HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Utama

2 star Hotel | Calle Michell Perez Esq, San Antonio, Copacabana, Bolivia -

84.1% Overall Rating

80 out of 88 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/05/2014)

Heath Chamberlain thinks…

"The owner help retrieve our money from one of the ferry companies after the cancelled the ferry at 830am and refused to refund us. Staff were very warm and welcoming, extremely good accommodation."

Read all Hotel Utama reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Copacabana?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.1%

Overall Rating

80 out of 88 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Utama'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
86.4%
Value
80.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 73 of 85 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

sarah rohde

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014 sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and clean room, friendly staff, good breakfast

Disliked: It seemed a little expensive for Bolivia

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Heath Chamberlain

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2014 Heath would recommend this property

Liked: The owner help retrieve our money from one of the ferry companies after the cancelled the ferry at 830am and refused to refund us. Staff were very warm and welcoming, extremely good accommodation.

Disliked: The shower was a little on the cold side, not freezing more luke warm but nothing really to complain about. Hotel is about a 10min walk up hills but again that wasn't too bad.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Appreciated keeping our bags there for free while visiting Isla Del Sol. Very good breakfast with great service.

Disliked: Couldn't get hot water to work?!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2014

Liked: Breakfast, free fruit and mate de coca

Disliked: Unreasonably overpriced! No hot shower, staff doesn't speak any English at all, to get there you have to climb uphill, my room looked old and worn out. In the bathroom there were no shower curtain, so the water splashes all over and stays on the floor in the middle of the bathroom. On the main street there're plenty of other options, which are twice as good and cost half or one third of the price in this place.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tim Beasley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 March 2014 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Good size room, decent bed, warm shower. Pleasant and bright internal courtyard (with clear roof) with comfy sofas & tables, plus free supply of mate de coca, water, bananas & sweets. Phone and free info available. Most rooms have at least a partial lake view, 2nd floor views are best. The breakfast, included in room price, was much better than average! Hotel is a 5-10minutes walk from the beach & boats, local market and 2 main squares, coach arrival & departure points, multiple cafes & restaurants, and various tour/transport agencies. Hotel offers a free pick up from coach if you really need it.

Disliked: There was no smoking area except out on the street. Wi-Fi was switched off about 10pm the night we were there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful to have a private room - great value & the breakfast is hearty with the sweetest most awesome waitress :)

Disliked: Not very secure - the room keys are left alone at reception sometimes. I was able to just grab mine & go up to my room at one point. The clerk at reception also tried to double charge me for an Isla Del Sol tour when I paid my bill - which was technically already slightly over the amount Hostel Bookers claimed I owed. Not impressed.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jackson Ellis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2014 Jackson would recommend this property

Liked: Well presented, clean and comfortable place to stay. The staff were very helpful booking bus, boat tickets etc. the breakfast was great.

Disliked: As with much of Bolivia, don't expect too much from the wifi.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hannah Russell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2014 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds, lots of blankets, hot water, decent wifi, TVs in rooms, friendly staff, good breakfast, and they pick you up from the bus for free - handy!

Disliked: Staff don't speak a lot of English, up a hill (but not a big deal and still close to town)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, clean and delicious breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were clean, had a nice view of lake titicaca from our window. They give free bananas, sweets and water to everyone, just help yourself to them. It was probably one of the best breakfasts we have had travelling through most of south America, fruit juice, pancakes, fruit, yoguht, cereal and tea or coffee. Staff were friendly and helpful and spoke some english. And they came to pick us up from where the bus drops you off at. Really good place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Bentley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2013 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was amazing. You can ask to use the heaters at night which was great in Bolivia. Showers were hot. Free coca tea & bananas.

Disliked: The Internet just dropped in & out but worked best in the morning..

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Matthew M Hall

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2013 Matthew M would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Extremely slow internet that is truned off after 10pm. If you dine alone for breakfast you are relegated to sitting in a corner table staring at a wall.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice breakfast & free fruit, sweets & hot drinks all day. Nice room and hot showers

Disliked: No atmosphere and it smelt a bit musty and damp in our room..

