We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Utama

2 star Hotel | Calle Michell Perez Esq, San Antonio, Copacabana, Bolivia -

82.4% Overall Rating

91 out of 99 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/02/2015)

Joachim Doll thinks…

"Five minutes to walk from the plaza where all the buses arrive. Some rooms with nice view to the Titicaca lake. Good breakfast. Friendly, quiet at night."

Read all Hotel Utama reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Copacabana?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.4%

Overall Rating

91 out of 99 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Utama'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
84.0%
Value
79.2%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 81 of 96 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best breakfast Ive had during my travels in Peru and Bolivia. I liked having a TV in my room. I watched Los Simpsons both nights. Hot water in the shower

Disliked: I heard that other people paid similar for properties with better views of the lake. I probably couldve shopped around. It wasnt that busy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, wifi, and helpful staff

Disliked: A bit overpriced

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2012

Liked: Great complete breakfast, free fruit in the foyer. The pick up from the bus was a nice surprise.

Disliked: The internet was slow and stopped at 10pm. There was no heating in the rooms and it got very cold at night. The manager/owner was not particularly friendly or helpful. It's fairly expensive relative to Bolivian prices.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel was clean but basic. The breakfast was very good and they have free snacks

Disliked: The electric shower was poorly wired and a little cold.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff were very kind and helpful. When one of us was sick they even gave us special teabags for breakfast. We were picked up from the bus stop when we arrived without even asking for it. The breakfast is very good and comprehensive, and served very sweetly every morning. Every day they clean the rooms and give you fresh towels. There are good views of the lake and the town from most rooms. They can book your tickets to Isla Del Sol and then they give you a lift to the quay.

Disliked: Their system for providing heating is pretty crazy (and it gets REALLY cold at night in Copacabana) Each evening they come round with the 3 gas heaters for each floor, and if you're there you can get one - between 6 and 10 pm. This is because it is not safe to sleep with them on. The heaters make a lot of condensation and heat the room too much (usually at the time you are out eating supper) but it's the only heat on offer, so you have to take it if you can. Having said all that, we would still definitlely recommend this hotel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff, free snacks (fruit, popcorn and tea) all day long, huge breakfast. a great stay, would also recommend to look into Hotel Cupula, which is right next door, has an amazing lunch and dinner menu for a great price and costs less and is more modern.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ana Ferreira

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2012 ana would recommend this property

Liked: We also enjoyed all hospedage in Utama Hotel in Copacabana. People are realiy nice and best regards. The room is very cool, the breakfast is fantastic! Gratefull!!!

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gillian Gale

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2012 Gillian would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely views, good size room, very comfortable, helpful staff, huge breakfast! Free tea and fruit all day. Unexpected pick up from the bus station, very welcome, its up a hill! No problem storing your luggage whilst you overnight on Isla del Sol.

Disliked: Limited heating to 6pm to 10pm, understand its gas and you cant have overnight in your room, but should be avaailable earlier as it gets very cold.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are really nice here, they let our bank phone their landline for us. The free bananas, oranges, water & mate de coca saved us when we couldn't get cash out. The room was clean & had cable tv. We had a good view of Lake Titikaka but not all rooms do. You get a real towel! Breakfast was really good! Fruit cocktail, yoghurt, tea/coffee, egg, bread, pancake, juice- all of it! There is a free pick up from the bus if you email ahead. It's not far but slightly up hill at altitude so worth it if your bags are heavy. There is a free lugguage storage but it's not locked, we used it and it was fine though. Small book exchange & tours can be booked at the front desk.

Disliked: It was cold at this time of year (May) but they have 4 heaters per floor that can be used for free between 6-10pm. The shower water was a bit cold too. The internet doesn't work upstairs in your room but downstairs there are no plug sockets in the main area. However there are a few sockets in the small office/free computer room. Everyhere in Copacabama is a bit pricey. I don't think anywhere is perfect here so this is probably the best in town, or stay on Isla del Sol instead it's much more beautiful!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Bennison

Alone

City break

04 June 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The free snacks, tea and fruit were a nice touch. It's a very clean hotel and I had everything I needed...apart from a decent internet connection.

