We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Pousada da Cachoeira

Hotel | Ilha Grande, Angra dos Reis, Ilha Grande, Brazil 000

86.4% Overall Rating

68 out of 71 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/07/2012)

"Very quiet and beautiful, flowers, cascade, nature all around and very clean... Great breakfast!"

Read all Pousada da Cachoeira reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

The bus trip to Angra costs about R$ 35 and takes 2 and half hours until 3 hs, and the one to Mangaratiba takes 2 hours.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ilha Grande?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ilha Grande

Mata Virgem Hostel
10.20 USD

Hostel 65.6% 113 reviews
Mango Tree Ilha Grande
20.39 USD

Hostel 89.1% 5 reviews
Che Lagarto Suites Ilha Grande
22.69 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
studio beach hostel
18.35 USD

Hostel 82.2% 26 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Ilha Grande
19.80 USD

Hostel 73.6% 127 reviews
El Misti Hostel Ilha Grande
10.20 USD

Hostel 74.3% 37 reviews
Aquario Hostel
15.50 USD

Hostel 72.7% 146 reviews
Pousada Paloma
18.35 USD

Guesthouse 75.8% 23 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.4%

Overall Rating

68 out of 71 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Pousada da Cachoeira'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
88.0%
Value
88.8%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 60 of 67 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

dario denac

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2013 dario would recommend this property

Liked: Nature

Disliked: dario left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location - quiet and relaxed.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very quiet and beautiful, flowers, cascade, nature all around and very clean... Great breakfast!

Disliked: A kitchen to cook would be great! All the rest is really nice

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!!! I travel at the moment 14 month and this is one of my best places to stay. So relaxed, cleand and friendly, many great small details in our room. We booked 2 nights and at the end we stayed 1 week. Big breakfast with nice breadrolls, cheese, ham, fresh fruits, fruit juice, cake and eggs. Free Wifi....what you want more??? The cats did not bother and I'm actually a dogs fan............

Disliked: Nothing!!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are very spacious and most have a great outlook over a beautiful tropical garden which is popular with all sorts of birds. Claus is very helpful and seems pretty knowledgeable about the island. It really is quite a beautiful spot and you can fall asleep to the sous of the stream that runs through the garden.

Disliked: As per previous reviews, there really are too many cats. They didn't come into our room but are everywhere else and a bit annoying at times, particularly when you are eating breakfast. The pousada is a bit of a walk uphill from the centre of town. The upside of this is the beautiful garden but the downside is it isn't as convenient to town as other places, nor is it close to the beach. There are a lot of bugs around and the windows don't seal all that well so bugs can get in. We had a huge spider in our room which was a bit disconcerting. Not really a problem and probably comes with the location but worth being aware of

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angélique Desroches

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2012 Angélique would recommend this property

Liked: very good place

Disliked: Angélique left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

01 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Příroda v okolí, chutné snídaně, ochotný personál, teráska s křesílky u pokoje

Disliked: Hodně koček

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A cosy place in a very beautiful Island.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lorraine Bligh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012 Lorraine would recommend this property

Liked: When we arrived we had been upgraded from a double room to a chalet for no extra cost, which was fantastic. It is a beautiful property with beautiful rooms, garden and communal area. Lots of character, lots of hammocks and seating to relax in. Claus is especially great with recommendations and help, and the rest of the family are very friendly and helpful too. Breakfast is fantastic. Location is a short walk from the centre of Abraao. Really enjoyed our stay here, a lovely hostel to compliment a lovely island.

Disliked: There were some bugs around but you are near the jungle so you have to expect it, and Claus very kindly got rid of them for us when I started screaming like the girl I am.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean and comfortable. Garden with it´s outdoor shower was really beautiful. I enjoyed the small terrace with a hammock in front of our room. Breakfast was really good! Owner speaks good english.

Disliked: Bit of a walk up from the center.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place :)

Disliked: No problems

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacqueline Inchauste

As a family with children

Family Holiday

23 August 2011 Jacqueline would recommend this property

Liked: It is beautiful and clean

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Greg Kowald

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 August 2011 Greg would recommend this property

Liked: excellent atmosphere (surroundings were beautiful); well labelled and easy to get to and find on the island (just 5 mins walk from the port); cats were really friendly! - would curl up on your lap, if you wanted them to! Couldnt believe how well priced it was, would have happily paid more for the room!

Disliked: no kitchen facilities (for selk catering), but we knew this before we came! Gave money off at a local eaterie to make up for this though!

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

zoe rouch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2011

Liked: The gardens were nice.

