We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Saint Nicolas

3 star Hotel | Marche aux Poulets 32, Brussels, Belgium 1000

80.9% Overall Rating

226 out of 244 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/10/2013)

"The room itself was clean and comfortable except the heater was broken for part of the stay. It was fixed at some point, thank you."

Read all Hotel Saint Nicolas reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 15.81

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brussels?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brussels

Monty Design Hotel
72.11 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.3% 25 reviews
Brussels BnB
37.10 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 3 reviews
Hotel Sabina **
28.46 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.3% 335 reviews
Youth Hostel Van Gogh-Chab
18.98 USD

Hostel 74.3% 10 reviews
Brussels Royotel
27.83 USD

Hotel 1 star 74.9% 414 reviews
Aparthotel Wellington
63.25 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.1% 4 reviews
Hotel L'auberge Du Souverain
37.95 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Sun Hotel
25.30 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.8% 172 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.9%

Overall Rating

226 out of 244 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Saint Nicolas'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
80.0%
Value
84.0%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 172 of 178 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room itself was clean and comfortable except the heater was broken for part of the stay. It was fixed at some point, thank you.

Disliked: One lady behind the desk was courteous and helpful, while the next person we spoke to for help and direction seemed too busy to want to lend us any time...so, like others, it is not a consistent desk help...but, like I said, one lady was very nice also.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the heart of the city, so everything is within walking distance.

Disliked: We weren't made aware of the fact that the second floor is a 'Smoking' floor, and so EVERYTHING in the room had a stale stench of cigarettes - not the most pleasant experience as neither of us smoke. Also the sealing of the window was damaged and therefore we could not fully close the window, which isn't ideal when there is a noisy casino next door open all-hours!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to city centre, nice pub, felt very safe. Good rooms and beds.

Disliked: Not a very homely feeling, it felt more like a hotel than a hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jaime Vander Velde

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2012 Jaime would recommend this property

Liked: I liked it central location to the heart of Brussels.

Disliked: Not a dislike, just an FYI. The second floor of this hotel is a smoking floor, while 1 and 3 are non-smoking. It would have been helpful to know this before going to the hotel, as I had to change rooms from a smoking to non-smoking floor.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, right in old town, as mentioned previously a little tricky to find from central station, google map and print is best idea! Hotel a bit dated but ok for price, staff friendly, it's definitely a business hotel so a bit stale vibe overall a ok place

Disliked: A few small gripes, breakfast not included and was very average for 10 euro, much better value on the street! Also we had a early flight so got reception to call cab, I had read to expect 35 euro, they don't advise but they call a premium cab( kickback included I'm sure) came and was 50 euro, quite a bit more when travelling on aus dollars! If you can take train or check they use std cabs, I'm sure business travellers with company credit cards don't mind though! Overall good to ok place! Internet doesn't work in all rooms, also any room facing street will struggle with super loud street noise, casino next door and across road so a lot of loud locals around. Finally check if fan in room if staying during summer, we stayed in June and only low 20s but rooms stuffy and hot, sorry for long list, place is ok but for $100+ per night I think it's worth shopping around!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved everything - price could be a little better, but still totally reasonable. Location was phenomenal, breakfast was delicious and varied, room was lovely and clean. Beautiful hotel. Wish I could have stayed more than one night.

Disliked: The hotel is nestled between two more eye-catching entrances to other businesses, so it's easy to walk past and miss the entrance (no hanging sign or anything).

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2011

Liked: The location is excellent - we bought a one-day unlimited metro pass and didn't even need to use it because we were already in the middle of everything. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are quite nice as well. We only stayed for one night, and it had all the necessities.

Disliked: The street is INSANELY loud. I'm from NYC and it was actually even louder than that. Bring earplugs or sleeping pills or something, it was kind of miserable. I didn't expect Brussels to be such a loud city into the early morning hours... Also the TV in our room didn't work at all, neither did the safe.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

28 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and easy going

Disliked: it was not the newest renovation

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you want to be close to Grand Place and the train station, this is a great location. Everything was neat and tidy. Staff was friendly and very helpful ( even checking train schedule and locating a shop we could not find for us). Breakfast buffet was 10 Euro extra, but it had quite a number of offerings and we thought it was a good deal. I would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: The one thing that made me slightly uncomfortable was having to leave your key at the desk when you went out as all you had to do was tell your room number to get the key. We did not, however, have any problems as a result of this.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were incredibly helpful.

Disliked: The amount of noise that could be heard from our room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the best thing i liked about this hotel is that it is totally save and secure and it has got the best location in the heart of Brussels,and in my opinion it's the best hotel regarding everything.i had a best time there.

Disliked: i didn't dislike anything :DDD

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Franklin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2011 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, helpful staff, very close to public transportation.

Disliked: None

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: After staying in hostels for a while, it was sooo fantastic to stay in a hotel. If you have someone to share the cost with, it's just about the same price as staying in a hostel anyway so well worth it. The shower pressure was amazing and the beds were comfy. The hotel is very close to The Grand Place, which is beautiful.

Disliked: Nothing. Only the directions on how to get to the hotel on HostelBookers should be improved. It took me a while to find it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Love it, very easy to find, love the rooms, there is an excellent internet signal in the room, the rooms are big

Disliked: N/a

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lauren Burwell

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were amazingly comfortable!!!! Very close to the Grand Place and metro, so very easy to get around Brussels from the hotel. The staff was very nice! Some might complain that it has more of a hotel feel than a hostel feel, but I actually liked that about the place since i didn't have to worry about how safe my stuff was when i left the room.

Disliked: It was a little hard to find at first because it was tucked away between a restaurant and a gift shop.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Meaghan Langley

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2011

Liked: It's location was prime for anyone wanting to be right in the action, tons of places to eat, drink, party, great location for sightseeing. Check-in and check-out

Disliked: The hotel was difficult to find, roads are basically cobblestone and tough to navigate even with a GPS, we had to find a parking garage about a block away to park in because there's no onsite parking. The doors to the room are not the auto-locking type so don't walk away from the room without locking it behind you. Also, lock your room at night when you're trying to sleep. I swear someone tried a few times to get into our room at night. The elevators are pretty rickety and so are the floors, we stayed on the 2nd floor and some parts of the hallway felt as though if you stepped to hard it may fall through.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: AWESOME LOCATION, could not get any better. Near Metro, centre of tourist district and near shopping. Nice and clean with good towels.

Disliked: Rooms look a little old but this doesn't bother.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location- right in the center of the city near all the best sights. Loved the room, beds were very comfortable and it was very clean. The bathroom was also great!

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

07 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel was very clean and right in the centre of Brussels

Disliked: Breakfast was not included in the price we paid for our rooms however this was not made clear to us at all, we were simply told what hours breakfast was between and assumed it was free. We were then later charged an extra 30 euros for the breakfast we ate one morning.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lucian Boca

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

11 January 2011 Lucian would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, nice place

Disliked: Rooms a little bit too small

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jonathan Adams

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals

05 January 2011 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent, a short walk from everywhere needed to get to. Rooms were spotless, and the breakfast was very good.

Disliked: Hotel more than a hostel, so not the best atmosphere, but thats all. No bar but too close to pubs to be a problem.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the fact that is was a hotel, private room with ensuite. Was very big room with big bathroom. Beds were comfortable and location was perfect, seconds to everything! Breakfast was also nice.

Disliked: bit noisy at night though managed to sleep through it, and lifts were scary.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Cummings

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2010 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Super location and good breakfast.

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location and breakfast

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

26 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location.

Disliked: .