Disliked: The internet situation could be easily improved. Electricity sockets in the lounge area would be helpful too. Everyone seemed to hide away in their rooms so wasn't the best place to meet other people but that's not the hotel's fault I suppose!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast was amazing. especially, free candy was lovely :)

Disliked: Remember! Copacabana is good place to drink. One thing, the wall is like a paper. We got up every 4 AM in the morning because of the sound from the next door. Thankfully, we could imagine all what happened in the next door @ 4AM. Except that sound, there is very quite. This is not the hotel fault. The place is just good to drink. Meet a great neighborhood.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was good, rooms were clean. And the free coca tea is a nice touch. We got collected from the bus drop off (although it's not too far to walk). There is a tv in the room which is nice if your sick!

Disliked: It is very expensive for Bolivia and the facilities don't quite match up to the price. The shower is very weak and the whole place is echoy so you will get woken up when people get in later or up earlier than you. We wanted to have a check out of 4 hours later because I was quite Ill, but they wanted to charge another 100 bs each - a bit steep. There are definitely a lot more options in Copacabana than covered by Hostelworld or Lonely Planet. If you don't mind turning up and finding one you will certainly save some money.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a really nice place to stay if you are looking for something quiet, cosy, and relaxing! The breakfast is good. I found the staff were pretty helpful - they picked me up from the bus and then also dropped me off at the bus stop.

Disliked: It is not a place to meet people really. Had wifi in my room, but unfortunately they change the password once per day and they also turn it off from 8pm-8am - really frustrating.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Derek Nielsen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 May 2012 Derek would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing Breakfast. The staff is very friendly and very helpful. We had a great view of the lake from our room and the roof has an even better view of copacabana and lake titicaca.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jamie Carroll

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2012 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: an excellent place to stay in Copa! Very tidy rooms at decent prices

Disliked: internet password changed every day which is just a pain.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great breakfast! Book share.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very open and spacious, excellent for large groups, gorgeous view of the lake and surrounds. Very, very clean. Loved the water available as well as free fruit! What a treat!

Disliked: with luggage, it's quite a walk, though they do offer pickup but you must know when the bus is arriving.... probematic at times....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and the hostel has a great vibe about it. Not a party hostel more like a hotel to chill out for a few days in. Rooms are warm and clean with a great view of the lake. Breakfast is amazing with cereal, fruit, eggs and pancakes, the best we have had in SA.

Disliked: Wifi was good when it was working but needed a new password every day. It stopped at 8pm, but absolutely no other complaints.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great breakfast and views of the lake. Friendly staff. Paintings in hostel were great. Free pick up and drop off.

Disliked: Wifi turned off from 8pm till 8 am every day. No heaters in room but available from 6pm till 10pm only

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent breakfast. Clean room with comfy beds. Hot showers.

Disliked: Internet was hit and miss.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location. excellent staff. delicious breakfast!!!. very clean. free fruit and popcorn

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, nice room and beds with great view over the lake.

Disliked: Shower pressure was very weak, we didn't get picked up from the bus station as promised.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARGARET RULLI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2012 MARGARET would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel Utama had a hotel vibe but a good social atmosphere. It was an incredible value for our money with a private room and bathroom with a beautiful view of the lake. Everyday they have popcorn, candy, bananas and tea in the common area free for guests and the breakfast is superb - Eggs, pancakes, yogurt, fruit, bread and great coffee! The staff is very friendly and helped us book bus tickets and boat tickets in and around Cocacabana. The showers are hot and the beds are warm too - a rarity for Bolivia!

Disliked: The storage room was just an office off the main reception area. No lockers were available so we felt a little weird leaving our valuables there overnight when we stayed at Isa Del Sol - But nothing was taken thankfully and the staff was nice enough to let us store our extra luggage there even after we checked out!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Gonzalez

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2012 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great! The breakfast was amazing, the free bananas coca tea sweets and popcorn were brilliant

Disliked: internet was hit and miss and very slow

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

serena humphries

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2012

Liked: Good location and pick up service. Nice breakfast. The beds were quite comfortable and we had a good view of the lake. Extra blankets provided when asked for as well as hot water for tea.

Disliked: We felt quite cold in the room and heaters are only provided from 6-10pm. The 2nd night we used the heater we smelt burning and realised that the plug was burning, after we unplugged it we could see that the plastic was melted around the pins. None of the plug sockets in the room held plugs properly, everything plugged in was loose and therefore not safe. The shower was a bit useless and only lukewarm, sprinkles of water, didn't look forward to using it and didn't bother washing my hair for the whole stay, too much hard work! Contradicting information given about being able to stay longer in the room on the day of departure (when actually it wasn't possible) led to us waste time sitting in the hotel when we could have caught the earlier bus instead.