We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Royal Inn

3 star Hotel | #128D8, Sothearos blvd, Tonle Bassac, Chamkamorn, Phnom Penh, Cambodia 855

81.5% Overall Rating

24 out of 26 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/03/2013)

"-I first booked a single private room but found out that there was no window. I thought that that was kind of clausterphobia-inducing, so I asked for one with a window and loved the feel of that one! (at a higher…"

Read all Royal Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Concierge
  • Dry cleaning
  • Laundry service
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Newspapers
  • Outside area
  • Television room
  • Cot / crib
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Phnom Penh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Phnom Penh

Hotel Nine
15.00 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Diamond Palace Hotel
22.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Monument Hotel
24.50 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
The Cheeky Monkey Guesthouse
10.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
One Up Banana Hotel
16.50 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 92.5% 13 reviews
Kha Vi Guesthouse
6.00 USD

Guesthouse 73.8% 6 reviews
Landscape Hotel
51.20 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh
6.60 USD

Hostel 87.1% 274 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.5%

Overall Rating

24 out of 26 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Royal Inn'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
68.0%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
88.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 23 of 23 reviews
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, spacious rooms.

Disliked: Staff were OK but could have been more helpful.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the roofbar was very nice.

Disliked: you need a tucktuck to the center. but the location is okay.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

22 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly staff and good food menu.

Disliked: A liitle far away from the city centre.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -I first booked a single private room but found out that there was no window. I thought that that was kind of clausterphobia-inducing, so I asked for one with a window and loved the feel of that one! (at a higher price/night though)

Disliked: -No window in single private room that I originally booked. -Due to the window facing the street, I heard a lot of noise during the night which disrupted my sleep.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, big room, free breakfast was really good!

Disliked: A little noisy from traffic in the morning

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 February 2013

Liked: nice room, clean, good location scrambled egg for breakfast very good

Disliked: they sold us a largely overpriced bus ticket to Siem Reap: 12 USD which is ok for the better quality buses (newer and more confortable bus, with water and Snacks and toilet, free pick up to bus station...and told us it would be one of these busses) but instead it was a very old and bad bus (the badest we had so far in Cambodia, and before we took always the cheap "normal" ones!), these should cost around 6-7 USD there was orange juice on the breakfast menu, but the never had it (during 3 days), one day they even did not have jam....

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Freda McGrath

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2013 Freda would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly staff and great food at a very good price. I also liked the rooftop bar

Disliked: That it was a $2 tuc tuc drive away from the main town. I also wouldn't feel safe walking there at night

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanest place I've been to using hostelbookers. Included a room with its own washroom. And it wa clean!

Disliked: Could have been closer to main attractions but still relatively close.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and centrally located. The breakfast was also good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are nice and friendly, and the service is good.

Disliked: Location wise - quite a distance from the main attractions. No Internet activity - on the first night

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anabel Prieto

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2012 Anabel would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere & friendly staff

Disliked: Although it is quite near from the main attraction places with easy access by tuk tuk, the zone is not the best in town

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We made sure we had a room with a window, and were quite surprised to see that the room was big, had its own little balcony and was relatively new. the showers have got good pressure and are hot - the bathrooms are new and clean. We got our clothes washed - and they came back all sparkly fresh. Airport pick up was quick and painless, and organized only a few hours before we arrived.

Disliked: The rooftop bar is supposed to close at 10, but was already closed at 6. Probably a catch 22 situation of nobody being there... The hotel is on a fairly busy street, a little far from the centre of town. The western breakfasts are a bit teeny, but nonetheless included in the price. Wifi kept dropping out - but is to be expected all over Cambodia.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lee Varelas

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2012 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: Good value

Disliked: Lee left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lisa Medway

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2012 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms and helpful staff

Disliked: Lisa left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near by downtown and and still quiet

Disliked: Not really clean when you book a suite.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Christine Hennigan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2011 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were nice

Disliked: The room was pretty basic, nothing wrong with it but nothing spectacular either!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kim Teirlynck

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2011 Kim would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff Very nice rooms

Disliked: I like lots of fruit with my breakfast, but I had to pay extra for a tiny plate We couldn't enjoy the rooftop bar, since it was never open

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice restaurant

Disliked: no window

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Paolo Londero

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2011 Paolo would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, stuff was friendly, breakfast was good!

Disliked: No window in the room! Not so close to the bars area but few minutes walk to the river-side and the Royal Palace.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's small and situated on a quiet street. The rooms are very new and really immaculate especially the bathroom. The breakfast was excellent.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, nice staff, restaurant downstairs, nice atmosphere

Disliked: in surroundings there is no much to do

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, friendly staff, decent location, quiet

Disliked: Not a lot of atmosphere, but it was fine

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent restaurant attached. Free breakfast daily, with wonderful menus for other meals. Not many people took advantage of the restaurant for their other meals but the chef was excellent. I'd like to see this restaurant given more mention in the hotel information.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.