Disliked: Cannot understand for the life of me why this is ranked no. 1 on hostelbookers in ihla grande. Damp, tiny double room, crap water pressure in the shower (you had to run around to get wet), an army of ants invading the room, cats everywhere sleeping on your clothes, the same boring breakfast every day, no english speaking staff after 10am, no atmoshpere whatsoever, no access to the kitchen altho they falsely advertise they have one, no wi-fi in the rooms, blackouts and no staff at night to offer candles or anything... just crap. stay anywhere else on the island, you're not short of choice.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

31 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cats and the fresh bananas. Very clean and nice rooms.

Disliked: Many mosquitos

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mimi Lundberg

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

26 January 2011 Mimi would recommend this property

Liked: We likes The hostel à lot, its very clean and the breakfast is good. Good romantic relaxing hostel with nice staff and scenery!

Disliked: Expensive, but everything on The island is so..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the giant rock feature in the room, very original! great check-in staff, very knowledgeable, friendly... situated in a wonderful setting, with a garden, hummingbirds, waterfalls (small ones :-), free internet

Disliked: nothing to dislike really

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Chris Mager

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2011 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful green property, staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was included and really good. They had a small stream you could swim in in the back too, very nice.

Disliked: It was a long walk up the road to get there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is set amongst a gorgeous jungle garden, the sound of the river running is a lovely thing to wake up to! The rooms are really great also, the beds are comfy in the double private rooms and ensuites are clean relatively spacious. Breakfast was delicious each morning with a lot on offer. Hammocks outside the rooms are a nice touch, for when you want to just relax and unwind. Free wifi, can be a little tempremental at times but still able to get it outside of our room. Staff were lovely, especially Joanni who was happy to share a drink or two and hang around with us!!!

Disliked: There are only a couple of things that would put me off staying here again, and they are very minor. There are no lockers per say in the rooms, even though they are locked when you are out, the cleaners still had access to all our things ( back packs ) it would have been nice to know they were all safely locked away. The kitchen was used once by some other travellers and the next day they were asked not to cook again, and if hungry to eat out and were advised to try the owners restaurant. Bit cheeky. Also we were asked nicely not to stay up drinking too late, so as not to disturb the residents of the island. As we weren't being too loud I thought this was a bit tough. It makes it just that bit more expensive and inconvenient when you are all required to venture out!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Derek Smith

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

22 October 2010 Derek would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful rooms and gardens in this pousada, and very friendly staff. Would definately recommend it.

Disliked: Derek left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We booked 3 nights and ended up staying 6! Pur room was perfect adn the hosel is so peaceful and nicely set slightly out of the village, not far though. Claus was brilliant, very knowledgeable about the island, what to do and the Biergarten was a great place to eat on an evening. Would definitely recommend this hostel. The best place I stayed in Brazil!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Hopps

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

25 August 2010 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: It was absolutely beautiful, the grounds were really well kept, the location next to the river was amazing and Claus was very helpful. Overall it was a great place to stay. It is slightly off the beaten track, about a 10 minute uphill walok from the centre but it is worth every step. We had a double room which was very clean and opened up into the garden and the breakfast was great - the best cake i have ever tasted! We ended up extending our stay we enjoyed it so much here.

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne-Marie Smyth

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

23 August 2010 Anne-Marie would recommend this property

Liked: The calmness and serenity of the whole experience... resting in the hammock listening to the birds and water falling just below the trees and breakfast area. The owner Claus is extremely helpful, seriously knows the island and nearby towns on the mainland...directed us to the bus to Paraty from the ferry, and along some of the numerous hiking/walking trails which go around the island. He's unbelievably helpful in a non-intrusive way. All you have to do is ask and he's more than willing to help. Breakfast is great... breadrolls, variety of fruits, ham, cheese, fresh juice, scrambled eggs done so promptly its almost like it's to order! Also tea, coffee and yum cake every morning! And all this in a lovely breakfast/seating area under shelter and with the waterfall in the background. Room is very adequate, with ensuite and an always hot shower. Towels and floormats changed everyday. Good facilities like an in room fridge, air fan and even a very useful shelving unit. Free internet on communal computer, TV as well. Also, be sure to have dinner in Claus's restaurant BierGarten. Excellent selection of foods and at great value too! Highly recommend this property, we booked 2 nights but stayed for 4, shame we had to move on with our travels. Located in a lane at the top of a hill but definitely worth the 5 min up hill walk.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing

02 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very beautiful, very friendly staff, very confurtable beds and extremly clean. Great atmosphere and location next to a river with a small pool :) great place to stay!!

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

12 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the breakfast; beautiful garden with 10 cats in it and a nice place to sit and play games in the evening or to lay in the hammock outside the room. Coofee and water available all day.

Disliked: It's very humid, you can see that the walls are repainted over mould an dclothes never dry (but this was in the winter, perhaps the summer is better). Did find a dead cokroach in the sink on arrival but apart fron that we did't see any. They found no trace of our reservation but luckily they had a rom for us.