HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bou Savy Guest House

2 star Hotel | Taphul village, Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap district Siem Reap, Cambodia 63

91.4% Overall Rating

405 out of 420 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/01/2014)

JUAN PEREIRA LOPEZ thinks…

"The staff is very friendly and the hotel structure very nice. Services are also good."

Read all Bou Savy Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We would like to inform that we will offer one time FREE DINNER at Bou Savy Guesthouse for all booing from MAY 2012 - SETEMBER 2012.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Siem Reap?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Siem Reap

MONICA ANGKOR HOTEL
25.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Ta Som Guesthouse
8.10 USD

Guesthouse 87.0% 54 reviews
Chenla Guest House
9.00 USD

Hostel 79.2% 7 reviews
Advisor Angkor Villa Siem Reap
3.39 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 92.2% 273 reviews
Angkor Paradise Hotel
21.70 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Jasmine Garden Villa
5.00 USD

Guesthouse 90.6% 26 reviews
Okay 1 Villa
22.00 USD

Apartment 92.4% 6 reviews
New Angkorland Hotel
65.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.4%

Overall Rating

405 out of 420 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bou Savy Guest House'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
96.0%
Value
94.4%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 360 of 366 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dmitrijs Jankovskis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 February 2012 Dmitrijs would recommend this property

Liked: This was the best guesthouse I've ever chosen! IF YOU WANT TO HAVE WONDERFUL VACATION, CHOOSE THIS ONE!!! You won't be mistaken. Reasons: 1. The staff of this guesthouse will meet you at the airport for free. 2. You will have a private guide-friend from this guesthouse, who will take you everywhere you need, answer all the questions, help you with everything, even take you to the hospital. This is also free of charge!!! 3. Perfect English of all the staff; 4. The guesthouse is very close to the center, 15 min. walk/ or take tuk-tuk for 2 USD/ or ask your private guide to take you there (even at midnight); 5. For free breakfast you will choose anything you want from the menu consisting of at least 10 food options. 6. On arrival you will have free milkshake and very detailed info about all the tours, especially Angkor Wat. You can pay for everything including chosen tours on your last day. 7. Rooms are super clean! No BUGS AND MOSQUITOS in the room! (or you don't need to forget close your window); 8. Wi-Fi is good! 9. It is better to have tours or book the bus to Thai from the guesthouse. Why? I was surprised, but they were the way cheaper than in the center.

Disliked: Dmitrijs left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cold flannel and fruit shake on arrival; lovely garden restaurant; very helpful staff

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Pettibone

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2012 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this place! Everybody was so nice and helpful!

Disliked: Location was a bit outside the downtown area but the walk isn't bad and tuk-tuks are super-cheap anyway.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was great and free wifi. Also you can book transport from reception. Free smoothie at check in was nice and the staff were friendly.

Disliked: The bathroom was a bit grubby, lots of bugs and only cold water in the shower.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

David Klein

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: The communal area is really nice, though slightly mosquito prone. The surrounding area is pleasant, as it's between a school and a field. Very relaxing. There are 4 public computers that work, well, as well as computers work in SEA. The owner and staff are very pleasant and polite. The room (double) was spacious with a window with a (so-so) view. A/C worked well.

Disliked: Don't rely on the wake-up call. Room was a bit, well not dirty, but scuffed up perhaps. The TV was tiny (5in?) and really far from the bed, so useless I guess. No individual hot water unit and the actual "hot" water deserves the scare quotes. Bed was not so good but not so bad either. Sheets, again not dirty but showing their age. Door only had a simple knob lock, so security could be better. Location was decent, but from pub street you would need a tuk-tuk likely.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

geoffroy Hussenot

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2012 geoffroy would recommend this property

Liked: The trees everywhere in the bar restaurant area The few computers and internet for free The breakfast included in the room price The fact that it is family managed

Disliked: The first night, hostel was actually full and we had to sleep for 1 night in a hostel further away, not as good as Bou Savy We wanted to stay longer, there was no more room and they did not help us to find another room to stay

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally located, help very friendly and helpful, easy access to shopping. restaurants, etc.

