HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel e Republica Lotus Azul

Hotel | Riachuelo 1265, Centro, Porto Alegre, Brazil 90010271

73.3% Overall Rating

18 out of 25 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/05/2012)

"Quando você chega nesse hostel, você vai se sentir como a casa de sua mai! As pessoas eram muito legal. Ideal pra encontrar reais pessoas brasileiras..."

Read all Hostel e Republica Lotus Azul reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Porto Alegre?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Porto Alegre

Porto Alegre Eco Hostel
15.48 USD

Hostel 88.8% 13 reviews
Rock'n'Hostel
14.60 USD

Hostel 88.3% 25 reviews
Bom Fim Hostel
17.70 USD

Hostel 77.8% 9 reviews
Porto Alegre Hostel Boutique
24.33 USD

Hostel 87.3% 13 reviews
Hostel Porto do Sol
14.60 USD

Hostel 85.9% 37 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.3%

Overall Rating

18 out of 25 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel e Republica Lotus Azul'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
61.6%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
80.8%
Value
72.0%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 13 of 23 reviews
Reset filter
20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Richard O'Carroll

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2014

Liked: I liked when I could leave.

Disliked: It's hostel reviewer Enzyme- let's break this down- 1.) I'd rather like urine of a nettle than stay here again, the staff were strange and both mother and daughter with braces look at you like you have two heads if you don't speak Portuguese. 2.) I was told if I wasn't quite at night that the gay family member would give me forceful fellatio- some way to run a hostel 3.) Rooms are the smallest I've ever stayed in with no bed clothes and paper thin walls- if I was in the torture business, this place would be top of my list to keep detainees. 4.) They wouldn't let me check out a day early because the place was so bad- so out of spite I had to stay for another night. To summarise- Staff are as useful as a fork for eating soup. Place is a kip on a dodgy street and if you want to sleep-ehhhh forget about it (said in Sicilian accent)

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Very very tiny private room, no window, Not even enough space to open the door properly, no furniture only a bed was in the room

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helio Henrique L. C. Monte-Alto

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

31 August 2012 Helio Henrique would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people. It is located in the historical part of the city.

Disliked: Helio Henrique left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quando você chega nesse hostel, você vai se sentir como a casa de sua mai! As pessoas eram muito legal. Ideal pra encontrar reais pessoas brasileiras...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location

Disliked: Dark

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Farid Gamgami

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2010 Farid would recommend this property

Liked: It is rather a flat-sharing community than a histel in proper terms. So be prepared to live in between brasilian people and and maybe no tourist. I would say this is the ideal way of travelling. I was somehow part of their live rhythm, i liked it! If your are lokking for a typical backpacker hostel, with a reception and so on, you might not like this place.

Disliked: Farid left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay. Awesome people. Great value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Oscar Iglesias Freire

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2010

Liked: It is located quite in the city centre.

Disliked: Staff was not there to ask, even couldn't ask if I could have breakfast.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

04 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

James F G Cooke

01 April 2010 James F G would recommend this property

Liked: Good people,cheap,free wi fi & great to practice my Spanish before visiting Argentina.Only small niggle was 3 person dorm bunk bed & single already occupied by 3 people.I had a bed on floor with nowhere to put anything.For 2 days not a problem but for a longer stay I would probably not be happy with this.

Disliked: James F G left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

17 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ok

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpfull and friendly place, although a quite bad bed and very small room, i had a private room for the price of a shared. Bathroom is good and clean. The staff and permanent residents were really nice to me. The location is good, bars, restaurant, shops are very close, and only 15mns from the heart of the night life. The down side was that no internet is available there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Bruno Battistella

04 January 2010

Liked: ...

Disliked: Bruno left no negative feedback.