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful staff, nice, clean rooms and good breakfast

Disliked: none

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good hot showers. Excellent breakfast: pancake, eggs, bread, cereal, yogurt, fruit, juice, tea. Staff would help you book tours or buy bus tickets.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tracey Cox

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2013 Tracey would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff, central, and clean with hot showers. Decent breakfast plus free bananas and mate de coca all day

Disliked: It was pretty cold, even with the heaters, but I think that is to be expected in Copacabana! The wifi does not work between 10pm until 6:30am, unfortunately. I think they actually tried to keep it on for us on night 2, but we couldn't access anything so it seems to be the service provider.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very kind staff, free mate de coca (tea) and bananas, free pick up service, very good breakfast...

Disliked: Shower could be better

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Laurie Nock

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013 Laurie would recommend this property

Liked: Transportation between the hotel and bus was complimentary – most welcome, as it’s a tough two-block walk! (Everything in Copacabana is either up or downhill, and usually both!) It’s a relatively large hotel of a couple of dozen rooms on two floors around a huge open center area. My view was of the hills behind town, rather than Lake Titicaca, but I loved seeing the city, the Cathedral, etc. There’s a big double bed with lots of room around it and two big easy chairs flanking the window. Bananas, apples, cold clean water and mate de coca (coca tea) are available for free. There is no TV. The view and the silence are great. Breakfast has many components in modest amounts: cereal, pancake, bread, egg, cheese, ham, sliced tomato, fruit salad, juice, coffee. Hotel staff are very pleasant and helpful, and skilled at arranging travel and tours.

Disliked: Weak Wifi turns off at 10 p.m. The hotel is unheated, but loans propane heaters to rooms until 10 p.m., removing them then for safety’s sake. The electric shower touchy; you have to learn not to turn on any more volume than needed, as then it’s hottest. The shower curtain is too short, so water pools in the bathroom, but the drain isn’t too badly placed, and water can be mopped up with a bathmat. The bathroom window tends to be left open during the day, and flies come in.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful. Great breakfast.

Disliked: Shower was only Luke warm and spasmodic, think it must be on a timer and kept cutting out. First night we stayed there room was cold with no heater in room.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 May 2013

Liked: I like how the offer tea, water and snacks all the time for free.

Disliked: It was a bit confusing how the hot water system works and how the switch for it can turn off by itself.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

joanne coxage

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2013 joanne would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best we stayed in in south america! Food being the main reason, lots for breakfast and free snacks and tea all day. The hotel has a nice atmosphere with the open ground floor and paintings on the walls. The room was also lovely and we had a view of the sea. Internet worked well (but only downstairs). Free hotel pick-up which actually arrived! and they took us back to the bus stop at the end of our trip. copacabana is small so everything is close.

Disliked: Internet only downstairs but its a good connection. Was a bit more expensive but one of the cheapest in copacabana. I think the map on hostel bookers shows the hotel in the wrong place though...although we got picked up so this didnt matter for us!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very quiet hotel, pleasant rooms. No hot water. Picked up from the bus station and bags carried to my room which was very nice! Good breakfast and free bananas all day. I was happy with my stay and would stay again.

Disliked: It was quiet and difficult to meet people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

stephen stone

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2013 stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, friendly and only a few blocks away from the Town Square. Great views over Lake Titicaca and Stations of the Cross. Owner booked our trips for us and also drove us to the bus stop and boat ferry, Had free Mate de Coca, Bananas, Water and Sweets all day long. Room was lovely. Warm and Cosy with great hot shower.

Disliked: Disliked nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2013

Liked: Bed very comfy and clean white sheets

Disliked: shower Dismal communal area Coca tea,hot water would be better with choice of tea

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was very good, the best ive had in South America, I couldnt believe how much there was! They upgraded me to a double room which was nice and always had teas and fruit out for the guests. They were also helpful in taking us to the port for the boat and the bus stop. They book a good bus from the hostel which is rare.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.