We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Utama

2 star Hotel | Calle Michell Perez Esq, San Antonio, Copacabana, Bolivia -

83.5% Overall Rating

94 out of 103 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/08/2015)

"The Service was nice and the breakfast was varied and very good. Furthermore they offer mate Tee, water, some fruits und sweets for free! The hostel was pretty clean! We enjoyed or stay here thank you"

Read all Hotel Utama reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Copacabana?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.5%

Overall Rating

94 out of 103 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Utama'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
84.0%
Value
80.0%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 84 of 100 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Service was nice and the breakfast was varied and very good. Furthermore they offer mate Tee, water, some fruits und sweets for free! The hostel was pretty clean! We enjoyed or stay here thank you

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Sarah Kotter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2015

Liked: They cleaned the room very thoroughly. There were free bananas, tea and candies on a stand out in the common area.

Disliked: The staff. They were really unhelpful and unfriendly. They lied about wifi connection. Also wifi was really, really bad. And they just shut it off at 10 pm,

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alex Russell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2015 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the budget double ocean view room, and it was so lovely and homely - own bathroom with hot shower and the biggest comfiest bed! Breakfast was excellent, and they even provide free snacks all day in the lobby! The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the main square so it was really quiet, with nice views of the lake and hill. A perfect place for people who want peace and comfort.

Disliked: The common areas are a little daggy and lacking atmosphere.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brian Cusack

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2015 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant

Disliked: Brian left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff

Disliked: Walking there by yourself at night could be a bit dodgy

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nicholas Elston

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2015 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: They served a great breakfast

Disliked: The WiFi was switched off at night which is frustrating.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Joachim Doll

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2015 Joachim would recommend this property

Liked: Five minutes to walk from the plaza where all the buses arrive. Some rooms with nice view to the Titicaca lake. Good breakfast. Friendly, quiet at night.

Disliked: Wifi sometimes in the night switched off. During the day not always easy to connect, because there are different utama1, utama2 etc. posibilties and not all work.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Elaine Byrne

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2014 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: Free bananas, TV in room

Disliked: Shower took a long time to heat up

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and quiet rooms. Hot showers 24h, which seems to be not always the case in Copacabana. Stuff is nice and friendly. Free fruits and tea.

Disliked: Not much. The man serving breakfast sometimes confused things. First day he forgot to serve eggs and braught only coffee and no tea. After a reminder he braught the stuff quickly. Bustickets to Cusco sold at the hotel cost double than at the office of the bus company we chose, but I don't know what quality the buses booked at the hotel have compared to the ones we had. Finally internet was slow and cut off between 22 and 6:30, but the slow internet seems to be a general problem of Copacabana and not just the hotel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were overwhelmingly friendly and very helpful. Rooms were sunny and comfortable.

Disliked: Showers weren't great - welcome to Bolivia!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place, free water, tea, fruit. Helpful and friendly staff. Good showers

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

sarah rohde

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014 sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and clean room, friendly staff, good breakfast

Disliked: It seemed a little expensive for Bolivia

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Heath Chamberlain

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2014 Heath would recommend this property

Liked: The owner help retrieve our money from one of the ferry companies after the cancelled the ferry at 830am and refused to refund us. Staff were very warm and welcoming, extremely good accommodation.

Disliked: The shower was a little on the cold side, not freezing more luke warm but nothing really to complain about. Hotel is about a 10min walk up hills but again that wasn't too bad.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Appreciated keeping our bags there for free while visiting Isla Del Sol. Very good breakfast with great service.

Disliked: Couldn't get hot water to work?!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2014

Liked: Breakfast, free fruit and mate de coca

Disliked: Unreasonably overpriced! No hot shower, staff doesn't speak any English at all, to get there you have to climb uphill, my room looked old and worn out. In the bathroom there were no shower curtain, so the water splashes all over and stays on the floor in the middle of the bathroom. On the main street there're plenty of other options, which are twice as good and cost half or one third of the price in this place.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tim Beasley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 March 2014 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Good size room, decent bed, warm shower. Pleasant and bright internal courtyard (with clear roof) with comfy sofas & tables, plus free supply of mate de coca, water, bananas & sweets. Phone and free info available. Most rooms have at least a partial lake view, 2nd floor views are best. The breakfast, included in room price, was much better than average! Hotel is a 5-10minutes walk from the beach & boats, local market and 2 main squares, coach arrival & departure points, multiple cafes & restaurants, and various tour/transport agencies. Hotel offers a free pick up from coach if you really need it.

Disliked: There was no smoking area except out on the street. Wi-Fi was switched off about 10pm the night we were there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful to have a private room - great value & the breakfast is hearty with the sweetest most awesome waitress :)

Disliked: Not very secure - the room keys are left alone at reception sometimes. I was able to just grab mine & go up to my room at one point. The clerk at reception also tried to double charge me for an Isla Del Sol tour when I paid my bill - which was technically already slightly over the amount Hostel Bookers claimed I owed. Not impressed.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jackson Ellis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2014 Jackson would recommend this property

Liked: Well presented, clean and comfortable place to stay. The staff were very helpful booking bus, boat tickets etc. the breakfast was great.

Disliked: As with much of Bolivia, don't expect too much from the wifi.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hannah Russell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2014 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds, lots of blankets, hot water, decent wifi, TVs in rooms, friendly staff, good breakfast, and they pick you up from the bus for free - handy!

Disliked: Staff don't speak a lot of English, up a hill (but not a big deal and still close to town)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, clean and delicious breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were clean, had a nice view of lake titicaca from our window. They give free bananas, sweets and water to everyone, just help yourself to them. It was probably one of the best breakfasts we have had travelling through most of south America, fruit juice, pancakes, fruit, yoguht, cereal and tea or coffee. Staff were friendly and helpful and spoke some english. And they came to pick us up from where the bus drops you off at. Really good place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Bentley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2013 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was amazing. You can ask to use the heaters at night which was great in Bolivia. Showers were hot. Free coca tea & bananas.

Disliked: The Internet just dropped in & out but worked best in the morning..

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Matthew M Hall

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2013 Matthew M would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Extremely slow internet that is truned off after 10pm. If you dine alone for breakfast you are relegated to sitting in a corner table staring at a wall.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice breakfast & free fruit, sweets & hot drinks all day. Nice room and hot showers

Disliked: No atmosphere and it smelt a bit musty and damp in our room..

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful staff, nice, clean rooms and good breakfast

Disliked: none