Disliked: Not much room to hang clothes, towels. Takes 10 min. to get hot water

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

MAYTE CARRETERO

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2011 MAYTE would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and helpfulness

Disliked: The hot water was finished in the morning, you might take the shower in the afternoon

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARTIN HUGHES

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2011 MARTIN would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, quiet and very good value.

Disliked: Internet a little slow

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is so friendly!!! Really cheap and good accomodation.

Disliked: the noise of the construction close by.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Starkey

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2011 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: In the centre of the town

Disliked: N/A

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful. I was collected at the airport and on arrival given a fruit smoothie and a cold towel, both of which were very appreciated. Was also given a voucher for one free dinner. The rooms were very nicely decorated and clean.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlotte Mah

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2011 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: The building is pretty and surrounded by lots of greenery. Our room was spacious and clean. All the staff here are extremely friendly, though it's sometimes hard to tell who is working/who to talk to. Our tuk tuk driver, Polo, who we hired through the guesthouse was also very sweet and helpful! There are bikes available to hire, an excellent breakfast included, and internet/wifi access too (though not always amazing).

Disliked: There was construction right outside our window that began at 7am each morning. Some days were louder than others though and we did have the chance to swap rooms but decided not to as it would've meant not going to Angkor till quite late in the day. Also the location is alright but could be closer to the centre of town; however it's not far to walk and only $1 for a tuk tuk.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is far and away the best thing about the Bou Savy hostel. We took a bus from Ho Chi Minh City and arrived in Siem Reap around 10pm. A very cheerful cambodian tuk-tuk driver met us at the bus stop and drive us to the hostel, where we were greeted with a delicious fruit smoothie and a quick run-down of the options for touring the temples of Angkor Wat. For the rest of our stay, the staff was just as helpful. There was always someone around to answer questions or to help drive us into town. They were very friendly and always made sure that all of our questions were answered and our needs were met. The Bou Savy hostel has a very charming courtyard where they serve their meals (including the free breakfast) and is an excellent value for the money.

Disliked: The only problem with our rooms at Bou Savy was that one of them had a lot of mold. One of my friends is allergic to mold and so she felt sick for about a day. But we only stayed in that room for one night and then, as planned in advance by the hostel, were moved to a second room, which had significantly less mold.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicola Cody

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2011 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: This is a lovely place to stay, not very hostelly but big rooms and areas to sit outside of the rooms and balcony's. Free smoothie on arrival and good breakfasts and a free evening meal. We organised a tour and rented bikes from reception, the staff were really helpful.

Disliked: Little lizards in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Hughes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2011 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Ideally located down a quiet lane about 15min walk from Pub Street area. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Extending our stay was hassle free while the free breakfast was simple and delicious.

Disliked: After arriving after a thirteen hour bus ride the staff were keen to offer tours to Angkor Wat.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anne Marie Martin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2011 Anne Marie would recommend this property

Liked: It was very quaint and great value for the price. Free internet. Food was nice at the restaurant as well.

Disliked: internet was sometimes slow

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely and helpful staff, a very nice breakfast included, also very clean rooms.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hoang Anh Nguyen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2011 Hoang Anh would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap rate with nice and clean room. The hospitality and thoughtfulness of the Cambodian owner and staff are great. A welcome glass of fruit juice, free breakfasts and a free dinner.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michel Gauthier

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2011 Michel would recommend this property

Liked: Service was very good and my tuk tuk driver was very helpful to me

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

andrea venturi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2011 andrea would recommend this property

Liked: very good accomodation, free wifi and pc, they gave me a free dinner coupon and in addition 10% discount on each meal, 10 minutes walk from the city center

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ROBERT MERRETT

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2011 ROBERT would recommend this property

Liked: Owner Horn,was very accomadating.On my last day he very "kindly"arranged early Breakfast for me normally from 06-30.He arranged for 06-00.Upon arrival there was a refreshing welcoming drink.Such attention to detail sets Bou savy apart from other accomadations.Nothing was to much trouble.Horn & his staff,were very "attentive".It was a very relaxed environment & very peaceful location.A nice Breakfast is included in the price,so excellent value.I would "highly" recommend this Guesthouse to anyone visiting Siem Reap

Disliked: No coplaints at all.A1 Accomadation

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

31 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: value for money

Disliked: nothing...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juliana Velez Romero

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2011 Juliana would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are very big and good

Disliked: nothing