HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Tupiza hostels

Reviews of La Torre Hotel

Hotel | Av. Chichas 220, Between Suipacha Street and, Chuquisaca Street Tupiza, Bolivia 5912

87.5% Overall Rating

63 out of 69 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/07/2014)

Kiara Gallop thinks…

"The location, the hot showers, the spacious and clean rooms, and the attached tour office (recommended in LP and Trip Advisor for tours to the Salar de Uyuni). Also the cost of the room offers great…"

Read all La Torre Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tupiza?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.5%

Overall Rating

63 out of 69 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Torre Hotel'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
87.2%
Value
88.8%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 64 of 68 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3
Reset filter
40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Christopher Reed

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2010

Liked: The cleanliness is okay and the breakfasts are okay. The location is alright, but it would be hard not to be in a small town.

Disliked: My discontent with this property is related to the conduct of the staff, particularly relating to their tour agency. My wife and I booked a four-day tour of the south-west of Bolivia and Salar de Uyuni two days after the end of major protests in the country. The protests restricted the availability of fuel, among other things. We understood this and accepted there are sometimes things beyond an agency's control, but were staggered by the litany of lies told by the owners. Travellers heading north tend to end their tour in Uyuni. We were heading south and wanted to return to Tupiza. We were promised this would be possible. I asked if there was enough fuel and was told there was. We have a photo of the contract confirming we would return to Tupiza. In the end we were stranded in Uyuni and had to pay for a night bus back to Tupiza after a long wait. The owners reimbursed this, but begrudgingly. They did not apologise for the problems and complained that they had had to get up at 3.30am to let us in. Their drivers are liars. We ended up paying for admission to the Isla De Pescaderos in the Salar, not realising the cost was included in the price we had paid. When we found this out, we asked the agency to be reimbursed. They called the driver who said he had paid and the agency refused. To repeat, I understand problems occur and accept that is part of travelling, but I don't like being lied to. I would strongly recommend against using this agency - and staying at the property.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

geoff kelly

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2010 geoff would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and you could organise good Salar de Uyuni tours here which we did and really enjoyed. Decent beds!

Disliked: The showers were crap and the decoration is ultra chintzy.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kolja Huebner

With a large group / tour

Beach / sunbathing

07 August 2010 Kolja would recommend this property

Liked: Very good place to stay over for a night. Spotless and quite rooms! The breaky is also a plus!

Disliked: Kolja left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Carlos and his family were welcoming, helpful,hospitable,warm hearted and genuiely friendly. La Torre Hotel is a home away from home.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice beds, well located

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

31 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great brekky and comfy rooms! Staff couldn´t have been more friendly and would definitely recommend the tours offered there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lovely rooms, great showers, and best breakfast of any hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Andrew Tucknott

16 May 2010 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: This was such a lovely hostel, The owners and staff were so helpful and friendly, Nothing was to much trouble. The breakfast also included was the best breakfast ive had in the whole of Bolivia so far.The rooms are big and very clean. Plus they have hot showers running all day.They recommend 2 really great inexpensive restaurants for lunch and dinner which myself and my girlfriend ate at.There are also really helpful with the tours to the salt flats. In fact ive just got back from their tour and i would highly recommend.The driver and cook were wonderful Laseru and Luisa even though they didnt speak any english, The tour was eco friendly, And the food was amazing.They really go through the tour thoroughly with you before you book and we were really impressed with how friendly, Informative and honest they were. We did check out Tupiza tours to get a an idea of price etc and we found them very unfriendly and unhelpful. La Torre also beat them on price.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Femke Jansen

06 May 2010 Femke would recommend this property

Liked: I would very much recommend Hotel La Torre, as well as their excellent 4 day tour to Uyuni. There had been a mix up with our booking, for which reason the room that we had booked wasn't available. However, staff did everything they could to make it right and within 15 minutes they had arranged another room, with bathroom, which we got for the same price as the originally booked room without bathroom. Very professionally handled. Room is good and clean, bathroom quite cramped, but shower was nice and hot. Cable TV in the room. Breakfast was delicious! Also took the tour to Uyuni with them and had a great time - highly recommended!

Disliked: Femke left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They also provide a tour from Tupiza to Uyuni, which was very simple to organise, and the tour was good.The breakfast (included) was nice.... very nice compared to other places in other towns we stayed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean place! Friendly staff. The 4 days tour to "salar de Uyuni" was very good!! Good value!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kerstin Herold

03 April 2010 Kerstin would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and nice staff !

Disliked: Kerstin left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bart Parsons

02 April 2010 Bart would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to stay in Tupiza and the tour company is ultra helpful!

Disliked: Bart left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I also went on a tour with them to the salt flats and it was really good. Highly recommended! Good drivers, good food, very friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Tupiza hostels