte fa musica tutta la notte specie nei week end

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2010

Liked: very cheap. had bus tickets to koh chang - however found them cheaper elsewhere.

Disliked: place was not as clean as I would have expected. didnt speak very good english. If you are going to angkor wat,speak to a local tuk tuk driver,they charge about 12dollers for the whole day.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ISABEL CONTRERAS

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2010 ISABEL would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff really friendly, thye most beautiful and clean room ive ever been in asia

Disliked: internet a little slow

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sophie Payne

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2010 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: i really enjoyed my stay here and had a really nice tuk tuk driver that showed us the sights and was really lovely.the staff were very friendly and are always smiley.would stay again

Disliked: the only problems i had was when we booked a coach to Phnom Pehn we paid for a coach with toilet but didnt have it and the washing took ages to dry and we had to carry wet clothes on the coach.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very spacious rooms with air/con for little price. walking distance from pub street, free internet.

Disliked: Don't like the taking your shoes off policy.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Matthias Braeuer

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

25 September 2010

Liked: OK location, albeit a 10-minute walk to the restaurant and bar area is necessary. Tuk-tuk tours to Angkor Wat were decently priced, and we had a very friendly and polite driver, who happens to work for the hotel. Wireless internet reasonably fast.

Disliked: Hotel is very dirty: Corridors and staircases are dusty, I could feel the dirt under my feet when walking up to my room. Rooms were equally filthy. The first room I was shown (single standard w/ fan) smelled moldy and wet, so I demanded to change. The second one smelled better, but the walls still had signs of wetness creeping under the paint. There were dead insects lying everywhere on the floor in my room, maybe leftovers by the Gecko under my bed (I don't mind the gecko, but the insects). Pillow and bed sheet had stains, the room wasn't cleaned once during the three days I stayed there. Warm water didn't work, but I've experienced this before in other places, so no real complaints here. The hostel does laundry, but overcharges by 50% compared to usual rates (1.50 USD per kg!). Even worse, the clothes were hanging in a shady corner in front of the building for two days without completely drying, because they were all tightly cramped together. We had to collect the clothes ourselves and finish drying them in our room. Also, some of my T-Shirts smelled like cigarette smoke, others had dark stains on them that weren't there before. Breakfast is heavily overpriced. A muesli or omelett costs 3.50 USD or more! I ordered toast with baked beans the first day, and it was some thin slices of white bread with beans that tasted as if they had passed the expiry date already. Finally, there is a big fat guy sitting around half-naked most of the day with some linen wrapped around his waist. We assumed he must be the father of the manager, since he collected a share from each and every dollar paid by the guests. Maybe that's how business is done in Cambodia, but this blatant display of patriarchy might put off some Western travelers.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Meng Muan Tan

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

19 September 2010 Meng Muan would recommend this property

Liked: reasonable price

Disliked: dont have kitchen for public use

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Agata Miskowiec

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2010 Agata would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, who will help you organise your stay in Siem Reap (tuk tuk drivers, sightseeing, bus tickets etc). They have very nice and cosy restaurant serving breakfasts and traditional Khmer cuisine.

Disliked: Agata left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Murray-Harvey Alexandra

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

04 August 2010 Murray-Harvey would recommend this property

Liked: The location!

Disliked: The rooms were not cleaned daily, however for the price I understand why.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, walking distance from main areas of Siem Reap. Friendly staff who are more than happy to help. Good size room, balcony outside room with nice view. Picked us up from bus and helped arrange bus on way back. Also provided a good deal for a driver for our day in Angkor Wat

Disliked: Minor details - The decor of the hotel seemed not to be completely finished, when we stayed here. Could have done with cleaning the room when we had been out for the day

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the room size has been the biggest since our travels to south east Asia. this has made morning time lunges more achievable along with our hobby of bedroom break dancing..lol.. but seriously the room sizes are epic. also the staff have been fantastic and very help with organizing trips, and general transportation around the town.

Disliked: Nothing King Angkor is top dog :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly staff, will help with anything. Great value rooms, really clean. Location only a 5 minute walk from ''pub street' and night market. Free pick up from bus station. Arranged a trip to angkor wat with guesthouse driver who is great for a really good price.

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and it's walking distance to the market area and other cool and useful locations.

Disliked: My bathroom could've been cleaned better, and it seemed to need some reconstructing. Also, the internet did not work for any of the guests in their bedrooms, and there were many times when different items on the menu were not available.