We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Tupiza hostels

Reviews of La Torre Hotel

Hotel | Av. Chichas 220, Between Suipacha Street and, Chuquisaca Street Tupiza, Bolivia 5912

88.3% Overall Rating

64 out of 70 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/07/2014)

Kiara Gallop thinks…

"The location, the hot showers, the spacious and clean rooms, and the attached tour office (recommended in LP and Trip Advisor for tours to the Salar de Uyuni). Also the cost of the room offers great…"

Read all La Torre Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tupiza?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.3%

Overall Rating

64 out of 70 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Torre Hotel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
88.8%
Value
88.8%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 64 of 69 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice room, the kitchen was good and the whole place was very clean. hot showers. we did a good 3 hour horse riding tour with them. it started off a little disorganised but it was enjoyable once we got going!!

Disliked: no internet. also there is no bank ATM in tupiza and they charge you 10 percent on the credit card fees. There is a place where you can get a cash advance for cheaper, which they did tell us about..this is just to let people know in advanace so they can bring cash with them!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good rooms for ok price with own bathroom and tv (even though I didn't have a window), good breakfast included.

Disliked: Not a good place to meet other travellers when travelling alone.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Harm van Tilborg

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 June 2011 Harm would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean rooms plus bathrooms. Good (included) breakfast. Nice and helpful staff. Located two blocks from the main square.

Disliked: Relatively pricey, although

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joseph Geurts

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2011 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: location, nice room, hot showers, atmosphere

Disliked: thee run also a touring company for the salttrips. In our case we had just 24 hours arrived from Salta. We were offered a salt-trip, and although the car was fine, and the guide also, we had to return because one of us suffered from the altitude too much. Th problem seems to be that they are so eager to sell you the tour that they will not let you acclimatixe in Tupiza

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sharon Smith

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2011 Sharon would recommend this property

Liked: Twin room with private ensuite was spacious and clean. Plenty of hot water in the shower.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean hostel, helpful staff

Disliked: Poor internet, needs wifi

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There isn't really much choice in Tupiza, but this hostel was what you'd expect. Did the job, but nothing special. The owner is a very likeable fellow though and the 1 days triathlon tour was pretty fun.

Disliked: The usual complaints, dirty bedspreads and bathrooms that need a bit of attention. Our room had opaque glass windows on the door that let in a lot of light at night, an easy fix would be to put a curtain up.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money, nice owners, able to book salt flats trip through the hostel

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room was clean and got satilite tv with the room! Breakfast was good.

Disliked: No change so had to go and break own notes to pay. Building work going on so can be noisy during the day. We decided not to book salt flat tour with them as bumped into friends to do it with and they were somewhat hostile to us after that....but room and breakfast far outweighed that on the positive side!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 February 2011

Liked: location, the owner is very friendly

Disliked: not clean bathroom

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2011

Liked: its clean and central and the staff are quite friendly. Until we explained that we were only paying 50% for our first night, as we arrived at 5 am and it had been aggreed by email with the manager. Then they were less friendly!

Disliked: Also booked a one day horse riding tour, which was quite expensive. The vegitarian lunch was awful. Dry bread, two types of onion and tomatoes. Not even any butter. Also when the driver dropped us off for our horse riding we thought he was coming to pick us up again so we left our bags in the jeep. We then discovered that we were to walk back to the hostel. No one really explained this to us and we were worried about our bags, although they were fine and had been dropped off.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ben Dudley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2011 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms and lobby. Breakfast ok. Overall good tour to Uyuni with great food although suggestions that drivers were over cautious about driving on salt fkats in rainy season - othert jeeps were going further and seeing more.

Disliked: No internet or wifi

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, clean, good value for money!

Disliked: - No internet nor wifi - It is probably hard to meet other people for travellers who travel alone - They sold us a tour with hiking, jeep and horses. At the end of the horses we had to walk back to the hostel without any map or directions.. and we still did not hike .. back in the hotel the told us you can not hike because of the river.. but the river don´t rise in one night...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Sandra Beaumont

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2011 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: As we had booked the Sala de Uyuni tour with La Torre, it made sense staying at their hotel for convenience.

Disliked: Unfortunately the drains smelled awfully once you had a shower and there were no windows in the rooms to let in fresh air. Also the hotel tried to charge an extra Bol.10.00 per night on the rate quoted in hostelbookers.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, Salar de Uyuni trip was really good.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hot showers, clean, good breakfast

Disliked: Cabels in the shower

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

stephen yates

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2011 stephen would recommend this property

Liked: It feels like a hotel, with a very grand lobby! The rooms are very distinct but kept clean. The tour company is attached to the hotel so easy to get advice on what to do. Very central.

Disliked: No internet in the hotel and no lockers in the rooms. My single room had a window which could have been opened easily, so not secure.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, and the 4 day tour to Uyuni that I did with them was great!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Green

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2010 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Room large and comfortable. Allowed us to use bedroom when we arrived at crack of dawn without charge.

Disliked: Stephen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Rooms are clean, breakfast is good for Bolivia. We also booked a salt flats tour through the agency at the hotel which was also great and I would highly recommend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to organise a Salt Flats tour from. We arrived very early in the morning, but were allowed to check in straight away and have breakfast. Great place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very Clean. Raul was very helpful and explained all about the tours very honestly.

Disliked: The curfew at 11pm is pretty early but to be honest there isn't a whole lot to do in Tupiza at night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anthony Silipo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2010 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Tours desk sorted everything out for our time there.

Disliked: Anthony left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Greenberg

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2010 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful hostel. The place is spotless, staff friendly and helpful, great breakfast, and the tour I organised through them (horse riding) was fantastic!

Disliked: Rachel left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Malone

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2010 James would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms spotless and shower was great. Breakfast was good. They have their own tour company too, although had already booked previously with another firm.

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.


See all Tupiza hostels