We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel François

Hotel | Rue Borgal 15, Brussels, Belgium 1000

69.7% Overall Rating

31 out of 46 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/08/2014)

Gwen Soumahu thinks…

"The location was perfect. It was close to the metro and Brussels tourist area. The rooms don't look like the photos, they are smaller but if you don't mind that it isn't a problem."

Read all Hotel François reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Photocopying
  • Concierge

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 56.93

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brussels?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brussels

Lit de Senne
56.93 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Mirabeau
29.53 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.5% 9 reviews
Hotel Opera Brussels
40.80 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.8% 173 reviews
Hotel Mozart
56.93 USD

Hotel 3 star 73.4% 47 reviews
Floris Avenue
137.04 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The Moon Hotel
36.69 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 86.2% 612 reviews
RentByNight
31.31 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hotel La Madeleine
33.52 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.6% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.7%

Overall Rating

31 out of 46 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel François'

Atmosphere
59.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
56.0%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
69.6%
Value
68.8%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 14 of 43 reviews
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2014

Liked: Location was perfect, very close to major sites and museums.

Disliked: The WiFi did not work where our room was (the top two floors) we had to sit in the stair case to use it effectively. Our room had a very strong odour of cigarettes when we arrived and even when we opened the windows, it was very difficult to get rid of the smell. I'm fine with shared toilets and bathrooms, but I would expect more than two toilets in the entire hostel with at least 9 or more rooms with multiple people inside them. I was very disappointed when we arrived at the hostel, we arrived hours within check time and the front door was locked, no one answered after we rang the bell and knocked several times, we had to get a friendly fellow who ran the restaurant next door to call the hostel and tell them we had arrived so that we could check in. I felt this service was extremely poor and made me feel unwelcome.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Gwen Soumahu

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014 Gwen would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect. It was close to the metro and Brussels tourist area. The rooms don't look like the photos, they are smaller but if you don't mind that it isn't a problem.

Disliked: The toilet doesn't get cleaned often.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great locations. Fairly cheap.

Disliked: Directions to get there were pretty ordinary. Noisy and toilet outside of room (yet shower and sink inside).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is just a 5 minute walking distance from the Bourse Metro station and the staff there is really helpful.

Disliked: The room is quite comfortable except the fact that we could hear some noises from outside.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has central location.

Disliked: Heater did not working and our room was cold.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

didier soufnenguel

Alone

Partying / nightlife

27 November 2013 didier would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location (center of the city, very close to the famous Grand-Place), very clean (I had the chance to get a totally renewed room), nice and helpful staff, amazingly low price.

Disliked: didier left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

21 October 2013

Liked: Apart from the embarrassing bathroom, the rest of the room was relatively clean, bedsheets towels etc were clean. There's lots of bars and food places, sightseeing etc around the hotel or 10mins away from it.

Disliked: The hotel was about 10mins from the Central Station, instead of 5 and due to the street was made of stone tiles all the way, so it was literally impossible to carry our heavy bags on their wheels. We had to carry them with our hands and it took us about 20-25 mins to get to the hotel eventually. The hotel owner is rather rude and his reception desk stinks badly. He probably doesn't appreciate showers very much. The room, although we paid extra money to have a private bathroom, had NO DOOR. So just in case you thought about using the toilet or having a shower, the only thing separating you from the rest of the room was a CURTAIN. Very primitive. Also, the room, despite having 2 beds (1 semi-double and 1 single), had not enough bedsheets. The single bed had no bedsheets, so 2 people had to fit in the semi double with the foam-like matress, which kept us awake all night, due to lack of space and fear of falling down. There very narrow stairs and you have to climb them for a few floors, depending on where your room is, so people with heavy bags need to be careful. There's EXTREME NOISE from early morning, the next building was a construction site and the workers were shouting, talking loud without any respect for the hotel visitors. You could hear all sorts of super loud noises from early morning, throughout the day. BRING EARPLUGS, although they still won't help that much. The tap had only a tiny amount of water coming out, so it took you forever to wash your face in the morning. Hotel was difficult to locate in the night, there's no led sign outside, just a tiny door. It took us close to an hour to find. We paid 55 euros for a double, I don't think it was worth even that money. I hate giving bad reviews, it's the first time I decided to write one. I'm sorry.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and approachability from city centre is amazing. staff is co-operative

Disliked: washrooms need a little bit renovation

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

20 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bedding was clean, towels provided, perfect location. Don't go with expectations, it needs a good scrub, it's dated but does the job! What do you expect for the price paid?! Helpful staff and I felt safe.

Disliked: You get what you pay for!

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

11 September 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: - It's difficult to find it because the entrance is a vey small door which says "ROOMS FRANÇOIS" (no hotel). - The reception is a whole in the wall through you have to talk to the owner - The wifi don't reach to the top floor ( 5 floor without elevator) - we booked a double room with private bathroom; but it only had shower and sink, the bath was on the stairs. - The pictures don't look like to the reality. The shower had fungus on the baseboards, the wall was chipped and there was a radio stuck on the roof. - it's very expensive for the conditions it offers. (bad value for money)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a big, clean and comfortable bed. The room was spacious. The location is perfect.

Disliked: The toilet is on the hallway. Don't get a room on the last floor.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Veronica Bluguermann

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

10 June 2013 Veronica would recommend this property

Liked: My parents stayed there. I think they liked the area right in the center, very lively, full of bars with live music.

Disliked: My parents got the room on the top of the building. Five floors with no elevator.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Eliza Howland

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2013 Eliza would recommend this property

Liked: Greatly situated in the middle of all the bars, pubs, cafes and restaurants. Not too far from the central station either. Felt very safe and secure.

Disliked: Quite difficult to find as we didn't have a map and the only directions given were the nearby metro stops, but eventually found it. Make sure you print out a map from the internet before!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Tiago Oliveira

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2013

Liked: Really well placed, good internet connection

Disliked: No parking, had to park the car in a public parking in the near (15€ a day), the beds were really bad and I couldn´t have not even a single sleep there.