We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Utama

2 star Hotel | Calle Michell Perez Esq, San Antonio, Copacabana, Bolivia -

84.9% Overall Rating

85 out of 93 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/09/2014)

"Nice and quiet rooms. Hot showers 24h, which seems to be not always the case in Copacabana. Stuff is nice and friendly. Free fruits and tea."

Read all Hotel Utama reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Copacabana?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.9%

Overall Rating

85 out of 93 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Utama'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
86.4%
Value
84.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 76 of 90 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff, free snacks (fruit, popcorn and tea) all day long, huge breakfast. a great stay, would also recommend to look into Hotel Cupula, which is right next door, has an amazing lunch and dinner menu for a great price and costs less and is more modern.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ana Ferreira

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2012 ana would recommend this property

Liked: We also enjoyed all hospedage in Utama Hotel in Copacabana. People are realiy nice and best regards. The room is very cool, the breakfast is fantastic! Gratefull!!!

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gillian Gale

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2012 Gillian would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely views, good size room, very comfortable, helpful staff, huge breakfast! Free tea and fruit all day. Unexpected pick up from the bus station, very welcome, its up a hill! No problem storing your luggage whilst you overnight on Isla del Sol.

Disliked: Limited heating to 6pm to 10pm, understand its gas and you cant have overnight in your room, but should be avaailable earlier as it gets very cold.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are really nice here, they let our bank phone their landline for us. The free bananas, oranges, water & mate de coca saved us when we couldn't get cash out. The room was clean & had cable tv. We had a good view of Lake Titikaka but not all rooms do. You get a real towel! Breakfast was really good! Fruit cocktail, yoghurt, tea/coffee, egg, bread, pancake, juice- all of it! There is a free pick up from the bus if you email ahead. It's not far but slightly up hill at altitude so worth it if your bags are heavy. There is a free lugguage storage but it's not locked, we used it and it was fine though. Small book exchange & tours can be booked at the front desk.

Disliked: It was cold at this time of year (May) but they have 4 heaters per floor that can be used for free between 6-10pm. The shower water was a bit cold too. The internet doesn't work upstairs in your room but downstairs there are no plug sockets in the main area. However there are a few sockets in the small office/free computer room. Everyhere in Copacabama is a bit pricey. I don't think anywhere is perfect here so this is probably the best in town, or stay on Isla del Sol instead it's much more beautiful!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Bennison

Alone

City break

04 June 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The free snacks, tea and fruit were a nice touch. It's a very clean hotel and I had everything I needed...apart from a decent internet connection.

Disliked: The internet situation could be easily improved. Electricity sockets in the lounge area would be helpful too. Everyone seemed to hide away in their rooms so wasn't the best place to meet other people but that's not the hotel's fault I suppose!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast was amazing. especially, free candy was lovely :)

Disliked: Remember! Copacabana is good place to drink. One thing, the wall is like a paper. We got up every 4 AM in the morning because of the sound from the next door. Thankfully, we could imagine all what happened in the next door @ 4AM. Except that sound, there is very quite. This is not the hotel fault. The place is just good to drink. Meet a great neighborhood.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was good, rooms were clean. And the free coca tea is a nice touch. We got collected from the bus drop off (although it's not too far to walk). There is a tv in the room which is nice if your sick!

Disliked: It is very expensive for Bolivia and the facilities don't quite match up to the price. The shower is very weak and the whole place is echoy so you will get woken up when people get in later or up earlier than you. We wanted to have a check out of 4 hours later because I was quite Ill, but they wanted to charge another 100 bs each - a bit steep. There are definitely a lot more options in Copacabana than covered by Hostelworld or Lonely Planet. If you don't mind turning up and finding one you will certainly save some money.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a really nice place to stay if you are looking for something quiet, cosy, and relaxing! The breakfast is good. I found the staff were pretty helpful - they picked me up from the bus and then also dropped me off at the bus stop.

Disliked: It is not a place to meet people really. Had wifi in my room, but unfortunately they change the password once per day and they also turn it off from 8pm-8am - really frustrating.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Derek Nielsen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 May 2012 Derek would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing Breakfast. The staff is very friendly and very helpful. We had a great view of the lake from our room and the roof has an even better view of copacabana and lake titicaca.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jamie Carroll

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2012 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: an excellent place to stay in Copa! Very tidy rooms at decent prices

Disliked: internet password changed every day which is just a pain.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great breakfast! Book share.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very open and spacious, excellent for large groups, gorgeous view of the lake and surrounds. Very, very clean. Loved the water available as well as free fruit! What a treat!

Disliked: with luggage, it's quite a walk, though they do offer pickup but you must know when the bus is arriving.... probematic at times....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and the hostel has a great vibe about it. Not a party hostel more like a hotel to chill out for a few days in. Rooms are warm and clean with a great view of the lake. Breakfast is amazing with cereal, fruit, eggs and pancakes, the best we have had in SA.

Disliked: Wifi was good when it was working but needed a new password every day. It stopped at 8pm, but absolutely no other complaints.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great breakfast and views of the lake. Friendly staff. Paintings in hostel were great. Free pick up and drop off.

Disliked: Wifi turned off from 8pm till 8 am every day. No heaters in room but available from 6pm till 10pm only

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent breakfast. Clean room with comfy beds. Hot showers.

Disliked: Internet was hit and miss.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location. excellent staff. delicious breakfast!!!. very clean. free fruit and popcorn

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, nice room and beds with great view over the lake.

Disliked: Shower pressure was very weak, we didn't get picked up from the bus station as promised.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARGARET RULLI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2012 MARGARET would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel Utama had a hotel vibe but a good social atmosphere. It was an incredible value for our money with a private room and bathroom with a beautiful view of the lake. Everyday they have popcorn, candy, bananas and tea in the common area free for guests and the breakfast is superb - Eggs, pancakes, yogurt, fruit, bread and great coffee! The staff is very friendly and helped us book bus tickets and boat tickets in and around Cocacabana. The showers are hot and the beds are warm too - a rarity for Bolivia!

Disliked: The storage room was just an office off the main reception area. No lockers were available so we felt a little weird leaving our valuables there overnight when we stayed at Isa Del Sol - But nothing was taken thankfully and the staff was nice enough to let us store our extra luggage there even after we checked out!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Gonzalez

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2012 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great! The breakfast was amazing, the free bananas coca tea sweets and popcorn were brilliant

Disliked: internet was hit and miss and very slow

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

serena humphries

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2012

Liked: Good location and pick up service. Nice breakfast. The beds were quite comfortable and we had a good view of the lake. Extra blankets provided when asked for as well as hot water for tea.

Disliked: We felt quite cold in the room and heaters are only provided from 6-10pm. The 2nd night we used the heater we smelt burning and realised that the plug was burning, after we unplugged it we could see that the plastic was melted around the pins. None of the plug sockets in the room held plugs properly, everything plugged in was loose and therefore not safe. The shower was a bit useless and only lukewarm, sprinkles of water, didn't look forward to using it and didn't bother washing my hair for the whole stay, too much hard work! Contradicting information given about being able to stay longer in the room on the day of departure (when actually it wasn't possible) led to us waste time sitting in the hotel when we could have caught the earlier bus instead.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the Staff was very lovely and helpful, good breakfast included

Disliked: could do with a little refurb of the rooms. Certainly not run down (except of the carpet), however, very old fashioned. The panda blankets could be replaced by some Bolivian made blankets and the rooms would look much friendlier. It was clean though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: worth it just for the breakfast! also super clean and friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was a super relaxed hostel with great facilities. Breakfast is included in the price and you get cereal, yoghurt, fruit salad, pancake, eggs, bread, tea/coffee... Our room had a lovely view of the lake. Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really felt like a hotel rather than a hostel.Had fruits and tea for free all day long. Really good value for money. Our room had a nice view on lake titicaca.

Disliked: NOthing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room had plenty of space and had 2 arm chairs and a tv. toilet had plenty of towels and soap. coca tea and bananas free of charge all day. breakfast was excellent including pancake,fruit salad, tea/coffee, cereal, eggs and toast.

Disliked: There were problems with the wifi while we stayed there and when we were checking out we were charged 70 bolivianos between 3 people. the problem was sorted with a little effort but the owner didnt seem too pleased.